Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cream of Chicken Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cream of Chicken Soup

    Average Rating:

    54 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 54

    Sort by:

    • on November 01, 2010

      Delicious and simple, I doubled the recipe and used half olive oil and half butter instead of all that butter. and I used all 2% milk instead of any cream and it turned out great, will be using this recipe as a base to all cream soups thanks a million

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • I own and operate a western restaurant in Tianjin China. I needed a new cream soup and decided to try this, of course I needed to adjust measurements to make for fifty but kept to the recipe as posted. I will be making another fifty servings today, just three days after the first batch, I think that says it all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2009

      Great taste and easier then I thought to make. I did add carrot to the cerery, onion mix and I agree with others that the cayenne give it a great added flavor

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2004

      My husband loved it. My kids are not wild about chunks of veggies in their soup so I put the whole thing in the blender before I finished step number 6. Will definitely make over and over.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2012

      yummy! I only used 1/2 the broth (1 1/2 c water 3 chicken bullion cubes) to make a condensed soup as a substitute for canned cream of chicken soup. It worked perfectly

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2009

      wonderful recipe. I used a rotisserie chicken that i skinned and cut up in chunks and i also added home made egg noodles. will make again and again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2009

      Excellent!! From reading the other reviews, I knew I had to double the recipe, and I'm so glad I did. I used Half/Half vs. regular milk and light cream, and added chopped carrots. I have to say, the touch of Cayenne pepper really sets this soup off. I let it simmer to my liking of thickness, then served in sourdough bread bowls. A hit!! Like someone else posted, so many variations you could do with this. Thanks Luby!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2008

      This soup is awesome! I had no celery, so I too doubled the onion. I also added a bit of diced green pepper, a few fresh chopped sage leaves, I used half non fat milk and half non fat sour cream. It was thick, tasty, sooooo wonderful! I used homemade chicken stock, lots of chicken, and I threw in some small broccli floretts right at the end. Really, really great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2008

      This was so good and so easy to make. I followed the recipe exactly except using 1/2 & 1/2 in place of the milk/light cream combo. Next time I will definitely double the recipe and then cut back a little on the butter. The cayenne pepper gave it the perfect kick. Not too strong, just right!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2008

      Trying to cut our sodium intake, I used unsalted butter and low sodium broth and this was still the absolute best cream of chicken soup I have ever had. DH loved it too. We ate it with fresh french bread from the supermarkets bakery and a little side salad. Next time I will double the recipe and freeze for a quick lunch. Thank you Luby for this great soup recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      great soup, I doubled the recipe and added a leek, carrot and green beans delicious!!!!!!!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2008

      This was delicious! We decided to double the recipe so we'd have some left over. (There are just the two of us.) Even with the salt doubled, we thought it needed a little more. So I added more of all the peppers too. Perhaps I over-peppered it a little, but it was outrageous! It did wonders for some leftover roast chicken - we didn't feel like we were eating leftovers at all. Thank you very much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2007

      I made this with unsweetened almond milk instead of the milk & cream for my Mom who doesn't do dairy. I made it as written for my husband & I and both ways were great! It is a definite keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2006

      I have never made a cream soup up until I tried this recipe. I added broccoli and carrots, but otherwise, followed the recipe exactly as it's written and it was one of the best cream soups we've ever had. I couldn't believe it was so easy and so delicious. We have tons of ideas for different variations. This recipe will get tons of use!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2014

      I can't believe I haven't reviewed this recipe yet! I've been making Luby's recipe for a couple years now and it's absolutely the best!!!! So good with a slice of French bread and side salad. We live in Wyoming where the temps can dip well below zero and this soooooooo hits the spot on those cold days and it's also good when the temps don't dip :) Thank you for sharing Luby! This is such a keeper!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2014

      Very nice! I used homemade chicken stock and made some minor changes (added carrot and a bit of sage and omitted cayenne). This turned out beautifully and I was glad that I doubled the recipe. I will definitely make it again. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2013

      Thanks Luby, this is a delicious recipe! I doubled, or maybe even tripled it, just adding things to fill my soup pot! I added thinly sliced carrot & more garlic. I omitted the milk & used stock along with 300ml of light cooking cream. So soothing & rich - even in Summer LOL!!!!!!!! I didn't have cayenne, so sprinkled in some curry powder.... yum! Served with crusty sourdough. Definitely a keeper :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2012

      Loved it! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2012

      Made this soup using Kittencal's stock Kittencal's Best Chicken Stock/Broth (Crock Pot Option) as the base and loved it! We don't usually eat 'creamy' soups but this is one of the best ever. Love the combination of peppers added. Thanks Luby.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2011

      YUM! Added some simple bisquick dumplins on top and what a great cold weather stick to your ribs! Thanks for the great recipe! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cream of Chicken Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (328 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 363.3
     
    Calories from Fat 249
    68%
    Total Fat 27.6 g
    42%
    Saturated Fat 16.2 g
    81%
    Cholesterol 96.1 mg
    32%
    Sodium 1061.7 mg
    44%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.7 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 15.7 g
    31%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes