15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow! I had been using this recipe but the preparation and cooking methods make all the difference! I had not beaten the butter so long in the past and that made for a significantly fluffier cake. Also, the low cooking temperature made for a very moist and tender crumb. Thank you, Danzy, for a delectable pound cake! Note...!!! IT IS IMPORTANT TO USE CAKE FLOUR in this recipe! I had previously made it with cake flour or I used the corn starch substitution noted in other reviews but the last time I made it I felt lazy and thought it would turn out ok with regular flour. Not so! It was a total flop. It was underdone and gummy in the middle and the cake fell about 2 inches as soon as I took it out of the oven. Don't be tempted to try regular flour.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eesmith5118 April 20, 2014

WOW, what a wonderfull cake, i had tried before to make poundcake and it just did not work for me, but this recipe is the best, easy and soooo tasty the cream chesse gives it such a touch wow. i made less because is me and DH only but it was still soooo good. thanks for a great cake!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vivianapiolin October 18, 2007

This cake is fab! I just have to say though, I used low fat magarine and extra light cream cheese and it came out looking and tasting sooooo great! I saw Danzy's warning but decided to try the low fat versions anyway and halved the ingredients. It still came out wondefully! :) The cake is much too sweet for my liking so will reduce the sugar next time. Great cake, thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Judi90 September 03, 2007

This is a wonderful recipe. I've always been a little afraid of making pound cakes because I didn't want it to be heavy or dry. No worries with this recipe. In fact, I am getting ready to make it again for Christmas dinner. Thanks so much for sharing it with us!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kfreekave December 22, 2006

This cake was easy to make and very delicious. I followed the directions exactly, but used a 10" bunt pan instead of a 10" tube pan and had more batter than I needed. I used the extra batter for four mini-cakes, but I made the mistake of cooking them at the same time with the main cake. I was not about to open the oven door early to retrieve the mini-cakes even though they were ready before the 1hr. 30 min. baking time because Danzy said DO NOT OPEN THE OVEN DOOR! The mini-cakes were a litte too done. Next time I will save the extra batter and cook the mini-cakes after the other cake comes out of the oven. Thanks for sharing this recipe, I will be making it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CarolAT July 17, 2005

I was careful to follow the directions exactly but I had pan trouble. I used a standard bundt pan and the cake rose over the edge and had a 1 inch overhang which I had to break off to get it out of the pan. The cake was still a challenge to remove! The edge bits taste divine and I'm looking forward to tasting the rest.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AnnieCan July 12, 2005

Ohhhh, so good! Super moist and soft and yummy. I baked this in a 9 x 13 in pan for an hour and five minutes, and could have gotten away with more time. Otherwise, made as directed. It is SO awesome. Thank you!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LA28 June 06, 2005

this cake was perfection!!!! i used a.p. flour and it still was a moist tender cake. i kept mixing for 5 minutes and that is the key. 5 star rating all the way for this cake. would not change a thing. thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mari79 May 21, 2005

I've used basically this same recipe for years, and it's wonderful. You can use 1 cup margarine for 1 cup of the butter, but still must use at least 1/2 cup butter. My recipe uses 2 tsp. vanilla and no almond, but I'm sure this would be a great addition. Also, I used to have trouble getting the cake out of the pan, so I flour the pan also, and let the cake sit in the pan for 10 minutes before trying to take it out. Thanks for submitting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaramelPie May 09, 2005

This cake turned out excellent for me even though I "peeked". At 1 1/2 hours when I went to take it out, it was still gooey, and I ended up baking it for 30 more minutes. More than likely the problem is my oven, needs checked!!! the cake is very flavorful and moist. I served it with strawberries, and it was enjoyed by all. thank you Danzy!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barbasol May 07, 2005
Cream Cheese Pound Cake