8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

An excellent recipe for Cream of Broccoli Soup! I made this for a meeting and served it to about 40 women...a tough review crowd. I think the phrase I heard most often was, "This is the best Broccoli Soup I have ever eaten!" I must have handed out at least 20 recipes. I used cheddar cheese in place of the Velveeta...other than that I followed the recipe exactly. Thank you Virginia!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leta March 24, 2003

It took a couple of trys to get the amounts "right" for this, but once I did, it was excellent! The Velveeta makes for such a creamy sauce that melts well. I did omit the celery just because I didn't have any and instead, added some shredded carrot. (Panera Bread Co. does this with their broccoli cheddar and it's great). I would recommend starting off lightly with the cheese as the first time I made it, it was much too rich. Great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jill77 November 05, 2002

I added cauliflower and mushrooms. All who tried this recipe gave it five stars.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Steve Olson February 10, 2002

Very good simple soup. I did make some changes but I don't think it changed the quality of the soup. We had frozen broccoli so I did cook it quickly in the microwave and then continued with the recipe as directed. It was creamy and extra fast to put together with my little substitution. Thanks for the recipe :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tish September 26, 2011

As people pointed out about the butter being too much, I only used one tablespoon of butter. To cut down on the fat content, I also used just 3 tablespoons grated cheddar cheese and 1 cup of low fat milk and water for the rest. I pureed the onion, celery and broccoli mixture after sauteeing it. The final verdict: delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marz #2 September 26, 2008

I didn't have any celery so I added a little shredded carrot. I was also out of Velveeta so I used some white American cheese. I reduced the butter to 1/4 cup to lighten it up a bit. Very tasty!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JPerez November 04, 2007

I loved this recipe! It is very good and easy to make. I left the onions and celery out the second time and it tastes great either way!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katie10 May 21, 2003

I tried this recipe and I was very disappointed in the flavor. The butter took over the cheese. If I make this again I will try alot less. It also did not agree with my stomach. I gave it 2-stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dizzylady01 January 30, 2003
Cream of Broccoli Soup