21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This icing is special. It's not overly sweet, yet it really makes a cake pop. I used this icing on cream cheese caramel almond pound cake. I topped the cake off with some fresh strawberries. All of the ingredients blended well. The icing is a good transition between the fruit and the cake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kriclean September 27, 2012

I wanted to update my review. This frosting is EXCELLENT. It tastes light and refreshing BUT it is STURDY!! I've made several cakes (uploaded my castle and luau cake) with this frosting and it holds up great. It has a nice shiny appearance as well. I can't get over how excellent it is.

*Just added my Pinkalicious cake made with this icing....I love, love, love this icing and I make it exactly as stated. This frosting does even better after you've decorated if you stick the structure (cake) back in the fridge....it "stiffens" up enough to hold and retain its appearance without tasting stiff or hard. THE BEST EVER!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jbmk2001 July 03, 2011

One of the easiest recipes I've used for cream cheese icing. I put in onto mini carrot cakes that are in my freezer for OAMC. The leftover I added some extra cool whip and used to dip apple slices in.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swirleycoffee June 09, 2010

I love this recipe, it is very versatile. if you want a very sweet icing, use more sugar, if you want a less sweet icing use less sugar. Also, the more sugar you use, the stiffer the icing becomes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cherylo December 17, 2009

Absolutlety wonderful, over a carrot cake. I give a well deserved 5 stars to this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Metho July 16, 2009

Thanks for a wonderful and tasty icing recipe. I agree with all of the other 5 star comments this is a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ron.mamie April 11, 2009

This is a great icing! Made it for a birthday cake at the office and EVERYONE thought it was great and so so easy to make. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kathyblenki April 09, 2009

WOW! I was shocked at how good it was when I first made it! I used it on on red velvet cupcakes and now my friends are calling me cupcakes -.-;; Very pleased with the results.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pinguiii December 20, 2008

This icing is awesome! I used it on a devils chocolate cake. Everyone LOVED it. I had problems using it to decorating the cake though. I was using a pastry bag with a star tip.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef pope May 01, 2008

This is a WONDERFUL recipe except I use just regular sugar to make it instead of powdered. It gives it a little texture. That is the way that my granny-whom I first got this recipe from- makes it. I always buy a box of devils chocolate cake mix and I make it a double layer cake and use this icing. Its just to die for.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EccentricQueen April 16, 2008
Cream Cheese Icing (Mrs. Echard Icing)