Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cream of the Crop Celery Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cream of the Crop Celery Soup

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on December 30, 2011

      I'm sorry, but this was very bland. I was expecting it to be rich with the brie, but it was lacking in flavor. I think it's a really good base, but next time I would add garlic and use chicken broth for the entire liquid equivalent instead of water.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2011

      Made as directed only added some garlic...definately a keeper! So good and comforting on a cold rainy day. Thank you! Made for TOMT-Soup Fest tag game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2010

      Quick and tasty! I used half milk/half heavy cream, and didn't blend the soup - I like 'em chunky ;) I found it a little peppery for my taste, but hubby still added pepper at the table. I liked it with the brie, but think next time I might try it with cream cheese as others have suggested. Good soup for a cold winter day!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

      Very good recipe. My only substitutions were a Hollandaise Chevre for the Brie (which I grated before adding), and extra regular onion for the green onion. I also cooled it few minutes before adding to the blender and left about one cup not blended for texture. My hubby loved it. I would like to tweak it a little toward my own taste but I think that was because my chicken broth came out a little too tart since I had no carrots the day I made it :(. Thank you for a solid, yummy recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2009

      I made this soup last night and it was delicious. I didn't have the brie so I subsituted cream cheese. I did have cheddar but that wtih celery seemed strange to me. I doubled the recipe and added thyme instead of the marj.. and like another reviewer did add soem garlic. As with the brie the cream cheese didn't melt quite right and was "clumpy" so I just blended it again and it came out nice and smooth. FYI thought be careful when doing so I had an "eruption" :) from my blender and was told by a family member it was because the liquid was too high and too hot? Anyway thanks so much for sharing this wonderful recipe it was a great way to use up some celery I didn't want to go to wate. It had a wonderful taste of celery and was creamy mmm!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2009

      This soup is terrific! I have a Celery Soup recipe that I love, but decided to try this as I felt like something with a bit of cheese in it. I only had a sweet potato, so used that and otherwise stuck to the recipe as noted - and it was creamy and wonderful! I did have a hard time getting the brie to melt (might have been because it was a light kind) so I just blended it with my immersion blender. I think my old favorite has been replaced! :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2009

      The best Cream of Celery Soup I have ever had! And almost as easy as opening a can.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2009

      This was very good. My neighbor was over and turned up his nose until he tried it. Definetly not out of a can! Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      It's nice to find a gluten-free cream soup! I added some fresh parsley before I pureed it and it added some brightness.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2008

      A new family favorite... even for my 9 year old son! You would never know it has celery because it's smooth and the brie cheese and potatoe gives it a smooth warm feeling. The white pepper is perfect, the heat builds as you eat it. Un-expectedly wonderful!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2008

      delicious creamy soup, I had some brie in my freezer leftover from the holidays and this just fit the bill, I also added in 2 good tablespoons fresh minced garlic and 2 teaspoons red chili flakes for some heat, I used all broth, my DH ate the whole thing himself then commented on how great this was, thank you for sharing Sharon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2007

      Definatly a keeper!! Gave a bowl to my friend and she made it the next day cause it was so tasty! I used cheddar instead of brie, and it worked out wonderfully. Thanks for the recipe Sharon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2006

      This is a wonderful cream of celery soup! It has the nicest "velvety" texture. For the cheese, I used half brie and half smoked gouda...fabulous! Thanx for posting this; it's a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2006

      I agree with Picholine- followed the directions exactly and while this is a lovely "winter warmer" soup, the brie went in and disappeared. Next time I'll try using goat brie, it has more of a kick (no pun intended). ;-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2005

      We really enjoyed this soup.I will make it again in the the cold blizzard winter days.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2003

      Delicious soup! I used organic celery, omitted the marjoram, and replaced white pepper with black pepper (since I didn't have those spices). We enjoyed the smooth, creamy texture and delicate flavor. But the brie didn't quite give the extra savory taste we were hoping for--it kind of disappeared except for an occasional clump. My DH thought sharp cheddar might have been better. As a stand-alone (no cheese) basic recipe for a "cream of mixed vegetable" type soup, this hits the spot.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cream of the Crop Celery Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (1427 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 198.1
     
    Calories from Fat 114
    57%
    Total Fat 12.7 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 7.8 g
    39%
    Cholesterol 41.5 mg
    13%
    Sodium 627.0 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.2 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    7%
    Sugars 1.6 g
    6%
    Protein 9.2 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites