Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cream of Asparagus Soup (vegan) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cream of Asparagus Soup (vegan)

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on October 16, 2008

      Okay I did something a little weird with this. I needed a dairy free replacement for the canned cream of whatever soup. So I left out the asparagus and half of the liquids (broth and milk) so that it would act like condensed soup. It was really great! I'll be using this every time I need the cream soups. Thanks so much Carol!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2007

      This was great! I took chef #238270's suggestion and added the flour to the cooking veggies before blending. I found that adding the veggies to the soymilk in the blender made for a relatively easy and clean job. This is going to become a regular in our home--I'd like to try it with sweet potatoes next! I'll also add a teaspoon or two of nutritional yeast for some tang. Thanks for sharing a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2012

      Thank you! This is my new favorite soup. My only complaint is that I didn't make a bigger batch. ;) Substitutions (which I always have at least one of, it seems): fresh basil instead of dried, rice milk instead of soy and a little chili garlic sauce for some extra spice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2012

      I made this soup today for dinner - on a cold winter Saturday night - for my husband and in-laws. I used rice milk instead of soy, which was the only modification. All of us absolutely loved it!! Will definitely save it to my cookbook and make it again in the near future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2011

      Yum, yum, yum! I stuck to the recipe except that I subbed flax milk for the soy and threw it all in my Blendtec blender before simmering and adding the asparagus tips. I'm about to enjoy a big bowl with a big hunk of crusty bread. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2010

      This was simple to prepare and tasted delicious! I used half soy milk and half almond milk and it came out perfect! I think it would also be good with other veggies, maybe broccoli! Yum! Thank you for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2010

      This soup is really amazing. I made it for my grandma and she absolutely loved it. I only told her it was vegan after she had 2 bowls. I'm really in love with this soup and it's now one of my go to recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2010

      I thought this was excellent. My whole family enjoyed, in fact. I used 2 bunches of asparagus, 3 cups of broth and 3 of soymilk just because it was the main course and there were 5 of us. I added the flour to the broth/veggies towards the end and then pureed it all with my immersion blender right in the pot. Then I added the soymilk and seasoning and blended some more. I am definitely trying this with some other veggies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2009

      This was good~~my hubby liked, I thought it was OK> Thanks so much for sharing! :O)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2009

      This is awesome. I suggested it to my sister because of it's slightly sweet taste (due to soy) he might eat it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2009

      Just fantastic. I've had the opportunity to eat at a lot of nice restaurants for work, but this more than rivals any of their soups. I used rice milk (original, not vanillla) because I thought rice goes with veg, and it was great. My only thought was that the cream part was so nice I am going to blend the tips next time as well. PS I used all of the garlic and basil and it worked perfectly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2009

      Wonderful soup. I love asparagus and this is a great way to enjoy it. I used kuzu instead of regular flour and tarragon instead of basil as I didn't have any. Delicious! Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2009

      I used rice milk that needed to be used and left-over asparagus. I blended the flour into the broth with the soy sauce. This then went into the food processor and the soup was reheated after processing. I found this soup to be quite thick and very delicious. I will definitely make this again with other vegetables.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2008

      This soup is great. I used plain rice milk instead and gluten free flour, and 5 cloves of garlic. You'd never know it's vegan

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2007

      This recipe is a keeper. I used skim milk in place of soy milk to keep this recipe healthy. I had a few friends try it and they said they couldn't tell it was made with skim milk. I used 4 cloves of garlic and a sweet onion to keep the recipe from being "bland". Definitely add the flour before putting the soup in the blender - that was an excellent suggestion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2006

      This was so good!! But adding the flour to the broth while the asparagus was cooking made it even better. I made it again and tripled the recipe. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2006

      I liked it. I thought I had soy sauce in the house... but did not.. I still liked it! Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2006

      I added the flour to the nearly-done veggies and cooked 1 more minute; this got rid of the raw flour taste. Otherwise this is an excellent recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2005

      I really enjoyed this soup. It was comfort food for me today. I used some McKay's chicken seasoning (contains no chicken) instead of vegetable broth and half the amount of basil. The McKay's is salty, so I didn't need to add any salt. Enjoy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2004

      Well I thought it was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cream of Asparagus Soup (vegan)

    Serving Size: 1 (218 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 159.1
     
    Calories from Fat 27
    17%
    Total Fat 3.0 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 599.0 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.8 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 4.3 g
    17%
    Sugars 9.4 g
    37%
    Protein 10.1 g
    20%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable broth

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites