Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cream Cheese Cut-Out Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cream Cheese Cut-Out Cookies

    Average Rating:

    80 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 80

    Sort by:

    • on February 16, 2009

      These are wonderful...almost like pastry. Made them for Valentines and everyone loved them...parents & kids! I've made several cut out cookie recipes and not found one that I love just yet, until now! Thanks so much. One thing, I wasn't sure about was how thin to roll them. I think 1/8 to 1/4 of an inch was good for me. They also cooked more like 13-14 minutes. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2011

      These cookies rock! I never like "plain" cut out cookies- they generally have to be spicy or chocolate to win me over. However, these were fabulous. I had no eggs, so I substituted 1 tablespoon cider vinegar, and I also used butter rather than margarine (blech!) Not only were they tasty, but I didn't have to worry about my 3-year-old eating the dough, since there were no raw eggs this way. UPDATE: Years later, I'm still using this, and still using it egg-free. My daughter loves that she can eat the dough.

      Anyway, they were really good. I baked them in two separate batches, and the one that I cooked just a little less (almost slightly undercooked) retained a lot more flavor than the ones that were completely golden brown on the bottom. Hubby thought the dough was great, and since there was no egg, suggested I dump it into some ice cream. (But there was none left over to do that with!!!) UPDATE: Years later, I'm still loving these. My favorite variation- I add citrus powder (TrueLemon, orange, or lime, etc.) or any combo thereof to the dough, then top with citrus icing. Friends LOVE these, and they are always a hit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2009

      After trying various recipes that didn't even closely resemble a christmas tree after baking, I fortunately stumbled upon this recipe. As most of the others said, it's really easy dough to work with, totally retains the shape after baking, and they are quite buttery and delicious. Thank you, Aunt Paula!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2011

      Definitely my new go-to sugar cookie recipe. Very delicious and sweet but with a tiny hint of tartness from the cream cheese that makes them special and just simply perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2011

      This was excellent. Easy to make and work with dough. More tasty than any other cut-outs I've made. I appreciate the comments on how to use substitutions, but I made them pretty much how the recipe called for except butter instead of margarine. Margarine is nasty. I used organic raw evaporated can juice for sugar. Delicious cookies that we will make again and again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2010

      I won't say how many of these cookies I've eaten, it's enough to know that I love them. I chose it because I had lots of cream cheese to use up. I only chilled the dough 2hrs (I can't wait overnight for cookies!) but it turned out just fine (if only slightly sticky) to work with.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2010

      Thank you for sharing! This is my new fav. cookie recipe! The first time I fallowed steps exactly and they turned out amazing! Since then the only thing I've changed is adding a little salt to the mix. Great with chocolate fudge frosting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      Mmmmmmmmm......soooooo good, so delicately flavorful. Not too sweet, so it's just right for frosting. I used Vanilla Buttercream Frosting (From Sprinkles Cupcakes) Vanilla Buttercream Frosting (From Sprinkles Cupcakes). I made this twice this Christmas season. First time I made them cut out, and then decided it was too much work, so the second time I just rolled it into a log and sliced it up...much easier & just as tasty!!! Used butter, never margarine! This was great, thanks!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

      Excellent! I used butter instead of margarine.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2009

      This is the best cut-out cookies I have ever made!! (and i've tried a few...) The dough was so easy to work with (I took some of the other people's advice and just put the dough in the freezer for about an hour) The dough was easy to roll out and kept their shape while baking!! Oh and they DID stay flat while baking which was awesome : ) And they really taste great *yummy*. this will be the only cut-out cookie recipe I use from now on!! Try this...you wont be disapointed!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2009

      I was having a baking day when I found this recipe, and as I had cream cheese I decided to make it. What I didn't realise was someone else had opened the cheese and let it go mouldy - eugh! But I really wanted to make this...so I used yogurt instead. I also put the dough in the freezer for an hour instead of chilling overnight. The cookies turned out beautifully - melt in your mouth quality! Thank you for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2009

      I really liked this recipe! The dough was really, really nice to work with. I left it in the freezer for about and hour and it was great! I LOVE how they stay nice and flat, not all puffy in the middle. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2009

      I DON'T make things that I have to roll out, but I really wanted to decorate cookies for Valentine's day so I did it. I used two magazines on either side of the dough and it was a sinch! They turned out perfect, I couldn't believe how well they held their shape. I used Sugar Cookie Icing. I WILL make these again. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2003

      These cookies are quick and easy to mix together. I just put them in the fridge in the evening and was ready to roll, cut and bake the next day. The texture of the chilled dough was extrememly easy to work with. The flavor and texture of the cookies is excellent! Thank you Aunt Paula for sharing your recipe with all of us!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2014

      I am in the middle of moving and my sugar cookie roll out recipe is knee thick in a storage unit, so I decided to try this one. Turned out great! I chilled the dough over-night. Easy to roll out...thick or thin. They stay soft and tasty for days after baking. What's with margarine??? I was always taught never to use margarine..Butter Butter Butter! I was also surprised with just the egg yolk, but it was all good. I used the egg yolk, but used butter instead. Great cookie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2014

      This is loved by everyone in our family and extended families. I've made it several times, and am finally reviewing it. I use butter instead of the margarine and use 4 oz of cream cheese instead of 3. I usually place the dough in the freezer for a couple of hours or so and then roll the cookies out to 1/4" thick. (We like the thicker cookies here.) To enhance the cream cheese flavor I usually make my own cream cheese frosting with 4 oz cream cheese, 4 tablespoons butter, 1 teaspoon (or so) vanilla, and 2 cups powdered sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2014

      This is a fantastic recipe! Easy, delicious and reliable. I wanted to make some Valentine cut-out cookies for my Valentine but only had a 1/4 cup of sugar in the house and was too sick to go to the store. I decided to go ahead and quarter the recipe and these cookies came out perfect! I used all sizes of heart shaped cutters and yielded 15 beautiful heart shaped cookies. No puffing, spreading or burned edges. Thanks for the keeper recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2014

      I made 6 different kinds of cookies for our family Christmas celebration and these cookies were the family favorite. The double batch was all eaten and the chocolate chip and chocolate cookies were left behind. I followed the recipe, but substituted butter for the margarine and used the 8 oz bar of cream cheese for the double batch. The dough was easy to work with and retained shape. I did have a problem with some of the baked cookies crumbling when I removed them from the cookie sheet or when decorating. The candy cane shapes with the narrow shape broke easily . Now I'm making the same recipe by request for valentines day and plan to share with some lovely neighbors.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2013

      While the dough was very easy to work with the cookies had no real taste. Disappointed

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2013

      I made these for my DGS and they were really simple to make. The dough rolled out nice and they didn't stick when cutting them out. Its a dense cookie, but we loved it. I plan on using this dough for our Christmas cookies this year. thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cream Cheese Cut-Out Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (844 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 162.1
     
    Calories from Fat 81
    50%
    Total Fat 9.1 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 2.3 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 11.5 mg
    3%
    Sodium 100.7 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.5 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 8.4 g
    33%
    Protein 1.7 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes