Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cream of Onion Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cream of Onion Soup

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on April 03, 2003

      I can't believe I'm the first to try this. It is definitley a great comfort food. You could probably add even more potato if you want a heavier consistency, but this is very nice. Served with a salad and some fresh foccacia - delish! The only thing I did different is use a splash of Merlot in place of the sherry. Worked just fine. Thanks Mark!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2014

      Excellent soup! I doubled the potatoes and used 1 cup half & half instead of half cup whipping cream. I also used white pepper, though I'm sure black pepper would do just fine. I didn't have any sherry on hand, either.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2011

      I enjoyed this very much. I scaled the recipe, but didn't want leftover potato, so used more potato than called for. Being an impatient person, the 25 minute saute time seemed rather long, but I managed for at least 20 minutes over very low heat, and that seemed to be okay. I had lovely thyme from a friend's garden, but used a little whole milk rather than cream this time. I'm sure it would have been even better with the cream, but was still delicious with milk. Thank you for sharing this recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2010

      Excellent! This was ever so slightly thin for our taste in a cream soup, but the flavour was excellent! I will thicken it up a bit for next time. Thanks for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      Excellent soup! I used 2 tblsps of flour after I sauted the onions & I doubled the potatos as suggested. Didn't have cream, but milk worked just fine. Will definately be adding this to my soup repetoire!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      This was a nice soup that we both enjoyed. I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of adding six cloves of garlic but next time will add more potatoes for a thicker consistency - it was a little thin for our tastes. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2007

      Delicious! Be careful about the chicken broth though, and definitely use LOW SODIUM. I only had regular broth on hand so I used that, and the result was way too salty. But still delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2006

      Excellent soup, delicious with some nice crusty rolls. A half recipe made two bowls full, but I think it would have been better divided between three with more bread. Used a combination of vegetable and chicken broth, and a food processor instead of a blender. Yum, yum, yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2005

      Delicious, creamy onion soup. I used vegetable broth instead of chicken. Thanx for sharing this yummy easy recipe. I'll make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2004

      Really really good + very simple to make. I substituted soy milk + rice flour for for the cream and vegetable base instead of the chicken to make it vegan, and it turned out very well! A hand blender is also very handy to have for this recipe. :-) Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cream of Onion Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (395 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 216.8
     
    Calories from Fat 112
    52%
    Total Fat 12.5 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 7.4 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 37.3 mg
    12%
    Sodium 108.9 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.6 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 6.2 g
    24%
    Protein 6.6 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites