Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cream of Mushroom Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cream of Mushroom Soup

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on April 03, 2002

      It is good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2009

      I didn't have procini's so I used all white buttom mushrooms and it still turned out great! I didn't have any cream so I used all skim milk and just increased the flour in the roux and added a little butter with the milk. Also used 2 bay leaves as suggested by other reviewers and added the lemon juice after sauteing the mushrooms to avoid curdling. This will be my new mushroom soup recipe. Will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2009

      Fantastic recipe. We've eaten it on it's own, but also used it in our not-canned green bean casserole for Thanksgiving this year and will never used canned again. I did use whole milk for the light cream and enjoyed it just the same. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2007

      I have made this several times and it has been a hit each time. The first time I made it, I followed the recipe exactly, but will not add the lemon juice again as it made my soup curdle. My husband now asks if I am adding lemon. Humour I guess! I also use Chinese cooking wine instead of wine. It is cheap and works as well as wine. I don't use the heavy cream either-just make up with stock and the half and half. The soup is fabulous and so easy. Thanks Jennifer! Post any more good soups you have as I LOVE them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2007

      This is a good and straightforward recipe for cream of mushroom soup. I've been searching for the perfect cream of mushroom soup recipe for a few years now, and although this is not "it", it's a good second. The recipe makes a significant amount of soup, but the leftovers make fantastic cream of mushroom porkchops! Thanks for submitting this good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2007

      After dining at a local gourmet restaurant and having a bowl of Mushroom and Sundried Tomato soup that was out of this world, I tried to find a similar recipe at this site. RecipeZaar comes through for me again! YES much the same as the restaurant's version! It is DELICIOUS! Full of flavor and actually quite easy to make. I used a mixture of mushrooms, chopped them fine by using my processor. Also added about 1/4 c. of sundried tomatoes to the chopping process. Used some 1% milk (about 1 c. total) to cut down on some of the fat. At the end, I pureed about 1/2 the finished soup to make it even creamier. Missed the notes about the extra bay leaf, would add another one the next time. AWESOME! Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2007

      Wonderful soup, simply lovely. I made it exactually as written. Thanks for the wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2006

      I'm no expert in the kitchen, but I've got to say, this soup recipe is wonderful. It was my first time making Mushroom soup, as I needed to make it for our traditional Christmas dinner. I didn't know what to expect, but I read the reviews and gave this one a try. I'm soo happy I did. It was the best mushroom soup I ever had. It really is pretty simple, and the taste is great. It's not a real heavy soup, it's just creamy enough. I did use some suggestions other reviewers stated, like using a mix of different mushrooms and putting two bay leaves in the soup, but really, this one is great. Very flavorful. It also reheated pretty well. If you need a good mushroom soup recipe, definitely give this one a try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2006

      This is delicious. I would not change a thing! YUMMMM

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2006

      This recipe came out just okay and I followed all the directions to a T... the soup was a bit thin ... we enjoy really thick cream soups and this didn't live up to the hype.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2006

      This is so VERY TASTY. I have made it with cream as written and with 1% milk...either way the flavour is just wonderful. My 15 year old begs me to make this weekly. A definite keeper in our here!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2006

      This is the best I've ever found! I used many different types of mushrooms to include oyster, crimini, button, and anything else that looked fresh and beautiful. I also cut the cream with some half and half. Freezes well for later consumption, although I wouldn't recommend longer than a couple of weeks. Never a drop left to throw away! A winner all around!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2004

      Yummy Yummy soup! A nice flavorfull soup, not your typical cream of mushroom. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2004

      Oh my Gawd!!! I have never made mushroom soup before, but I can honestly say, it's the best I've ever tasted. My boyfriend agrees. I used 2 bay leaves, but other than that, followed the recipe to the letter. This will be a regular at my house!!! Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2004

      Truly Outstanding. I also used all Half-n-Half. The wife came home and fell in love with this! This is a must try!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2004

      This is the best mushroom soup you will ever taste! The chicken broth and wine give this soup real body -- beyond the usual bland cream and butter taste of most mushroom soups. The bay leaf is very important -- I used 2 medium. I used all half-n-half instead of the one cup of heavy cream because I was serving it on a buffet table and wanted it to hold for a couple of hours. This IS better if eaten within 30 minutes of heating. But 2 hours into my open house I found my guests wiping the last of the 3 quarts of it up from the bottom of the crock pot with bread!! It's that good...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cream of Mushroom Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (474 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 577.0
     
    Calories from Fat 473
    82%
    Total Fat 52.6 g
    80%
    Saturated Fat 32.4 g
    162%
    Cholesterol 169.1 mg
    56%
    Sodium 1073.2 mg
    44%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.5 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 11.3 g
    22%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes