54 Reviews

Well, I've never had flan before to compare this to, but it was amazing! Like cheesecake but a little lighter. I used coconut milk in place of the evaporated milk, and in the future I might just throw some toasted coconut on top with a little extra caramel sauce too. Tres Bien!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lil Missus December 22, 2008

This flan was by far the best I ever had..very easy to make and absolutely delicious. I caramalized the sugar with water, according to one of the reviews on this flan ( i just thought it was easier). I did not bake the flan for the whole time it called for in this recipe, so I would suggest to anyone making this to check after 45 minutes of baking, thats how long it took me to get it done. Any longer i think it would have dried out.. But the flan was a huge hit..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marwah71 November 10, 2008

Excellent Flan. My wife used it for a dinner party and they ate it all. She want me to make another just so she can take some to work. Very simple and quick recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
burlesoneb3 August 13, 2008

I guess I shouldn't have been surprised by how great this turned out, considering how many excellent reviews it got, but it just seemed too easy for flan. :) Well, this is the best flan I've ever made (and I've made other recipes that were much more time-consuming and difficult). I made it exactly as directed, except that I used light cream cheese. It was easy and fun to make...I always like carmelizing sugar (it seems like magic!). The flan really turned out excellent, and it was really really difficult to stop at one piece. Thank you so much for this outstanding recipe, Barb...yet another of your recipes goes in my "favorites" folder!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunt Cookie May 31, 2008

I made this early yesterday morning so we could have it for dessert. I followed the recipe exactly except I did add one tablespoon of water to the sugar before I made the caramel sauce. It took about 10 minutes for the sugar to melt. I didn't have any problems with the sauce not coming out of the pan when I flipped it over onto the plate. Maybe the people that had a problem with this step over cooked the sugar. Anyway it turned out beautiful. It was the best tasting flan I have ever had. i loved the texture and the flavor was awesome. i will be making this a lot.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kate.1980 May 01, 2008

I just made this for my husband and his family for Easter and it came out great and was a big hit. I had the same problem many had with the sugar and almost burned my house down on my third attempt at it (trying "Tender Vittles" suggestion). Buying caramel sauce on Easter morning was the savior but was did not harden up at all and was just a caramel sauce at the bottom of the pan (although yummy). I may try to melt caramel cubes or see how else to make caramel for the bottom. It's definately a dish I want to make again & was delicious with Kahlua drizzled on it and whipped heavy cream with a little Splenda mixed in instead of sugar). All in all, the dish is tasty and light and perfect for adults (my 5 year old only liked the whipped cream). [More for us !]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Dee214 March 24, 2008

Wow - this was a big hit at my book group meeting! And I made it healthier by using eggbeaters, & lowfat evaporated & condensed milks & lowfat cream cheese. And super easy as well!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MA HIKER March 11, 2008

My company went nuts over this when I served it for dessert. I loved the flavors that melded after being in the fridge overnight. This was my first attempt at making flan, and I am glad I chose this recipe, because it came out perfect and the flavors were great! Melissa

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LouLouIzSpoiled February 20, 2008

Love this recipe! I always put more sugar because I love the sauce on the bottom and I put only half a package of cream cheese as I prefer it more custard-like rather than a cheesecake consistency with the full package. Deeeeelicious =P

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susamina December 20, 2007

Wonderful recipe thank you very much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
4 Jellybeans November 22, 2007
Cream Cheese Flan