33 Reviews

Made the dough a month ago and popped it in the freezer. Today we thawed it, rolled it out to 1/4", used a 2" round cutter with scalloped edge, and baked for 14 minutes on parchment (turning the pan midway). Yield: 42 cookies.

My changes: 1) used unsalted butter, so added 3/4 t. kosher salt; 2) increased vanilla to 2 t.; 3) increased flour to 350 g (about 2 3/4 c).

This is a nice crisp sugar cookie. The dough was easy to work with and held its shape well during baking. My personal preference tends more toward shortbread, so next time I'm going to try cutting back on the sugar a little (175 g instead of 200) and mixing in chopped toasted pecans. Thanks, Tish!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Donna Lv. January 11, 2012

These were so easy to make! We loved them!! We sprinkled them with a little colored sugar before we put them in the oven. They were done in exactly 15 minutes!! I didn't get more than 30 cookies out of this recipe though....still a great cookie and we will make these again FOR SURE!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andeey May 25, 2007

Oops! I totally screwed up and used a whole 8oz block of cream cheese, but you know what? They were still great! If you try this though, roll into a ball and flatten because they stay the exact shape that you put them on the cookie sheet. Very good! I will have to try using the proper amount of cream cheese as well.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sam #3 May 02, 2007

the version my mother got from an early 1960s Family Circle Christmas Cookie special edition adds a bit of lemon zest which is very slight and very refreshing... you can also try a hint of almond extract

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carrie sheridan November 04, 2006

OMG these are soo rich and buttery, I just dropped mine from a spoon, I can't stop eating these, I plan on making lots of these for my holiday cookie platter, great recipe Tish, thanks for sharing hon...KItten:)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz October 16, 2006

Great cookies! This is the first time I have made these and they were so easy to work with, I love this recipe. I put several drops of green food coloring and made little trees w/ silver sugar balls on the top and sprinkled w/ colored sugar. I really like the flavor and texture of this cookie, I might even try rolling this dough out for cut out cookies next time. Thanks!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
H C. December 18, 2005

I fprgot to post my review! I made these for Christmas, and they were very easy and tasted really light. I did red and green sprinkles, and they were gone in no time! Thanks for sharing. I will make these again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LeahMarie April 14, 2005

Second try at Cream Cheese Cookies - first one did not include egg. I had trouble with the first recipe with the cookie not staying together. With this recipe I did not have that problem. I chilled the dough and then took a spoonful and rolled it into a ball and put an indentation in the center and filled with raspberry jam. Baked for 20 minutes and let set a few minutes before taking them off the cookie sheet. These are so pretty and so good! Thanks for the recipe. Will try this same recipe trying to make it gluten free.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Toni in Colorado December 12, 2011

Wonderful recipe, will become a family tradition. I filled with grape jelly (made by my best friend); they taste great and make a nice presentation. Kept their shape without being heavy, should do well with a cookie press too. I made it exactly to recipe and have already been requested to prepare them for a holiday party.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
942690 November 10, 2011

Wonderful! I made a few small modifications. One, I was short 1/4 cup of butter and wasn't about to go to the store just for that so I figured I'd see what happened ;) I also happen to like a bit of a sweeter cookie and have a fine affinity for the flavor of brown sugar. So, I put in the 1 cup of regular sugar and a loose 1/2 cup of brown sugar. Even with my modifications, they came out SO well! I will definitely make them again :)

And to confirm, like another reviewer mentioned, they DO stay the same shape you put them in as and they also don't "brown" as noticeably as some other cookies do. I'm very pleased. Happy baking!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lpyrbby February 27, 2011
Cream Cheese Cookies