Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cream Cheese Penguins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cream Cheese Penguins

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on December 20, 2007

      These had RAVE reviews at the party I brought them to. I used onion & chive cream cheese. I found that it was best to fill the tummy, by putting the cream cheese in a zip lock bag and cutting the tip, then piping them into the olive. Then I refrigerated the olives with cream cheese for about 1/2 hour before I assembled them. Then refrigerated before I served. Also if you use a slightly thicker slices of carrot they stand up better rather then using a thinner slice. These were the first thing gone at the party!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2009

      These were delicious. My friends who made them used thin strips of roasted red pepper to make scarves for some of the penguins.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2010

      This coming Sunday I host a birthday party for both daughters and I had to try this. I just made one tonite to try it out and I loved how cute they are and easy to make.I'm sure everyone will be impressed.Great instructions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      How cute can you get? Everyone loved them! To make them easy, use whipped cream cheese and put it into a ziplock bag. Make a small snip in the corner of the ziplock bag and you're ready to pipe the cream cheese into each olive. Very easy. Another trick is to make a larger notch in the carrot, take the piece you cut out and cut that in half. Now you have 2 beaks. If your beaks are too thick to put into the olive head, make the beak thinner. For presentation I took a mirror and sprinkled some powdered sugar on it to look like snow. Add the penguins and you have a great centerpiece.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2008

      Thank you so much for posting this wonderful "recipe" or should i say idea? These little guys were the hit of the party and although they were very time consuming to make, it's so worth it! Everyone loved them fromthe kids to adults! Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2008

      So much work to make, but so worth the effort. I took these to my neice's "Scooby Doo Dance Party" which was being held because she has completely recovered from Leukemia after 2.5 yrs of treatment. The kids loved them, the adults grabbed them. They were very well received. I added little green onion scarves. Piping the cream cheese mix is the way to go and I even piped some into the heads too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2008

      These are adorable and SO clever!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2007

      Sooo cute! I was sitting at the table assembling them when I looked over and spotted some scallion tops lying on the table. So I added the "hairy" tops and now I have a couple of Macaroni (or emperor, I don't remember which is which) penguins too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2007

      Oh, these are wonderful! The first couple were hard to put together but then it's suprising how much easier it gets once you've had a little practice. I made one addition - I mixed some garlic and lemon juice with a bit of cream cheese and stuffed their little heads with that. It added some surprise flavor without discoloring their white cream cheese bellies. They are the cutest things and I would've never thought of this in a million years - thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2007

      These were *the hit* of my tea party for my two young nieces. [ages 5 and 9]. They were totally impressed! I added a 1 1/2 t. of Penzky's Chip & Dip seasoning to the cream cheese. Then I scraped the mixture into a zippy bag, snipped off the corner and filled up the penguin tummies...worked like a charm. I will definately be making this the next time I have an adult party. I'm sure they'll be well recieved there as well. Thanks Kellie for such a cute and tasty idea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2007

      These turned out SO cute. I made them for my sorority's formal (our mascot is the penguin) and everyone just loved them! The only change I made was to mix the cream cheese with 1/2 a package of italian dressing mix (Good Seasons brand). The bellies weren't totally white, but the seasoning really added to the yummy flavor. Thanks for this recipe - I REALLY enjoyed it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2007

      This is one of my favourite Zaar recipes. The time it takes to make these little critters is easily balanced by the joy they bring your guests. I added a little garlic powder to the cream cheese to kick up the flavour a notch. To save time, I mixed up the cream cheese the night before to save time. I recommend using a tub of soft cream cheese to more easily stuff the olives. I also cut up the carrots the night before and stored them in the fridge on paper towel in a covered container. I made up the penguins in an assembly line order, all of the feet, then all of the bodies etc. I served them on an invered trifle bowl so they could be closer to eye level. The penguins themselves stood on a round mirror which resembled an ice surface. Thank you for posting Kelly !!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2007

      These are the most adorable little snacks - I had fun making them and even more fun presenting them... They will now be a staple at my parties......

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2007

      I made these to take to work for a potluck and everyone LOVED them! People were popping them in the fridge to take home. :D I used canned olives. Building these babies was a bit tricky but it was ALL worth it and I wish I could show you guys my pictures.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2007

      fun to eat and fun to make

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2006

      My Mom and I made these for a party I was going to attend. They were fun to do, challenging to put the beak in place, but when they were done they we so cute! They were a hugh hit! The main discussion and focal point at the party for quite a while. They even took pictures of them with their cell phones! The penguins transported very easily in a Devil Egg container. I can't wait to make some for our family Christmas dinner - I was thinking of covering a piece of cardboard with asome aluminum foil, spread some cream cheese down, and place the penguins on it - making it look like snow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2006

      I thought I had rated these - awesome - I have a male friend still raving months after xmas about these used as a centerpiece with a sugarcube igloo -finally found the superjumbo size olives which made it much easier to assemble these penguins

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2006

      Recently catered a party in W.Palm Beach and made these penguins. Of all the appetizers, these were the favorite! Some people took them home instead of eating them! Takes a few to get the hang of making them but well worth time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2006

      These were fun on my table amongst all the other "ordinary" appitizers. Definately created some attention. They are time consuming and shouldn't be made too far in advance.(overnight at the most) My guests dubbed them the "March of the Penguins"!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2005

      These are the greatest appetizers! If you want to make a good impression, show up at a party with these. Once you make a couple of them they are very easy to make. And yes, it is hard to get guests to eat them , they were taking them home to show others!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cream Cheese Penguins

    Serving Size: 1 (23 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 18

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 53.3
     
    Calories from Fat 46
    86%
    Total Fat 5.1 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 2.5 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 13.8 mg
    4%
    Sodium 98.7 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.3 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 0.8 g
    1%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    toothpicks

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites