Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cream of Asparagus Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cream of Asparagus Soup

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on March 27, 2010

      This soup is wonderful. We've made it several times, but with onions rather than shallots (although I LOVE shallots and can't wait to try it that way). We've also made it half and half and one using cream. Both ways are delicious, as is having it with with no cream or half and half at all. Also -- I used an immersion blender right on the stovetop and didn't bother with straining. Great recipe. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      Wonderful soup. Husband really liked it and gave it a 9/10 which is a high rating for him... Added most of a medium onion instead of shallot and 3 ribs of celery and 2% milk instead of cream. Also added 1/3 basil while cooking and balance shortly before serving to protect the flavor of the fresh basil. All in all a very nice, fresh, flavorful, low cal soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2003

      The first asparagus of the season is here- I made this soup and thought it was great- used part light cream with the heavy cream and served it hot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2009

      Thanks so much for sharing - This was great. I didn't add shallots because I didn't have any. I only cut off the asparagus what I didn't want and put it in whole - I have a vitamix so it blended it nicely. This was very very good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2008

      Awesome! And my husband, who does not like to eat things of green color, loved it! I substituted 2% milk instead of the heavy cream and it was delicious, also increased a bit the shallots, celery, and asparagus. You can use more of the lower portions of the asparagus in this soup, which makes it very practical, healthy, and delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2008

      This was very, very good. Hope to make it again while asparagus is still in season. Think next time I will try replacing some of the cream with milk. Just a matter of personal preference. Besides it will cut down on the calories. Thanks for posting, DiB's

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2007

      This is a terrific soup! We had this last night with smoked salmon panini sandwiches. I substituted 1/2 and 1/2 for the cream and dried basil as I didnt have fresh. Thank you for a great meal.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2006

      My husband made this recently and it is truly restaurant quality! He NEVER cooks but decided to tackle this on his own. I coached him along just a little and it was wonderful. We both will make this again! Thanx!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2011

      This was yummy. I used 3 green onions instead of the shallots. I used 2% milk and heated it up in the microwave so it wouldn't cool down the soup so much. We topped off our soup with some grated old cheddar cheese. It was yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2005

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cream of Asparagus Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (561 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 509.8
     
    Calories from Fat 355
    69%
    Total Fat 39.5 g
    60%
    Saturated Fat 23.7 g
    118%
    Cholesterol 133.8 mg
    44%
    Sodium 302.2 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.9 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 6.2 g
    24%
    Sugars 6.2 g
    25%
    Protein 12.8 g
    25%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes