9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Thick, rich and delicious; serve it in sourdough bread bowls! We used 10 oz fresh spinach instead, added 2 gloves garlic and increased the onions.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
laurenpie October 07, 2010

I really enjoyed this soup. I had to add a little more milk to thin it, for my own taste. Funny by reading the previous review. The only thing I will do next time is add a little more nutmeg. Yes, I will be making this again!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grunig January 08, 2007

This recipe was great. I added a couple of things though. I sauteed one clove of garlic w/onion & added 1/2 cup of chicken stock & 1/2 cup of half & half to milk mixture.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
feedingyou April 05, 2007

Very simple, and very soothing! To thicken properly, make sure all the flour is absorbed before adding the milk, and make sure milk starts to boil before adding the spinach. 100% Popeye approved!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deborahk May 05, 2006

This is a wonderful soup. I followed the directions exactly, except that I left out the nutmeg (not crazy about it). It's so simple and so good, although I admit I crumbled a little bacon and cheese on top and put in a few drops of hot sauce to make it my own. My only suggestion is to chop up the drained spinach finely (even the "frozen chopped spinach" is a bit chunky). Thanks for a keeper! I will make this often. :-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KissKiss November 29, 2009

I really like this as a basic recipe that is plenty good on it's own, but can be tweaked in all sorts of ways. Personally, I don't mind chopping and cooking down fresh spinach and I think it packs more flavor and, certainly, more nutrition. I chop a pound of spinach in the food processor, cook it down, then press it through a fine strainer to get almost all of the liquid out. I reserve the liquid (lots of spinach flavor there) and use it as part of the liquid in the soup in place of some of the milk. If you make sure the flour is completely combined with the butter, the soup will thicken just fine and then you can add the dry chopped spinach.<br/><br/>I also add more nutmeg, just a hint of a sharp cheese, like cheddar or feta, and a little chicken bouillon. I haven't put garlic into it yet, but I'm sure that would be wonderful, too.<br/><br/>What I most like, though, is that it's so thick and creamy that I can add my cooked brown rice, rye berries, or couscous to it and it's just delicious (plus packed with fiber and nutrients!).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
875594 November 09, 2013

Beautiful recipe, the soup reminded me of a dish I had in Prague, the soup I had in Prague came with a poached egg and smoked salmon, its exactly what I done and was fantastic.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
79Caz May 01, 2012

This was a wonderful soup! It thickened just fine for me. I added a small amount of leftover chicken to it. Yum! I will make this again! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Che~Sara` September 04, 2005

Great idea but unfortunately it just didn't work as well as expected. The soup just didn't thicken. So it was a spinach milkshake albeit a very nice spinach milkshake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Missy Wombat December 27, 2003
Cream Of Spinach Soup