Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cream Cheese Flan Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cream Cheese Flan

    Average Rating:

    54 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 54

    Sort by:

    • on June 12, 2010

      I've been making this Flan recipe for a few years now, and it is always a hit w/ everyone that tries it. I have the prep time down to 10 minutes. Some changes I have made to the recipe that I have liked: Use (2) 8 oz packages of Cream Cheese, and (6) eggs, 11/4 teaspoons Vanilla. IMO this really firms up the texture of the flan, and the cream cheese flavor comes thru even more! I've been making it this way for awhile. Good Eating! PS - For carmelizing the sugar, which some have mentioned that they have issues. I start at about 70% heat, as soon as the sugar begins to form clumps, I then turn to 30%, and constantly stir after that. This carmelizes the sugar much faster. Just watch it closely so you don't scorch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2010

      Amazing! I'm Puerto Rican and this taste just like the cream cheese flan I'm used to. Since I'm watching my weight, i used fat milks and fat free cream cheese. I used half the amount of sugar required for the glaze. Once the sugar was caramelized and melted, I added equal amount of splenda and a little bit of water because the splenda made the glaze a little lumpy. I'm gonna follow it to the letter on the weekend :) Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2003

      This was a very rich and creamy dessert. I think it's more like cheesecake. I had a little trouble getting it out of the casserole dish so I put the casserole in some warm water to help loosen it. It didn't take the whole cooking time to finish but that may be due to my oven and because the water in the pan I used was on the hot side instead of warm. Thank you for sharing this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2014

      Just discovered that this recipe was posted WAY before I posted Creamy Caramel Flan (I did search but didn't see this at the time) I am trying to notify CC to remove mine but can't get through to them yet. So since it's the exact of the one I posted will put my review here and notify them when I can. This was so easy and creamy good - DH declared it the best he's ever had. I had no trouble with caramelizing the sugar but a tip that I found stated that " Put the baking dish in a hot oven for about 5 minutes before adding the sugar. The hot dish kept the sugar liquified just long enough to get an even coating. This is one great recipe. Again so sorry for not finding this before I posted the same recipe and will report it just as soon as I can

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2014

      I've never made flan before, but this came out beautifully. Highly recommend for a dinner party dessert, as it makes such a lovely presentation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2013

      This easily solved my problem of a gluten free dessert for a birthday party. This was easy to make and everyone loved it. I added a little bit of Amaretto, as suggested. I'm putting this in my keeper file and will definitely make again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2012

      I will cherish this recipe!:) I made it today ...my alterations were that I added a vanilla bean for flavour and baked the custard for 35 minutes in a 325 oven. The custard cooks really fast, it's best to take it out while it still wobbles in the centre. I also added a little water to the sugar to make the caramel. I covered my pan will the sugar was melting in order for the water to evaporate and condense so as to properly melt the sugar crystals. I have to say though....this tops regular flan. It's like cheesecake meets flan...love it! Thank you Barb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2012

      Hands down, best dessert I have ever made. I will make this again and again and again and again. It needed to cook over 1 hour and 30 minutes, but it came out to perfection.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2011

      Great! If you're scared of flan, give this recipe a try, it's really very easy. I used a 9-inch cake pan placed in a roasting pan of water. Worked well, though I suspect it would have been done at an hour. Just realized I forgot to serve with a drizzle of Kahlua, that's really yummy, too. When served with a few slices of strawberries, this makes a beautiful presentation. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2011

      Exactly what I was looking for! Normally I am not a fan of flan. I did, however, have a great tasting flan at a restaurant which left me determined to find a good recipe. As most people mentioned the hardest part was the caramel. My first attempt was taking a long time and then I burnt it (I also used large granular raw sug, maybe that was the problem?). Then I used white sugar and water method. My flan was done after an hr. We couldn't wait more then 3 1/2 hrs to dig in. The flan was perfect ( especially for a first attempt at flan) ! Everybody has seconds! It was creamy, not too sweet, and didn't taste too eggy. Thanks soo much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2010

      Super EASY! and SUPER GOOOOOOD!!!

      I did everything as sujested...only thing l changed to cut callories was just butter the bottom of the pan instead of the sugar. When l flipped it over l spread some white sugar and burn it at the moment it went on the table...kind of had a crunchy caramel...and wasnt sooo fatening. Just love it..PS next time l will soak some plain cookies in coffee and liquer (sweet) and put it on top before going into the oven and just flip it over and do the top part of this comment. loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2010

      This was my first flan and I was a little nervouse. I did not have a 2 qt casserole dish so I used a 1.5 qt and it still turned out perfect. It definately took me longer to caramalize the sugar but you just have to be patient, eventually it will happen and when it does be sure to IMMEDIATELY pour it in the dish. My husband loved it! This is a recipe I will continue to make over and over again, thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2010

      I made this Flan on Christmas of 09. It was just as good as the Flan I ate in Costa Rica. I'll be making it again this Easter Sunday. I found this recipe to be the Best!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2009

      Wow is the only word for this dessert! I served it at a recent dinner and it was definitely the star! It came out of the dish beautifully and tastes like a creamy version of the traditional flan. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2009

      MMM... And a happy ending to our delicious dinner. We loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2009

      Sinfully delicious, according to the hubster (who doesn't like desserts). Note that I had to make the caramelized sugar twice. When I prepared it according to the instructions, the sugar crystalized and had to be tossed. I started again, added water to dissolve the sugar, boiled without stirring until it was caramelized, then proceeded with the recipe. It was my first attempt at flan, and it couldn't possibly have been easier!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2009

      It doesn't get much easier than this! The flan was so creamy and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2009

      We loved this flan! I even ate it for breakfast! Served with a little whipped cream on top this is the ideal dessert when you don't want something really filling but want something sweet!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2009

      I made this flan last evening, just like the recipe read. And boy was I pleased. I sprayed casserole dish first and had no problem with removal. The Whole Recipe is EASY!!! I will definitely be adding this to my regular line-up! Thank you Barb for adding it to the Zaar!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      This was a huge hit at my 11 yo dd's Girl Scout event. We are not bakers, and it turned out beautiful and delicious. My can of evaporated milk was 12 ounces, and my can of sweetened condensed milk was 14 ounces which is opposite the recipe. I'll mention that mine cooked for 1 hour and 20 minutes as the recipe says, since others set much faster than that. I will DEFINITELY be making this again. It is so good and so easy (it just doesn't LOOK like it would be easy.) ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cream Cheese Flan

    Serving Size: 1 (123 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 310.8
     
    Calories from Fat 128
    41%
    Total Fat 14.2 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 7.9 g
    39%
    Cholesterol 120.9 mg
    40%
    Sodium 174.0 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.5 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 33.9 g
    135%
    Protein 9.0 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites