14 Reviews

I reduced the numbers and made a 2 serve. Worked out really well. Also we only had sour cream so used that instead. Lovely. Thankyou.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
redcrystal July 23, 2013

So easy.......... I made the whole quantity, since the youngsters were home, and even so, only had a very little left for DHs lunch today! I used full-cream milk, and we enjoyed a rich, creamy, thoroughly satisfying soup, that mostly cooked itself while I got on with other things, what a pleasure! I served with a fresh olive ciabatta bread, thank you for a marvellous supper, BarbryT!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Elizabeth February 03, 2009

This is an 8 star soup according to Chris! We loved it and the quantities in the recipe made enough to freeze another two servings each. A very satisfying, smooth and filling soup - particularly when enhanced with a garnish of snipped shallots and a swirl of the light cream BarbryT recommends in the recipe. Thanks for posting BarbryT.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NotQuiteVegetarian January 26, 2009

What a wonderful, creamy soup. The flavors of the leeks, turnip and potato really blend well together. I halved the recipe and simmered the veggies in broth for just over an hour. I ended up with a very creamy and filling soup. Was great topped with croutons!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim127 December 19, 2008

WOW: a truly delicious and creamy soup with a wonderful blend of flavours. And relatively low fat. I do admit to being greatly inspired both by the earlier reviews and the photographs. I've always loved leek and potato soups, and was intrigued by the addition of turnip to this classic soup. That's what put me in the mood to experiment a bit further. Guided by the Zaar Kitchen Dictionary, I added a roughly chopped Granny Smith apple and cinnamon in step two, but then followed the recipe exactly. I used a fat reduced chicken stock and a low fat milk and used an immersion blender in step four. Just before serving, I added a generous dollop of creamy Greek yoghurt and chopped chives. I made the full quantity - the previous reviewers all seemed to regret not having done this! - so I was able to add several generous serves to the freezer. I also sampled some cold, a few hours later, and am really looking forward to eating some cold for lunch tomorrow. Thank you so much for sharing this fabulous recipe, BarbryT. DEFINITELY one I'll be making again - after we've eaten what's been stashed in the freezer!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder September 09, 2008

This gets 5 stars due to the turnip! A secret culinary weapon in this soup, it made it subtly different and very satisfying! I halved the recipe as there are only 2 of us here right now - but I wish I had made the full batch now! It was silky and thick and VERY tasty! Thanks Barbara for a wonderful winter soup......just a little different from the usual leek and potato! FT:-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
French Tart December 06, 2007

Fantastic soup!!! The flavor is wonderful and the consistency is smooth and creamy. A very satisfying soup indeed. I halved the recipe but next time I will definitely make the full amount. I used 2 percent milk. Next time I will try using skim. I think the soup is so thick and creamy , even before adding the milk, that skim should work fine. Yum!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood November 29, 2007

This was a wonderful soup! we had it for lunch today. I halved the recipe but it's gone already. So I guess I shouldn't have done that! I did add 1/2 tsp mace, as potato soups just seem to crave the spice. It was wonderful. thanks for sharing. -Bird-

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Bleu November 28, 2007

Superb! This is probably the easiest, yet best version of potato leek soup that I've ever made. I used my hand-held immersion blender to puree. I used only 1 cup of fat free half and half to keep it pretty thick. The texture was like velvet. I love the fact that this is relatively low fat, too..... but it still tastes sinfully delicious. Thanx for posting this soup; it's a keeper for sure!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* November 26, 2007

Wonderful soup! I don't mix chicken with dairy so I used a vegetable broth. The soup was creamy and tasty. I did add some Hungarian paprika and plenty of freshly-cracked peppercorns. It was even good cold the next morning for breakfast (yes, I eat soup for breakfast).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mirj May 14, 2007
Cream of Turnip, Potato and Leek Soup