9 Reviews

I have long made these biscuits, and these biscuits are scrumptious. Also, I include one teaspoon of baking powder because I like my biscuits with a bit more rise.The most tender, moist, and rich biscuits you'll ever taste! UPDATE: I forgot to mention in my earlier review that I use only 1/2 teaspoon salt. And, in answer to another reviewer's question: yes, use unsalted butter (In baking, always use unsalted!); and yes, these biscuits are very "short" and pastry-like, but I add one teaspoon baking powder for some rise. I grew up eating these biscuits nearly every day and I just love them. They're rich and short, different from the common fluffy biscuit.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Browniebaker February 22, 2002

Can this be right? Far too much salt and they really need some rising agent. Sorry but the whole works went in the garbage.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LittleChef2 February 07, 2013

It would be nice if the recipe stated self-rising flour! I made according to this recipe... of course wondering why something to make it rise wasn't listed as an ingredient! I ended up with 12 hockey pucks! Thanx a lot... and wasted cream cheese and utter!! :(((

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dfwmamaw September 24, 2012

I read the reviews and tried these. Ugh Came out like the others said. An awful cookie. I wasted good organic ingredients. :(

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
terrilee1680 October 29, 2014

the only variation i made in this recipe was the additon of 1 tsp baking soda, and i used sundried tomato cream cheese. They did not rise for me and an almost oily texture...they have a good flavor however so I am using it instead of bread crumbs in crawfish cakes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fatsassygirl July 22, 2009

After reading the reveiws for this recipe I decided to make it...expecting cookies. I followed the recipe exactly and they came out as dense, flaky, pastry-like biscuits...rich and salty in flavor.They weren't what I was expecting. (NOT EVEN CLOSE TO A COOKIE!) but if you want a pastry-type biscuit, these would work perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
abbilyn February 03, 2009

This is a great recipe for a cookie! They made a wonderfully moist and tender cookie that was super simple to put together.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anme March 31, 2008

These were pretty good as long as you don't mind eating cookies instead of biscuits. They tasted okay. I omitted the salt and used salted butter. They still were a bit salty. I used 1 tsp. of baking powder and it didn't make them rise at all. I wish they could get light and fluffy, they would taste great. I'll keep trying... if I figure it out, I'll let you all know...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah in New York July 02, 2007

I made these last night and I was extremely disappointed, I don't know if it was something I did, I don;t ususally have a problem with biscuits, but these were so salty, we couldn't even choke them down, maybe it should say to use unsalted butter? They didn't rise at all either, they were more like cookies? Any tips to help me, because these sound like they could be very good?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ThatJodiGirl February 15, 2002
Cream Cheese Biscuits