38 Reviews

What a great soup for a cold day! It's just as good as any canned cream of mushroom soup, but without all those nasty chemicals they have to use. I subsituted skim milk for the half-and-half and added a little bit of garlic as well.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FoodLover360 April 28, 2010

My first cream of mushroom soup that I made. Turned out great. I did use heavy cream instead of Half and H, since that's what I had on hand. I imagine this will be the only cream of mushroom recipe that I will ever use. Thanks for the keeper.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mike McCartney May 08, 2011

This was absolutely delicious. I added garlic powder and a little cayenne powder too. It's a keeper!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
reinecke53 January 01, 2011

This soup is excellent. I received nothing but rave reviews from my family and others. I did use heavy cream instead of half n half because I prefer a more full bodied soup. I also tried with portobellos. If using large portobellos, be sure to remove gills or you will have alot of "dirt" in soup.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs Fluff September 15, 2008

So delicious! I added garlic salt and cayenne pepper as others have done-- it made for a wonderful meal with home-baked bread! Thank you for sharing this easy recipe. I also don't think I can ever go back to the canned version.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Weretokie May 14, 2010

I made this soup yesterday and couldn't wait to review. I don't use half-and-half and wanted to sub. with skim milk;yes, skim, non-fat milk. It was delicious whatsoever! I chose this recipe by Theresa/Thunderbird because it looked so simple and it truly was. Just look at the ingredients! Because my daughter loves mushrooms, I added more mushroom than suggested and when the soup was done, I also pureed the soup before serving.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TrueImage January 20, 2010

Wow!! This soup is delicious!! I did make quite a few changes~~used more mushrooms and a whole onion. I also used evaporated milk instead of half and half. Will DEFINITELY be making again! My hubby lapped up the rest of it, so we had no leftovers!! :O) Thanks so much for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SPrins February 11, 2009

This soup was delicious. Had a dentist visit and was looking for something soothing for dinner and came across this recipe that I had all ingredients on hand to make. I will definitely make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CJAW October 10, 2008

This was very good! I didn't quite have enough mushrooms, so I used a can as well and subbed some of the broth with the mushroom juice. I also added 1/2 teaspoon of Marjoram and a couple TBS of sherry to give it some additional richness. Very good flavor and easy to make.....this one is a keeper! Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LindaSZ May 12, 2008

Loved this recipe! Only thing I changed was I made a double batch! Thanks so much. ?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vburton30 January 28, 2016
Cream Of Mushroom Soup