Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cream Of Potato Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cream Of Potato Soup

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on February 07, 2002

      This was my first attempt at potato soup. I added chopped celery and a chopped carrot, and some cooked bacon. Using the blender to puree some, made it great. I should have left out the bacon though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2012

      I can`t see how a soup with 1 1/2 cups liquid can serve 6. I must say if I used that amount i would have more of a mashed potato with chunks. I did use 4 cups of veggie broth 1 cup just wouldn`t cover the potatoes. I used fresh parsley but adding twice, first when stated and just before serving. Used organic butter and organic milk. Also the potatoes were organic fresh picked so I left the skins on. Just washed the dirt off. Added some pepper flakes to spice it up. I also did use the 2 tablespoon of flour called for and with the liquid I used it was plenty thick. The rating is on how I made it. Thanks for a quick easy soup.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2010

      My DH and I really enjoyed this soup. I too added diced celery and sautéed it with the onion (for personal preference). I also thought it was a good way to put my immersion blender to use since it doesn't get used too often! Served it topped with sliced scallions and shredded cheddar cheese and Red Lobster Cheddar Bay biscuits on the side. Yumm-O!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2009

      I made this for my German wife who was raised on potatoes. She made me proud when she said it was as good as her mother's soup. I added a handful of bacon bits for my protein fix.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      This ain't my Momma's potato soup...it's better, just don't tell mom. I did take a few liberties. I added some minced garlic and served it with some cheddar cheese and bacon crumbles. So good will be using this one again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2013

      This is awesome soup! The only thing I did different was to add the flour to the butter/onion mixture after the onions were soft. Then, I slowly added my (homemade) chicken broth to the roux. I used whole milk in this soup. I love the thyme and the celery seed, and I would not omit it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2012

      Best potato soup I ever made! I skipped the parsley, celery seed and flour. Used part half and half which thickened nicely. Also used a large amount of fresh celery that needed using up. It was delicious and fast! A culinary miracle in my book! Robbie, thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2011

      This is a great soup when you or one of your family members is feeling down in the dumps. I added left over ham, bacon bits and copped green onion as a garnish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      My granddaughter who is learning to cook made this. It is easy, tastes good and got rave reviews. She accomplished the dish with no trouble. I did use 1/4 cup chopped celery instead of the celery seeds. i cooked the celery with the butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2009

      I tried this recipe for the first time today. It was super simple to make and super yummy to eat!! I did make a few adjustments though. I didn't have enough potatoes so I added some frozen carrots. I also didn't have celery seed or parsley but I used dried cilantro and a dash of paprika. My husband found the soup a bit thick so the next time I make it I will add a bit more milk. I will also add some diced celery next time too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2009

      This was the best Potato Soup I have ever made, and so so easy! I will make this again and again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2009

      Excellent recipe. I added a bit of garlic powder. some chopped, steamed broccoli and cheddar cheese and it made for a delicious, creamy soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2009

      I've made this soup many times now, and we just LOVE it! I use dried parsley (almost a tablespoon) and add just a touch of garlic. And I only puree about a cup full of the soup and potatoes. It makes a wonderful creamy and thick soup. Thank you again for such a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2008

      Fantastic. I recommend adding cheese (I added 1 pkg shredded cheddar blend). I also substituted Celery for the celery seed. Gives the soup a little crunch here and there with all the same flavor. (chop 3-4 stock and throw in with step 2) Makes a great winter meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2007

      This is a fantastic recipe. My husband just broke his jaw, and can only eat soft foods for a month, so I thought I'd give this a try. I was pretty wary of using so much parsley, but I put it all in, and it tastes amazing. The only thing I'll do differently next time is add the finely chopped parsley at the very end. I used an immersion blender and blended the whole pot, rather than half of it, and it turned a pretty ugly shade of green . In addition, I put a small amount of shredded cheddar cheese in the bottom of the bowl when I served it, which made it even more delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2007

      I made this today and it was just wonderful. Comfort food for sure for me. I didnt have fresh parsley, so I used dried, just eyeballed it till I thought it was enough. I also only used 1 T. butter. Didnt think I needed two. And I used skim milk. The taste was awsome. Dont know how much a serving is, I ate one cup. Could have eaten, more but I thought Id leave a bit for someone else. Thanks for such a great recipe Robbie. mollywally

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2007

      Very good and very easy!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2006

      I am not a fan of thyme, so I omitted it, as well as halved the amount of parsley stated. Turned out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2006

      My wife and i love this recipe. It is easy and quick. thanks robbie for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2006

      What a great soup recipe, very easy to put together, and great on a cold day, made this for hubby and I, and he enjoyed it, and he's not much for homemade soup's. Very good, and there's not to much parsley (it's good for you.) Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cream Of Potato Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (200 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 153.6
     
    Calories from Fat 58
    37%
    Total Fat 6.4 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.9 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 18.7 mg
    6%
    Sodium 291.6 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.6 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 4.9 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites