21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Okay I did something a little weird with this. I needed a dairy free replacement for the canned cream of whatever soup. So I left out the asparagus and half of the liquids (broth and milk) so that it would act like condensed soup. It was really great! I'll be using this every time I need the cream soups. Thanks so much Carol!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Three Kids Make Me Crazy October 16, 2008

This was great! I took chef #238270's suggestion and added the flour to the cooking veggies before blending. I found that adding the veggies to the soymilk in the blender made for a relatively easy and clean job. This is going to become a regular in our home--I'd like to try it with sweet potatoes next! I'll also add a teaspoon or two of nutritional yeast for some tang. Thanks for sharing a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vegan Courtney April 05, 2007

Thank you! This is my new favorite soup. My only complaint is that I didn't make a bigger batch. ;) Substitutions (which I always have at least one of, it seems): fresh basil instead of dried, rice milk instead of soy and a little chili garlic sauce for some extra spice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
reneezee April 05, 2012

I made this soup today for dinner - on a cold winter Saturday night - for my husband and in-laws. I used rice milk instead of soy, which was the only modification. All of us absolutely loved it!! Will definitely save it to my cookbook and make it again in the near future.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OksanaH January 14, 2012

Yum, yum, yum! I stuck to the recipe except that I subbed flax milk for the soy and threw it all in my Blendtec blender before simmering and adding the asparagus tips. I'm about to enjoy a big bowl with a big hunk of crusty bread. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
worldmom12 October 18, 2011

This was simple to prepare and tasted delicious! I used half soy milk and half almond milk and it came out perfect! I think it would also be good with other veggies, maybe broccoli! Yum! Thank you for sharing!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dominick & Amanda September 22, 2010

This soup is really amazing. I made it for my grandma and she absolutely loved it. I only told her it was vegan after she had 2 bowls. I'm really in love with this soup and it's now one of my go to recipes!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellenell September 09, 2010

I thought this was excellent. My whole family enjoyed, in fact. I used 2 bunches of asparagus, 3 cups of broth and 3 of soymilk just because it was the main course and there were 5 of us. I added the flour to the broth/veggies towards the end and then pureed it all with my immersion blender right in the pot. Then I added the soymilk and seasoning and blended some more. I am definitely trying this with some other veggies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MargoMart May 28, 2010

This was good~~my hubby liked, I thought it was OK> Thanks so much for sharing! :O)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SPrins October 26, 2009

This is awesome. I suggested it to my sister because of it's slightly sweet taste (due to soy) he might eat it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brendahubka August 23, 2009
Cream of Asparagus Soup (vegan)