54 Reviews

This is without a doubt the best poundcake I have ever tasted. I made it and took it to work and everyone fell in love with it.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Myra Adams August 29, 2001

I made this cake into a wedding cake. Since then, it has been requested at every special occasion of everyone attending. They seem to have n idea it's just pound cake. So, while this cake certainly does not need any frosting or frills, adding a delicious cream cheese frosting, or draping it with layers or ganache, or filling it with fresh or preserved fruit, and decorating it beautifully, simply, and gracefully can make it truly something spectacular.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cayenne Forever May 01, 2009

INCREDIBLE! I totally screwed up and still received rave reviews at the pot luck lunch I carried it to. I just got a new stove and somehow managed to turn it off when setting the timer so it sat there for 45 minutes just warming up. I restarted the oven with the cake in there and it cooked up beautifully. I just knew I was going to have to throw it away!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BrendaGNGa May 28, 2010

This simply a GREAT Pound Cake! Wonderful flavor and texture...thanks for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Flick April 05, 2010

Wonderful cake this is my second time making it! And this time for Passover since it is leaven free!!! But has full taste and softness..its my favorite "go to" pound cake recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tiffaniwinfield March 31, 2010

This is my favorite pound cake recipe, been making it for years. It's a requested, make that expected, item when my FIL comes to visit.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MadisonMomCooks March 30, 2010

Made this recipe to specs. Surprisingly, even without baking powder - it works! Loved it! It is so easy, I will make make it again. My only regret is that I did not have any ice cream on hand to accompany this yummy delight. Thanks for posting this recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Mariposa Taina November 27, 2009

Oh! So good! I used this to make my son's 3D tractor trailer cake. This did not NEED frosting as it was so fab as-is, but to make it look like a truck we frosted with Luscious Lemon Frosting Luscious Lemon Frosting. We made the mistake of refrigerating the cake overnight, and it just didn't have the same heavenly texture the next day. The few pieces we left out wrapped on the counter tasted just as perfect as day #1, so skip the fridge if you can!! Also--we made this in a few different sized loaf pans. The big one was done on top way before the middle...my neighbor saved the day by passing on this AMAZING TRICK~ I cut open a brown paper bag and covered the top of the pan with it, loosely wrapping and pinching around the edges and ends of the pan. I also turned the heat down to 300*. The large loaf ended up taking just over 2 hours to bake through.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TrAliMoSo June 01, 2009

Made it this evening and it is fantastic. It isn't fluffy like store bought and its not overly dense. The batter is hard to stay out of and my kids licked the beaters clean. With only 6 ingredients added one after another in the same bowl, it is a cinch. It has made its permanent place in my cookbook.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Todd777 April 22, 2010

Perfect

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Megan G. March 27, 2016
Cream Cheese Pound Cake