95 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I used this on cupcakes, and it was really good. However, I get the idea that the recipe called for waaay too much sugar. I tripled the recipe and used only 4-4.5 cups confectioner's sugar total. This gave me a good idea of proportioning butter and sugar though-- and the taste was superb. Thanks for posting :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
runningfoodie February 13, 2011

Very soft, had to use more powdered sugar than called for to get it to stay on a cake even after chilling, would be perfect for drizzling though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kasha August 17, 2010

Used this recipe on "Gramma's old fashioned cinnamon rolls" recipe. It was so delicious! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
heather_werner April 11, 2010

I had TONS of compliments! In my opinion, I thought there was way too much frosting on the cake, but my friends said, "are u serious??? the frosting here is the best part!" Thanks! It was perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linh #2 December 08, 2009

made this with "Why-I-Joined-Zaar Carrot Cake" INCREDIBLE!!! I added a little cinnamon to kick up the flavor and it was fantastic!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandi.bear September 03, 2009

Loved it! I made a white cake, used banana butter for the center layer and frosted with your recipe, pressing pecan pieces on top. Very easy to make, cant wait to use it on carrot cake muffins this fall! Thanks for posting. Di ;-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dib's August 18, 2009

This was great icing! I used it to ice my daughter's personal cake for her 2nd birthday. I don't have much experience with cream cheese frosting, but it seemed very soft compared to buttercream frosting. The flavor was wonderful, I would love to use this on cinnamon rolls or pumpkin bars. I'll have to keep this in mind this fall when I'm making that sort of goody--thanks for such an easy delicious recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy2two August 09, 2009

This is a really good frosting. I sampled it before adding the vanilla, and I think I liked it better before adding the vanilla! Without, it had a nice bit of tang. Afterward, it was sweeter and tasted more like frosting out of a can. It was, however, very delicious paired with a super dark chocolate cake. The only change I made was using 1/3 less fat cream cheese, which meant that I did not need to soften the cream cheese beforehand.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amy.hough June 28, 2009
Cream Cheese Frosting