12 Reviews

Thank you! Was out of mayo and just wanted a quick easy dressing for my salad; only creamy thing in fridge was cream cheese. This exactly what I needed & I would have never thought of it myself.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jelleykat May 11, 2015

My family has a terrific way of using this bland, yet so very awesome cream cheese. I added little roasted garlic and chopped chives, and the DS and DD loved this to top their baked potatoe's.
It is so quick and easy to make, and was just the thing for them.
I know I will be asked to make this from now on when baked potatoe's are on the menu! Thanks goodness this is so quick and easy to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tisme January 06, 2012

This is definitely a blank slate. It's bland on its own, but is easily perked up. I added a little sweet/hot mustard to it; very nice. It was definitely too thick to drizzle, but works as a spread or dip. Next time I would cut the lemon juice in half, as it's on the tart side. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chocolatl January 02, 2011

Most delicious, Pat! And such a blank palette, on which to paint some of my favorite flavors! When I saw this, I immediately thought of the sourdough toasts that I had sitting on my counter. This is a perfect accompaniment; i followed the basic recipe, adding a shake of salt and grinding of pepper, along with a pinch of oregano, basil and a hint of garlic. Smeared on my toasts, this is great for a quick lunch, or would be perfect as an appetizer. And it can be adjusted to suit your personal tastes! Perfect! Thanks so much for sharing, I'mPat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alligirl November 03, 2010

What a great basic recipe that lends itself so well to many, many variations! I luved the addition of the olive oil, which added a lovely earthy flavour and made the cream cheese very spreadable. I added in some chives and also a little goat cheese, which made for a great treat! THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this wonderful recipe with us, Pat! Made and reviewed for the Aussie/NZ Recipe Swap June 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula June 03, 2010

I loved how the flavours blended in this recipe and yet stayed perfectly detectable individually. The lemon remained tart but was perfectly matched to the creaminess of the cream cheese. This would be lovely with some roasted garlic added! Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shuzbud April 23, 2010

Five stars! Totally five stars and let me explain why. There is something to this recipe. I used an herbal infused olive oil along with the lemon juice and spread this on a piece of toasted French bread. It was utterly delicious. I can see how this could be the base, as others have suggested, for a multitude of added ingredients from the flavors of France to the earthy spices of Mexico. Made for Ed'n 8 Aus/NZ

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng June 01, 2009

This is indeed a versatile recipe: a recipe which gives you the freedom to add your own favourite herbs and spices. On this occasion, I added rosemary and sage, because I very much like those two herbs together but also because I'm really enjoying a nifty little grinder with this blend in it that I bought a few days ago. I also added several grindings of black pepper and about half a dozen roughly chopped walnuts. We enjoyed this as the dressing for what could have been a simple egg and potato salad but ended up as a truly scrumptious one! Thanks for sharing this recipe, Pat. I'll certainly use it again because it is SO versatile.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder October 03, 2008

A nice, easy and inexpensive dip base. I only used 1T lemon juice which was the perfect amt of tartness for me. Also added 1 tsp fresh chives, 1/2 tsp minced garlic and 1/2 tsp Greek Seasoning. Served with garlic, herb crackers for a great snack. Next time, i will use my lemon basil in this one!!!! Made for MAKE MY RECIPE #5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride September 09, 2008

I've got to agree with the previous reviewer winkki that this is pretty bland by itself, but makes a great base which you could liven up with any number of different flavorings. I chose fresh chives and a bit of lower-sodium soy sauce for a little saltiness. Next time I'm thinking dill. And once the oregano seedling I just bought gets going I may try winkki's variation, too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
echo echo June 02, 2007
Cream Cheese Dressing/Dipping Sauce