Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cream of Chicken Soup - when You Don't Have Canned - Substitute Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cream of Chicken Soup - when You Don't Have Canned - Substitute

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on June 02, 2014

      Works great, and tastes just fine. Helps me out for CP Chicken Stroganoff recipes. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2013

      Thank you! I use this all the time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2013

      This worked out perfectly!!! Thanks :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2012

      I used 1/2 cup So Delicious coconut milk (unsweetened) and less dried onion flakes. I recommend melting the butter, adding the flour, cooking for a minute. Then slowly adding the milk and broth with the spices and onions. I think that's the traditional way of doing it. Made this for a Chicken Swiss recipe in the crockpot. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2012

      Perfect!! I needed this for a recipe and it worked out great. I never have canned cream soups on hand anymore or the powdered milk that other recipes call for. I doubled the recipe, used all milk and added some celery salt. I loved that it is only as salty as I want to make it. I am not a fan of cream soups but this one I could eat as is!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2012

      I'm always using cream of chicken soup in recipes, even those that call for cream of mushroom, & I made this very satisfying soup recipe as given, although I did cut the salt back by half, which still worked just fine for us! Thanks for posting a great recipe! [Made & reviewed in I Recommend recipe tag]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2012

      This was good and it sure came in handy in a pinch. I didn't have any cream so I used all milk. I also added a couple dashes of celery salt. The picture isn't the greatest as I forgot to take a picture until after it was all used up except for just a little dab. Thank you so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2011

      This worked perfect! I will be using this recipe alot. Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2010

      This was great! Haven't made it to the store and my husband requested a casserole this evening for dinner. I love how quickly this came together in the pot, because I was a bit skeptical at first. I used all skim milk to cut back on fat and left the flour the same. Used about a teaspoon of onion powder. Used bouillon for the broth, so I didn't add salt (not sugar, like I previously wrote) at the end. Very tasty, and I might just start doing this when I make casseroles, because the flavor is wonderful. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2010

      This turned out really good, and was a great addition to the potato soup I made! I didn't have any cream, so I just used all whole milk, and I also used 1/4 tsp garlic powder instead of the minced garlic, and 1/4 tsp onion powder for one of the tablespoons of dried onion. Fast, easy, yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2010

      excellent! this worked out very well and it came together very quickly. i actually might like this flavor better than the real deal. i added a tad of garlic powder. next time, i think i'll use onion powder instead of the dried minced onion flakes, it made the mixture kind of lumpy looking, which is not a big deal really. thank you for posting. this recipe is a keeper!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      This works perfectly! I used it in Yummy Round Steak With Rich Gravy. It gives you more control of sodium content in recipes. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2010

      This is a great recipe and hopefully it's got less preservatives and stuff, but who knows? I added it to a slow cooker recipe with chicken, salsa, taco seasoning, black beans and brown rice. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      Super easy and works great! THANKS!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2009

      I misread the recipe, and used a tbsp of minced garlic - way too much. Aside from that though, turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2009

      Very good. My kids can't have milk, so I made this with soy milk. I just substituted the milk and heavy cream with soy milk. It worked perfectly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2009

      I love this recipe. I will never buy canned again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      I love that this uses all natural ingredients. Canned soups are full of MSG and other things I can't even pronounce. Thanks for a great substitution.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      I'll use this recipe instead of cream of chicken soup. I loved that I could control what ingredients to use. I followed the recipe and added a pinch of poultry seasoning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2008

      This was awesome. I just made it tonight. I needed it for a recipe that I am going to be putting in the crock pot tomorrow and didn't have any and I didn't want to go back to town to get a can. This is an easy, quick fix when there isn't cream of chicken soup in the house. The only thing I didn't do was add the onion flakes or the garlic (I forgot to put them in), and this didn't affect the flavor at all. I also omitted the extra salt because chicken broth has enough in it and I have high blood pressure so I am always looking for ways to cut out the extra salt. Thank you for sharing this recipe. I will definately be using this recipe again and again. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cream of Chicken Soup - when You Don't Have Canned - Substitute

    Serving Size: 1 (224 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 338.4
     
    Calories from Fat 221
    65%
    Total Fat 24.5 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 15.0 g
    75%
    Cholesterol 75.5 mg
    25%
    Sodium 793.2 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.1 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 2.3 g
    9%
    Protein 6.8 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites