60 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This soup is creamy and delicious! I used some whole milk with good results since I didn't have either of the other kinds, only needing about 1 1/2 cups to get the right creamy texture. Instead of the powdered ginger, I used 1 tablespoon of chopped fresh ginger, and a peeled chopped apple to the saute mix. Maybe I wasn't feeling adventurous, but I left out the rosemary, which I usually love. It didn't seem to go with the apple/ginger addition that I made. This is an easy, nutritous soup, Heather that my DH and I enjoyed very much.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Geema April 22, 2003

There is a thread on carrots going and it reminded me that I never reviewed this.
I really enjoyed this recipe. I did use fresh ginger vs powdered and used half and half (not a fan of evaporated milk). I also added 1 small clove of garlic. I used vegetable broth as I wanted to keep it vegetarian which tasted very very good. I also added a bit of fresh parsley and garnished it with a few chives.

But I don't think the small amount of garlic or parsley changed the flavor. It was good as is. A very easy, warm comfort soup. Will definitely make it again!
Thx Heather
kim

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarasotaCook January 06, 2011

I left out the rosemary because I don't like it and used skim milk. This was still very tasty though I think I'd use a tad bit less ginger next time.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iris5555 April 18, 2010

Made this last night with an abundance of carrots that needed to be used. I used 1 cup of half and half, and 1 cup of skim milk, which was what I had on hand, and made for a great texture. Had no dry rosemary, but do have some in the garden. I cut two stems and cooked with the vegetables, removing the stem and some of the leaves before blending with the stick blender. Even the picky seven year old enjoyed it. thanks for the recipe! (also froze a couple of servings for later, as it was a big batch - hoping that will work well too).

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jami January 22, 2010

It was ok I don't like ginger so I added a little curry and it was good I will make it again. I also used half and half cream.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jawserwog January 13, 2010

We didn't love this. It was very simple to make, and I had really high hopes based on all the great reviews, but I think it just wasn't to our taste. I followed the recipe exactly, using evaporated milk, since that is what I had on hand. I am wondering if it would taste better with half and half, but I guess I'll never know, since this was a one-timer for us.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Quiltingqueen January 05, 2010

easy to make - warm and comforting. I used whole milk. Great soup!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nknu19 November 27, 2012

This recipe is absolutely delicious!! Instead of using 1 tsp. of ginger, I did 1/2 of ginger and 1/2 nutmeg....yummm! Great flavor!! I'll make this again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crjp72 October 26, 2012

This was really good. HeatherFeather was right, it tastes creamy and rich, but it's a fairly healthy dish. I had an excess of carrots which is why I looked it up, but I will make it again, definitely. I left a little texture in the soup, but you could make it perfectly smooth. Added a little more broth than called for, and as for the rosemary, I used a sprig of fresh, since I have a rosemary bush, but you have to be careful with rosemary, it can be strong and overwhelm, so I just put it in while the soup was cooling for 15 min. before being blended, and that was perfect. Easy to make and satisfying for one or two, but would be elegant for guests also.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pat M September 18, 2012

I really liked this soup...I used sweet potato for the potato. I added a little pinch of red pepper flakes and left out the rosemary. I also used evaporated milk. Comforting, creamy soup!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JPerez September 14, 2012
Cream of Carrot Soup