Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cream Cheese Pound Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cream Cheese Pound Cake

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on April 20, 2014

      Wow! I had been using this recipe but the preparation and cooking methods make all the difference! I had not beaten the butter so long in the past and that made for a significantly fluffier cake. Also, the low cooking temperature made for a very moist and tender crumb. Thank you, Danzy, for a delectable pound cake! Note...!!! IT IS IMPORTANT TO USE CAKE FLOUR in this recipe! I had previously made it with cake flour or I used the corn starch substitution noted in other reviews but the last time I made it I felt lazy and thought it would turn out ok with regular flour. Not so! It was a total flop. It was underdone and gummy in the middle and the cake fell about 2 inches as soon as I took it out of the oven. Don't be tempted to try regular flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2007

      WOW, what a wonderfull cake, i had tried before to make poundcake and it just did not work for me, but this recipe is the best, easy and soooo tasty the cream chesse gives it such a touch wow. i made less because is me and DH only but it was still soooo good. thanks for a great cake!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2007

      This cake is fab! I just have to say though, I used low fat magarine and extra light cream cheese and it came out looking and tasting sooooo great! I saw Danzy's warning but decided to try the low fat versions anyway and halved the ingredients. It still came out wondefully! :) The cake is much too sweet for my liking so will reduce the sugar next time. Great cake, thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2006

      This is a wonderful recipe. I've always been a little afraid of making pound cakes because I didn't want it to be heavy or dry. No worries with this recipe. In fact, I am getting ready to make it again for Christmas dinner. Thanks so much for sharing it with us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2005

      This cake was easy to make and very delicious. I followed the directions exactly, but used a 10" bunt pan instead of a 10" tube pan and had more batter than I needed. I used the extra batter for four mini-cakes, but I made the mistake of cooking them at the same time with the main cake. I was not about to open the oven door early to retrieve the mini-cakes even though they were ready before the 1hr. 30 min. baking time because Danzy said DO NOT OPEN THE OVEN DOOR! The mini-cakes were a litte too done. Next time I will save the extra batter and cook the mini-cakes after the other cake comes out of the oven. Thanks for sharing this recipe, I will be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2005

      I was careful to follow the directions exactly but I had pan trouble. I used a standard bundt pan and the cake rose over the edge and had a 1 inch overhang which I had to break off to get it out of the pan. The cake was still a challenge to remove! The edge bits taste divine and I'm looking forward to tasting the rest.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2005

      Ohhhh, so good! Super moist and soft and yummy. I baked this in a 9 x 13 in pan for an hour and five minutes, and could have gotten away with more time. Otherwise, made as directed. It is SO awesome. Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2005

      this cake was perfection!!!! i used a.p. flour and it still was a moist tender cake. i kept mixing for 5 minutes and that is the key. 5 star rating all the way for this cake. would not change a thing. thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2005

      I've used basically this same recipe for years, and it's wonderful. You can use 1 cup margarine for 1 cup of the butter, but still must use at least 1/2 cup butter. My recipe uses 2 tsp. vanilla and no almond, but I'm sure this would be a great addition. Also, I used to have trouble getting the cake out of the pan, so I flour the pan also, and let the cake sit in the pan for 10 minutes before trying to take it out. Thanks for submitting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2005

      This cake turned out excellent for me even though I "peeked". At 1 1/2 hours when I went to take it out, it was still gooey, and I ended up baking it for 30 more minutes. More than likely the problem is my oven, needs checked!!! the cake is very flavorful and moist. I served it with strawberries, and it was enjoyed by all. thank you Danzy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2005

      Another 5 star's this was wonderful. Simple to make although I've never baked something in a cold start oven and I never look at things while they are baking but of course as soon as I saw don't open, that's all I wanted to do! The flavor is wonderful, I love the mix of vanilla and almond. This is a very moist pound cake. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2004

      I've been making this exact recipe for years and it is the tops! Add in some citrus zest or chocolate chips or dried fruit like cherries and it enhances this great recipe even more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2004

      This is just like the recipe I had for a while and it has become the favorite among my family. The kids always want this one for their birthday cake. It is moist, has a great texture and is simply devine!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2004

      Danzy, I did a search before I posted this cream cheese pound cake and found your recipe is exactly as the one my co worker gave me. This pound cake is the best I've ever had in flavor, texture, and moistness. The longer this cake sits the better it gets. This cake has been sent many times to Iraq over the last year for it holds up sooooo well. Please do not hesitate to make this recipe-the best I've ever had.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2004

      Danzy-this is such a lovely pound cake-I made it today at work and you got 5*'s from everyone!!! I served it with vanilla ice cream and chocolate sauce, wonderful! Thank you so much. I'm thinking of trying different extracts next time! mickie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cream Cheese Pound Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (78 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 20

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 375.2
     
    Calories from Fat 174
    46%
    Total Fat 19.4 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 11.7 g
    58%
    Cholesterol 112.5 mg
    37%
    Sodium 153.0 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.4 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 30.2 g
    120%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites