11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yummy! We really enjoyed this soup. I had ham broth I saved from a baked ham I made so I used that instead of the chicken broth. It turned out great! I wish I had made a double batch, it's so good. Thanks, GailAnn!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Realtor by day, Chef by night November 29, 2011

Very good, very thick soup! I think celery would have been a great addition to this soup. I liked it even better the next day when I added some water and topped it with nonfat sour cream and more bacon bits. I agree with the original portion sizes you had on the recipe (serves 4-6). Thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito February 12, 2011

Very Good!!!!! Was easy to make and very hearty. There wasn`t any leftovers on this one. My family is not real big into soups. They said this one was a keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dan C. November 05, 2014

I had to make some adjustments, because DS will not eat mushrooms. So I split the bacon grease into two skillets, and cooked the mushrooms separately. I added the onion and bacon to the soup and cooked as directed. But then I added the mushrooms to my soup. The mushrooms were wonderful....they soaked up that lovely bacon taste. This was a hit at my house, and a definite make-again recipe. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom December 29, 2010

What a great potato soup!!! I left out the mushrooms at DS's request, other wise, made as written for 1/4 the amount of the recipe. I really enjoyed the added flavor with the bacon flavor within the soup, not just as a garnish!! Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for Please Review my Recipe Tag Game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 November 05, 2010

I love potato soup and I have made recipe after recipe trying to convince DH & DS that it's not just a soup you make when you have nothing else to eat. I always add bacon, even if the recipe doesn't call for it, just so they'll try the soup. THIS recipe got rave reviews and comments like, "The best potato soup we've ever tried!" Maybe it's the mushrooms (which I just recently started liking, so just recently started cooking with) or it's the cream cheese. I don't know. What I do know is that it was super easy to make, my boys loved it & even my toddler ate her bowl & then half of mine! Then she ate it again for a snack a few hours later. :) DH says I need to keep a batch of this made up at all times if she's going to eat that much of it! I'm so glad I was too lazy to cook what I had planned yesterday & decided to go with this recipe. Thanks for posting it, gailang! Made & very much enjoyed for ZWT6 Team Xtra Hot Dishes! :D

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Tinkerbell** May 25, 2010

WOW!!! I have a new favorite Potato Soup recipe. This one is so creamy and wonderful. Even my DD who doesn't like potato soup had 2 bowls full for lunch. Will definitely add this to my normal soup rotation for the cold winter months. Since we homeschool, soup is a common lunch menu item...this will be made at least once a month. Made and reviewed for the Feb.-March 2010/Special Event Potluck Tag Game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Buggsy Mate March 01, 2010

Loved loved loved this soup! BF hates mushrooms so I added 2 chopped carrots instead and it had a lovely flavour and colour. It's very thick so can be thinned to your taste by adding milk or broth, or left as is. I used light cream cheese with herbs and loved the subtle herby flavour. Thanks gailanng for a lovely new soup!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shuzbud December 05, 2009

Mmmmm gooood. I made this for Sunday lunch today and it sure goes down easy. I omitted the bacon and low fat cream cheese. The cream cheese blended in very smoothly and vanished leaving only it's creamy flavor accent. I used a hand potato masher and left small spud chunks that worked very well with the onion and mushroom chunks. Really delicious and filling as it remains quite thick when finished.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia November 08, 2009

This was so good. It was a rainy and cold day and this hit the spot. I made exactly as stated except leaving out the mushrooms. Thanks. Made for photo tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seesko September 27, 2009
Cream Cheese Potato Soup