Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cream Of Spinach Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cream Of Spinach Soup

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on October 07, 2010

      Thick, rich and delicious; serve it in sourdough bread bowls! We used 10 oz fresh spinach instead, added 2 gloves garlic and increased the onions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2007

      I really enjoyed this soup. I had to add a little more milk to thin it, for my own taste. Funny by reading the previous review. The only thing I will do next time is add a little more nutmeg. Yes, I will be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2007

      This recipe was great. I added a couple of things though. I sauteed one clove of garlic w/onion & added 1/2 cup of chicken stock & 1/2 cup of half & half to milk mixture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2006

      Very simple, and very soothing! To thicken properly, make sure all the flour is absorbed before adding the milk, and make sure milk starts to boil before adding the spinach. 100% Popeye approved!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2013

      I really like this as a basic recipe that is plenty good on it's own, but can be tweaked in all sorts of ways. Personally, I don't mind chopping and cooking down fresh spinach and I think it packs more flavor and, certainly, more nutrition. I chop a pound of spinach in the food processor, cook it down, then press it through a fine strainer to get almost all of the liquid out. I reserve the liquid (lots of spinach flavor there) and use it as part of the liquid in the soup in place of some of the milk. If you make sure the flour is completely combined with the butter, the soup will thicken just fine and then you can add the dry chopped spinach.<br/><br/>I also add more nutmeg, just a hint of a sharp cheese, like cheddar or feta, and a little chicken bouillon. I haven't put garlic into it yet, but I'm sure that would be wonderful, too.<br/><br/>What I most like, though, is that it's so thick and creamy that I can add my cooked brown rice, rye berries, or couscous to it and it's just delicious (plus packed with fiber and nutrients!).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2012

      Beautiful recipe, the soup reminded me of a dish I had in Prague, the soup I had in Prague came with a poached egg and smoked salmon, its exactly what I done and was fantastic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      This is a wonderful soup. I followed the directions exactly, except that I left out the nutmeg (not crazy about it). It's so simple and so good, although I admit I crumbled a little bacon and cheese on top and put in a few drops of hot sauce to make it my own. My only suggestion is to chop up the drained spinach finely (even the "frozen chopped spinach" is a bit chunky). Thanks for a keeper! I will make this often. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2005

      This was a wonderful soup! It thickened just fine for me. I added a small amount of leftover chicken to it. Yum! I will make this again! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2003

      Great idea but unfortunately it just didn't work as well as expected. The soup just didn't thicken. So it was a spinach milkshake albeit a very nice spinach milkshake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cream Of Spinach Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (397 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 377.7
     
    Calories from Fat 233
    61%
    Total Fat 25.9 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 16.0 g
    80%
    Cholesterol 79.0 mg
    26%
    Sodium 909.3 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.3 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 13.2 g
    26%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes