20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Works great, and tastes just fine. Helps me out for CP Chicken Stroganoff recipes. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gardengal_79 June 02, 2014

Thank you! I use this all the time!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mindy W. October 24, 2013

This worked out perfectly!!! Thanks :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeidiSue October 03, 2013

I used 1/2 cup So Delicious coconut milk (unsweetened) and less dried onion flakes. I recommend melting the butter, adding the flour, cooking for a minute. Then slowly adding the milk and broth with the spices and onions. I think that's the traditional way of doing it. Made this for a Chicken Swiss recipe in the crockpot. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WI Cheesehead December 12, 2012

Perfect!! I needed this for a recipe and it worked out great. I never have canned cream soups on hand anymore or the powdered milk that other recipes call for. I doubled the recipe, used all milk and added some celery salt. I loved that it is only as salty as I want to make it. I am not a fan of cream soups but this one I could eat as is!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Z* August 14, 2012

I'm always using cream of chicken soup in recipes, even those that call for cream of mushroom, & I made this very satisfying soup recipe as given, although I did cut the salt back by half, which still worked just fine for us! Thanks for posting a great recipe! [Made & reviewed in I Recommend recipe tag]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike February 29, 2012

This was good and it sure came in handy in a pinch. I didn't have any cream so I used all milk. I also added a couple dashes of celery salt. The picture isn't the greatest as I forgot to take a picture until after it was all used up except for just a little dab. Thank you so much for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catnip46 February 02, 2012

This worked perfect! I will be using this recipe alot. Thanks so much for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview February 27, 2011

This was great! Haven't made it to the store and my husband requested a casserole this evening for dinner. I love how quickly this came together in the pot, because I was a bit skeptical at first. I used all skim milk to cut back on fat and left the flour the same. Used about a teaspoon of onion powder. Used bouillon for the broth, so I didn't add salt (not sugar, like I previously wrote) at the end. Very tasty, and I might just start doing this when I make casseroles, because the flavor is wonderful. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Roachie September 12, 2010

This turned out really good, and was a great addition to the potato soup I made! I didn't have any cream, so I just used all whole milk, and I also used 1/4 tsp garlic powder instead of the minced garlic, and 1/4 tsp onion powder for one of the tablespoons of dried onion. Fast, easy, yum.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Quiltingqueen May 10, 2010
Cream of Chicken Soup - when You Don't Have Canned - Substitute