Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cream of Broccoli Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cream of Broccoli Soup

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on December 31, 2010

      very good! although, i used FOUR cups of chicken stock and cut the half and half to TWO cups..also, i was out of flour (surprise!) and so i used bisquick..my little experiment! plus, i threw in approximately a half head of LARGE garlic cloves into the blender with some of the soup..pretty garlicky! will let it chill in the refrigerator for a few hours before lunchtime...i also used TWO 12 oz. frozen chopped broccoli bags for this..so easy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2005

      Pretty good basic flavor, but I found that I wanted to add a whole lot more broccoli. I started out with the recipe amount, which I pureed in the blender. Then I steamed about another 4 cups of fresh broccoli flowerettes until pretty soft; then chopped them with a knife until they were in pretty small pieces. This gave the soup more texture as well as a much stronger broccoli flavor. I also added about 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg. All said and done, it was quite tastey and still made about 8 servings.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2011

      This was a very yummy soup !! I had just done a few additions, I added in 2 cloves of garlic and I had shredded 2 carrots and I used 2 bunches of fresh broccoli because the broccoli weren't exactly big bunches. I actually had kept a few handfuls of broccoli and steamed them in the micro and added them into the soup after I had used my immersion blender with what was in my pot. I also used 5 cups of broth and only 2 cups of half and half. It worked out perfect to the way I like my soup. Great flavor... Thanks for sharing your recipe Barenaked Chef...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2009

      The whole family loves this soup! I add a little more cheese because we like it cheesey. I also don't use the half-and-half, I use just enough low-fat milk to get it thin enough. Great recipe, definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2009

      this was so creamy and easy to make, thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2009

      Oh, YUM!!! This soup is awesome!! I made it twice in one week. I didn't have any half-and-half, so I used 2 cans of fat free evaporated milk~~and it was great!! I can only imagine how decadent it is with the half and half. Thanks so much for sharing~~we LOVEd this! :O) UPDATE: We have recently made some big diet changes in our lives, and dropped most dairy. I just made this with some substitutions to make it vegan, and it worked perfectly! Follow steps 1-3, then blend 2 cups of hot water with 1/2 cup raw cashews, 2 tbls. cornstarch, and 1/2 tsp. salt. Put all back in pan and stir while bringing to a boil. Should be nice, thick, and creamy! Just as yummy as my other times of making this!! :O)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      i just made this tonight best ever ever ever 3-109

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2008

      This was great! I didn't have half & half, so I used heavy cream. I also added garlic and carrots before blending everything together. Will definitely make again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2007

      I used this recipe for a soup and sandwich at church and everyone raved about it. Some said it is the best broccoli soup they have ever eaten. I concur!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2007

      Yummy!!! I used two bunches of broccoli, white pepper and added two cloves of fresh minced garlic cooked with broccoli and onions in stock.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2007

      This was the best cream of broccoli I have had and it was so easy to make! I added 2 cloves of garlic (crushed) with the onions and I also added three carrots. I needed to use the carrots up and I didn't quite have 20 oz of broccoli. It was so tasty! I also used 4 cups of broth because I didn't want a partial can left over. I hardly had to use salt or pepper. And I hesitated adding cheese - and that says a lot for me because I have the cooking motto that you can never have too much cheese. This was such a tasty soup with or without soup. My husband kept raving about it and said that he couldn't wait to eat it in front of everyone else at work. He and I ate all of it between dinner and lunch! It kind of reminded me of a creamy veggie dip - super yummy and also pretty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2006

      Sooooo good! I used frozen broccoli, regular milk instead of half-and-half and I took half of the broth with 1 bag of broccoli and ran it through the blender and then added the other bag to the mixture. Very pretty. Very thick. Very hearty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2006

      Fantastic soup!! I no longer need to buy store brand no more. Only changes I made was, I used whipping creme in place of the half and half and chicken boullion cubes for the broth. When we sat down to have this soup we added white rice in our bowls with the soup. YUM! Great for them cold rainy days! This is certainly a keeper in my soup book! Thanks so much for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cream of Broccoli Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (323 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 288.2
     
    Calories from Fat 189
    65%
    Total Fat 21.0 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 12.6 g
    63%
    Cholesterol 62.7 mg
    20%
    Sodium 254.5 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.0 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    9%
    Sugars 3.3 g
    13%
    Protein 8.6 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites