16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

It is good.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sam Sherlyn April 03, 2002

I didn't have procini's so I used all white buttom mushrooms and it still turned out great! I didn't have any cream so I used all skim milk and just increased the flour in the roux and added a little butter with the milk. Also used 2 bay leaves as suggested by other reviewers and added the lemon juice after sauteing the mushrooms to avoid curdling. This will be my new mushroom soup recipe. Will definitely make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deepfreeze June 30, 2009

Fantastic recipe. We've eaten it on it's own, but also used it in our not-canned green bean casserole for Thanksgiving this year and will never used canned again. I did use whole milk for the light cream and enjoyed it just the same. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
goaliechik January 09, 2009

I have made this several times and it has been a hit each time. The first time I made it, I followed the recipe exactly, but will not add the lemon juice again as it made my soup curdle. My husband now asks if I am adding lemon. Humour I guess! I also use Chinese cooking wine instead of wine. It is cheap and works as well as wine. I don't use the heavy cream either-just make up with stock and the half and half. The soup is fabulous and so easy. Thanks Jennifer! Post any more good soups you have as I LOVE them!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SA ; ) September 06, 2007

This is a good and straightforward recipe for cream of mushroom soup. I've been searching for the perfect cream of mushroom soup recipe for a few years now, and although this is not "it", it's a good second. The recipe makes a significant amount of soup, but the leftovers make fantastic cream of mushroom porkchops! Thanks for submitting this good recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mia Maus April 27, 2007

After dining at a local gourmet restaurant and having a bowl of Mushroom and Sundried Tomato soup that was out of this world, I tried to find a similar recipe at this site. RecipeZaar comes through for me again! YES much the same as the restaurant's version! It is DELICIOUS! Full of flavor and actually quite easy to make. I used a mixture of mushrooms, chopped them fine by using my processor. Also added about 1/4 c. of sundried tomatoes to the chopping process. Used some 1% milk (about 1 c. total) to cut down on some of the fat. At the end, I pureed about 1/2 the finished soup to make it even creamier. Missed the notes about the extra bay leaf, would add another one the next time. AWESOME! Will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SReiff March 24, 2007

Wonderful soup, simply lovely. I made it exactually as written. Thanks for the wonderful recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JenMac January 16, 2007

I'm no expert in the kitchen, but I've got to say, this soup recipe is wonderful. It was my first time making Mushroom soup, as I needed to make it for our traditional Christmas dinner. I didn't know what to expect, but I read the reviews and gave this one a try. I'm soo happy I did. It was the best mushroom soup I ever had. It really is pretty simple, and the taste is great. It's not a real heavy soup, it's just creamy enough. I did use some suggestions other reviewers stated, like using a mix of different mushrooms and putting two bay leaves in the soup, but really, this one is great. Very flavorful. It also reheated pretty well. If you need a good mushroom soup recipe, definitely give this one a try.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JennWiles98 December 27, 2006

This is delicious. I would not change a thing! YUMMMM

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zelda Brown December 02, 2006

This recipe came out just okay and I followed all the directions to a T... the soup was a bit thin ... we enjoy really thick cream soups and this didn't live up to the hype.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shannon1979 November 11, 2006
Cream of Mushroom Soup