33 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made the dough a month ago and popped it in the freezer. Today we thawed it, rolled it out to 1/4", used a 2" round cutter with scalloped edge, and baked for 14 minutes on parchment (turning the pan midway). Yield: 42 cookies.

My changes: 1) used unsalted butter, so added 3/4 t. kosher salt; 2) increased vanilla to 2 t.; 3) increased flour to 350 g (about 2 3/4 c).

This is a nice crisp sugar cookie. The dough was easy to work with and held its shape well during baking. My personal preference tends more toward shortbread, so next time I'm going to try cutting back on the sugar a little (175 g instead of 200) and mixing in chopped toasted pecans. Thanks, Tish!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Donna Lv. January 11, 2012

Second try at Cream Cheese Cookies - first one did not include egg. I had trouble with the first recipe with the cookie not staying together. With this recipe I did not have that problem. I chilled the dough and then took a spoonful and rolled it into a ball and put an indentation in the center and filled with raspberry jam. Baked for 20 minutes and let set a few minutes before taking them off the cookie sheet. These are so pretty and so good! Thanks for the recipe. Will try this same recipe trying to make it gluten free.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Toni in Colorado December 12, 2011

Wonderful recipe, will become a family tradition. I filled with grape jelly (made by my best friend); they taste great and make a nice presentation. Kept their shape without being heavy, should do well with a cookie press too. I made it exactly to recipe and have already been requested to prepare them for a holiday party.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
942690 November 10, 2011

Wonderful! I made a few small modifications. One, I was short 1/4 cup of butter and wasn't about to go to the store just for that so I figured I'd see what happened ;) I also happen to like a bit of a sweeter cookie and have a fine affinity for the flavor of brown sugar. So, I put in the 1 cup of regular sugar and a loose 1/2 cup of brown sugar. Even with my modifications, they came out SO well! I will definitely make them again :)

And to confirm, like another reviewer mentioned, they DO stay the same shape you put them in as and they also don't "brown" as noticeably as some other cookies do. I'm very pleased. Happy baking!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lpyrbby February 27, 2011

Very good and so easy to make. Added nut to some of the batter, tasted great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mycuteboys December 18, 2009

These were absolutely to die for! I rolled them in a ball and pressed my thumb into them. It looked kind of ugly so I squirted some cream cheese icing into the hole (Cream Cheese Cookies). I ttok them to work for Christmas treat-day and they got the most praise and were gone first. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maplecandy3 December 27, 2008

Yummy! I doubled the recipe and added about 1/4 teaspoon of almond extract and probably 1 1/2 cups of FINELY chopped walnuts. These were so easy to make and way too good! Thanks Tish for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noni Suzanne April 28, 2008

The most favorite cookie for my DH and me. The simplicity and the delicate flavor makes this the most requested cookie in the house. Also, very easy and quick to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Happy Hobbit April 06, 2008

VERY tasty cookie with little effort! Thanks for an awesome recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
oct1794 January 05, 2008

oh my gosh, yummy, i just cant wait for my partner to make some more of these, cos i ate all the other ones and she told me off ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kate #2 October 04, 2007
Cream Cheese Cookies