Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cream Of Mushroom Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cream Of Mushroom Soup

    Average Rating:

    36 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 36

    Sort by:

    • on April 28, 2010

      What a great soup for a cold day! It's just as good as any canned cream of mushroom soup, but without all those nasty chemicals they have to use. I subsituted skim milk for the half-and-half and added a little bit of garlic as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2011

      My first cream of mushroom soup that I made. Turned out great. I did use heavy cream instead of Half and H, since that's what I had on hand. I imagine this will be the only cream of mushroom recipe that I will ever use. Thanks for the keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2011

      This was absolutely delicious. I added garlic powder and a little cayenne powder too. It's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2008

      This soup is excellent. I received nothing but rave reviews from my family and others. I did use heavy cream instead of half n half because I prefer a more full bodied soup. I also tried with portobellos. If using large portobellos, be sure to remove gills or you will have alot of "dirt" in soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2010

      So delicious! I added garlic salt and cayenne pepper as others have done-- it made for a wonderful meal with home-baked bread! Thank you for sharing this easy recipe. I also don't think I can ever go back to the canned version.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2010

      I made this soup yesterday and couldn't wait to review. I don't use half-and-half and wanted to sub. with skim milk;yes, skim, non-fat milk. It was delicious whatsoever! I chose this recipe by Theresa/Thunderbird because it looked so simple and it truly was. Just look at the ingredients! Because my daughter loves mushrooms, I added more mushroom than suggested and when the soup was done, I also pureed the soup before serving.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2009

      Wow!! This soup is delicious!! I did make quite a few changes~~used more mushrooms and a whole onion. I also used evaporated milk instead of half and half. Will DEFINITELY be making again! My hubby lapped up the rest of it, so we had no leftovers!! :O) Thanks so much for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2008

      This soup was delicious. Had a dentist visit and was looking for something soothing for dinner and came across this recipe that I had all ingredients on hand to make. I will definitely make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2008

      This was very good! I didn't quite have enough mushrooms, so I used a can as well and subbed some of the broth with the mushroom juice. I also added 1/2 teaspoon of Marjoram and a couple TBS of sherry to give it some additional richness. Very good flavor and easy to make.....this one is a keeper! Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2013

      Good! I added some garlic powder and more salt to taste as others had mentioned. Before doing so I felt it had too much "flour" taste. Next time I will increase the amount of onion as well and probably add more mushrooms.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2013

      Outstanding! Thank you for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2012

      yummy and fairly easy, I made a roux with the butter and flour, then added the stock...just because I didn't think that I could get the lumps out otherwise.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2010

      This is exactly what I have been looking for. It is perfect! I had to substitute Self-rising flour, and used a little more onion and mushrooms than called for, but it was a huge hit! I am going to be using this as a base for all kinds of 'Cream of Vegetable' soups. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2009

      I realllllly like this soup! I skipped the butter and it didn't matter at all. I packed these up for work lunches and I know that my coworkers are going to bug me for this recipe! That's fine though - I'll share! Made for TYM tag. Thanks T/T! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2009

      so yummy and easy to make. I made it and froze some for later!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2009

      This is super-yummy! I mixed the flour and broth separately, so as to avoid clumps, then mixed the rue into the mushroom pot. Vegetarian broth was used instead of chicken. I also added chopped garlic. After it was all cooked I used my blender to smooth the mushrooms into smaller pieces. This was quick and pretty cheap. I'll be making it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2009

      Very nice. I added some garlic and also a bit of cream sherry just for a little something extra.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2009

      Loved this soup. DH and DS are not big fans of mushrooms but LOVED this soup as well, even my 18 month old daughter loved it! I used 3/4 cup half and half and 1/4 cup 2% milk just to cut a few calories. I added 2 cloves of garlic in with the onion/mushroom to give it a bit more flavor. I also added chicken to make it a little more filling for the hubby. DELICIOUS :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2009

      omg this is so delicious! I used homemade stock instead of canned broth and added a little garlic salt and it is SO good. thank you for shairng!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

      I love cream of mushroom soup. I have never made it before. This was too easy. I'll definitely make it again. Thanks for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cream Of Mushroom Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (242 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 221.6
     
    Calories from Fat 128
    57%
    Total Fat 14.2 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 8.3 g
    41%
    Cholesterol 37.6 mg
    12%
    Sodium 1046.0 mg
    43%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.7 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 2.2 g
    8%
    Protein 9.2 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites