Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cream of Asparagus Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cream of Asparagus Soup

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on October 29, 2013

      So when I buy asparagus and prepare it for dinner and perform the "hold the bottom and bend it til it snaps" to ensure I only use the best part for dinner I am often left with a pieces up to 4-inches long and just can't seem to throw them out. So trim off the supertough part and then flash freeze them and put them into bags. And when I have several bags that seem to add up to a bunch or so of asparagus I use them to make soup. Tonight short on time and while rifling through the freezer tossing bag after bag of asparagus ends aside, I thought it was time to whip up a quick soup. So to recipezaar, oops food.com, I go and find this wonderful recipe. Followed it exactly -- love the thyme and white pepper combo -- and used the advice of substituting condensed milk for some of the cream. Okay the straining part is a bit of a pain when using the tougher ends of asparagus but other than that this soup was really good and the flash frozen asparagus ends made a lovely soup that fed a family of four for a very economical price. Thanks for posting Mille -- great recipe added to my main cookbook.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2008

      Doubled recipe, and used 2 1/4 lbs asparagus as that is the bundle size i buy. Followed sugggestion of condensed skim milk in lieu of cream. What a treat! Making 3rd batch in 2 weeks now, we can't get enough.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2013

      Great soup! After making this, I agree and would cut the thyme like other posters suggest. I didn't have celery, so I used a little celery seed and celery salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2013

      Very good, the perfect consistency. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2013

      This was good. I love asparagus and this is a good way to use up the extras. I think you could also use frozen asparagus. I used fat free evaporated milk, but sure this would be lots better if you used cream and don't mind the extra calories.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2013

      I never thought I could be addicted to asparagus - YUM!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2013

      I made this soup for my Mom for lunch & we both loved it. I did not add the full amount of thyme, probably only 1/4 tsp or so. I added about 1/2 cup of half & half instead of the full cup of cream. It was delicious, & I will make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2012

      We liked it.

      Here are my changes: 3 large bullion cubes, 8 cups water, potato flakes, 1/3 the amount of thyme; evaporated milk.

      Reheated leftovers for 2 minutes @ 50% power.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2012

      Love this soup. Tripled the recipe and it turned out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2011

      This was delicious!! I made it as the recipe suggested with maybe a little less thyme and it was superb. I will definitly make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2011

      This was used for my first attempt at a cream of anything. Totally hooked on it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2009

      Excellent! I used the both stalks and tips and after cooking and blending put it thru foley mill. Loved the thyme and I used half and half milk. Next time I might add a little cheese as I love tweaking recipes. Enjoying a mug of it right now. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2009

      Very tasty. I left out the thyme, but added some kick by adding 2 tbs of prepared mustard. Turned out great. The kids are licking their bowls.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2008

      Very light flavor, and a tad too much thyme. I should have read that other people cut it in half before putting in a whole serving. It's a great recipe for a base. I would prefer a little more flavor, perhaps some bacon drippings? I will definitely make this again, and do some revisions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2008

      Great soup. I used more asperagus, because I wanted to use up what I had on hand. Made with milk to keep it a little healthier. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

      This has become a favorite. I had some frozen asparagus to use up and some left over boiled potatoes. I followed the recipes without changing anything except i did not add the cream as i did not think it needed it...it was perfect. Next time i will sprinkle cheese on it before serving it .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      This was very tasty! My husband and I really enjoyed the flavors. We had 2 bunches of asparagus left over from Christmas (uncooked... bought too much), so I searched for recipes with asparagus and found this. I love soups, so I had to try it. Thanks for sharing :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2007

      I made this recipe for tonight's supper.It is wonderful. I didn't have any cream so I added 2 Tblsp of instant potatoes to the soup before blending it.I've been looking for a GOOD Cream of Asparagus and yours was fantastic and so easy to prepare.Thanks for sharing.This goes in my Outstanding Cookbook. I'm including a picture. Rita

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2007

      This was an excellent, savory soup. One other reviewer dinged it for not having enough asparagus flavor and that might be true but really the flavors are much more complex and interesting for the addition of the onion, the celery and thyme (I used the full amount). I made mine with 1/2% milk which worked fine because we just aren't that accustomed to flavor of heavy cream. I also reserved my tips and cooked them in the micro with a little bit of reserved broth from the soup to finish, adding them at the end with the milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2007

      Based on previous reviews, I cut down on the thyme..then.. added some lemon juice and crab meat for pizzazz! mmmmm..... So.. Its almost there. I thought there were too much onions, so I scaled back a little. I could have gone with more I think. Next time I'll scale back even more on the thyme. Thank you for a very good recipe! it was easy and fun to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cream of Asparagus Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (435 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 299.0
     
    Calories from Fat 197
    65%
    Total Fat 21.9 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 13.2 g
    66%
    Cholesterol 71.0 mg
    23%
    Sodium 99.2 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.7 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 4.2 g
    16%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 8.8 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites