26 Reviews

This was my first attempt at potato soup. I added chopped celery and a chopped carrot, and some cooked bacon. Using the blender to puree some, made it great. I should have left out the bacon though.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy Strickland February 07, 2002

I can`t see how a soup with 1 1/2 cups liquid can serve 6. I must say if I used that amount i would have more of a mashed potato with chunks. I did use 4 cups of veggie broth 1 cup just wouldn`t cover the potatoes. I used fresh parsley but adding twice, first when stated and just before serving. Used organic butter and organic milk. Also the potatoes were organic fresh picked so I left the skins on. Just washed the dirt off. Added some pepper flakes to spice it up. I also did use the 2 tablespoon of flour called for and with the liquid I used it was plenty thick. The rating is on how I made it. Thanks for a quick easy soup.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ September 22, 2012

My DH and I really enjoyed this soup. I too added diced celery and sautéed it with the onion (for personal preference). I also thought it was a good way to put my immersion blender to use since it doesn't get used too often! Served it topped with sliced scallions and shredded cheddar cheese and Red Lobster Cheddar Bay biscuits on the side. Yumm-O!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meekocu2 February 20, 2010

I made this for my German wife who was raised on potatoes. She made me proud when she said it was as good as her mother's soup. I added a handful of bacon bits for my protein fix.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EDSHAM November 07, 2009

This ain't my Momma's potato soup...it's better, just don't tell mom. I did take a few liberties. I added some minced garlic and served it with some cheddar cheese and bacon crumbles. So good will be using this one again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ransomhouse September 21, 2009

This is awesome soup! The only thing I did different was to add the flour to the butter/onion mixture after the onions were soft. Then, I slowly added my (homemade) chicken broth to the roux. I used whole milk in this soup. I love the thyme and the celery seed, and I would not omit it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scrivener1 November 27, 2013

Best potato soup I ever made! I skipped the parsley, celery seed and flour. Used part half and half which thickened nicely. Also used a large amount of fresh celery that needed using up. It was delicious and fast! A culinary miracle in my book! Robbie, thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rose is Rose January 10, 2012

This is a great soup when you or one of your family members is feeling down in the dumps. I added left over ham, bacon bits and copped green onion as a garnish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookformyloves86 May 15, 2011

My granddaughter who is learning to cook made this. It is easy, tastes good and got rave reviews. She accomplished the dish with no trouble. I did use 1/4 cup chopped celery instead of the celery seeds. i cooked the celery with the butter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DR Gray December 19, 2009

I tried this recipe for the first time today. It was super simple to make and super yummy to eat!! I did make a few adjustments though. I didn't have enough potatoes so I added some frozen carrots. I also didn't have celery seed or parsley but I used dried cilantro and a dash of paprika. My husband found the soup a bit thick so the next time I make it I will add a bit more milk. I will also add some diced celery next time too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarilynP October 25, 2009
Cream Of Potato Soup