Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cream Cheese Flan Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cream Cheese Flan

    Average Rating:

    53 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 53

    Sort by:

    • on November 10, 2008

      This flan was by far the best I ever had..very easy to make and absolutely delicious. I caramalized the sugar with water, according to one of the reviews on this flan ( i just thought it was easier). I did not bake the flan for the whole time it called for in this recipe, so I would suggest to anyone making this to check after 45 minutes of baking, thats how long it took me to get it done. Any longer i think it would have dried out.. But the flan was a huge hit..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2008

      Excellent Flan. My wife used it for a dinner party and they ate it all. She want me to make another just so she can take some to work. Very simple and quick recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2008

      I guess I shouldn't have been surprised by how great this turned out, considering how many excellent reviews it got, but it just seemed too easy for flan. :) Well, this is the best flan I've ever made (and I've made other recipes that were much more time-consuming and difficult). I made it exactly as directed, except that I used light cream cheese. It was easy and fun to make...I always like carmelizing sugar (it seems like magic!). The flan really turned out excellent, and it was really really difficult to stop at one piece. Thank you so much for this outstanding recipe, Barb...yet another of your recipes goes in my "favorites" folder!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2008

      I made this early yesterday morning so we could have it for dessert. I followed the recipe exactly except I did add one tablespoon of water to the sugar before I made the caramel sauce. It took about 10 minutes for the sugar to melt. I didn't have any problems with the sauce not coming out of the pan when I flipped it over onto the plate. Maybe the people that had a problem with this step over cooked the sugar. Anyway it turned out beautiful. It was the best tasting flan I have ever had. i loved the texture and the flavor was awesome. i will be making this a lot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2008

      I just made this for my husband and his family for Easter and it came out great and was a big hit. I had the same problem many had with the sugar and almost burned my house down on my third attempt at it (trying "Tender Vittles" suggestion). Buying caramel sauce on Easter morning was the savior but was did not harden up at all and was just a caramel sauce at the bottom of the pan (although yummy). I may try to melt caramel cubes or see how else to make caramel for the bottom. It's definately a dish I want to make again & was delicious with Kahlua drizzled on it and whipped heavy cream with a little Splenda mixed in instead of sugar). All in all, the dish is tasty and light and perfect for adults (my 5 year old only liked the whipped cream). [More for us !]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2008

      Wow - this was a big hit at my book group meeting! And I made it healthier by using eggbeaters, & lowfat evaporated & condensed milks & lowfat cream cheese. And super easy as well!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2008

      My company went nuts over this when I served it for dessert. I loved the flavors that melded after being in the fridge overnight. This was my first attempt at making flan, and I am glad I chose this recipe, because it came out perfect and the flavors were great! Melissa

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2007

      Love this recipe! I always put more sugar because I love the sauce on the bottom and I put only half a package of cream cheese as I prefer it more custard-like rather than a cheesecake consistency with the full package. Deeeeelicious =P

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2007

      Wonderful recipe thank you very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2007

      this is my fav flan, my mom made it for me when i was a kid and now i make it for my kids, they love it, and my mom loves it when i make it for her now, she says it makes her feel special!!!!!! viviana

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2007

      I have made this several times already. And it's ALWAYS a hit! My family and friends just love this cream cheese flan!! It's very easy to make. What takes the "most time" is making the caramel, but not very long, just a few minutes. The first time I did make it, I let the caramel rest on the stove. Big mistake. It has to be poured into baking dish immediately. And the recipe does specify this. Also, it's always best to wait until the next day to eat it. When I've made it a few times, my brother has dug right in but, although it tastes good, it doesn't taste as sublime as it would taste the next day. The day of it just tastes like regular flan, the next day, it's superb!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2007

      I have made this so many times, and I love it. It wasn't hard for me to make it at all. Got it in the first try. I love this recipe, it is very easy to make and very delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2007

      This is an excellent tasting recipe! I've made it a few times now, and never does the carmel on the bottom of the pan come out though. Some of it does, the little bit that is liquid, but most of it remains in the bottom of the dish as a hard candy type substance. Any ideas what I might do differently? It never matters too much though, because it tastes sublime!! Thanks so much for sharing your recipe Barb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2006

      A co-worker made this recipe 4 times for us. It is so good. Best flan I ever had. Nice and firm and not gooey or runny. She found the recipe somewhere else (I JUST got her hooked on zaar), but her version included butter, which coincidentally, she accidentally omitted-thank goodness (so good, just the way it is posted by Barb). I came across Barb's recipe while going to post the other one (w/out the butter). There was one other slight variation: Her recipe called for 1 cup sugar and 1/2 cup water. Combine the sugar and water in saucepan, cook over low heat stirring constantly for 3 or 4 minutes or until dissolved. Increase heat to to medium-high; boil, without stirring, for about 15 minutes or until carmelized. Pour mixture into the casserole dish. Perhaps, those of us who are caramel challenged, would do better with this variation for the caramel mixture. This is superb recipe Barb. Thanks for sharing =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2006

      What an easy recipe to make! First time making a flan, and I was successful. I had read about custard splitting, and curdling, and was a little fearful of making this, but had no such problem. Only thing is, after inverting the flan, a layer of the caramelized sugar stayed hardened at the bottom of the baking dish, any advice on getting around this? Seems such a shame to waste even a drop of this. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2006

      I made this for my daughter's Spanish class when they celebrated Cinco de Mayo. I let the sugar cook too long while trying to break up the lumps, and it didn't go into the baking dish too well. Otherwise, it was very easy, and the class inhaled it!!! Thank you for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2006

      This is an excellent and ever-so-easy flan! I was nervous about caramelizing sugar, but after about 10 minutes, I was excited to see that the sugar actually melted. Has anyone ever doubled this recipe to make a larger flan? I was wondering what the cooking time would be.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2006

      Fabulous! This will be my main dessert from now on, which is so very easy to make. If served on a pretty platter, people will be impressed! So simple, yet wonderful in texture and taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2006

      I never knew I loved flan so much. I guess I had never had it before. The only stress I had was waiting for the sugar to carmelize. Just when I was about to give up...boom, it happened. Thnak you for such a lovely dessert. My dh truely enjoyed it too. —

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2006

      This was my first attempt to make flan and definitely not my last! I don't think it could get any easier than this. The only thing I did differently was add a dash of cinnamon to the sugar while it was carmelizing...talk about amazing flavor. The only problem I did have with this recipe was the standing time...I wanted to dig right in but I did manage to control myself :) I do have to say, it was well worth the wait because it's even better the next day. Thank you so much for this incredibly easy dessert recipe...5 stars all the way!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cream Cheese Flan

    Serving Size: 1 (123 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 310.8
     
    Calories from Fat 128
    41%
    Total Fat 14.2 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 7.9 g
    39%
    Cholesterol 120.9 mg
    40%
    Sodium 174.0 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.5 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 33.9 g
    135%
    Protein 9.0 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites