Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cream Cheese-Banana-Nut Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cream Cheese-Banana-Nut Bread

    Average Rating:

    59 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 59

    Sort by:

    • on July 09, 2011

      I first discovered this recipe when my family gave me a Southern Living cookbook for Christmas. This is, bar none, the BEST recipe for Banana Nut bread found anywhere.

      I've never understood, however, why it is people will come onto these sites, rave about the recipe, and then say, "But I changed it a bit and did..." If you have to change the recipe, you obviously didn't love it, you just want people to give you validation yours is better.

      My strong, STRONG suggestion is to not listen to the people who want you to do things their way (read: control freaks) and follow this tried-and-true recipe. It's the best one you'll find anywhere. Oh, and the first three ingredients make a darn good frosting if you use powdered instead of granular sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2010

      I didn't have time to make topping, but the banana bread is delicious without any. This recipe halves easily and makes a nice light loaf. Next time I will try it with a topping. Thanks Miss Annie--I read your bio and just ordered a copy of "Texas Home Cooking." It sounds like an interesting cookbook and worth a try!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2009

      This is my favorite recipe. I use the orange pecan topping. It is very delish! I do not roast the pecans though. They still come out perfect. I do sub the nuts for walnut and/or almond.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2010

      I made this for a bunch of fishermen and women at fish camp up here in Alaska and they have requested it two more times in a week. The only change I made was adding a rounded tsp. of cinnamon and also cut back on the sugar. I didn't add any toppings yet but will try it on the next loaf.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2010

      Best banana bread I have ever made!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2010

      Usually, we bake our banana breads using another recipe from this site as it is a very good one. Today, I decided to try this one out, just for comparison. Decreased the sugar to 1 1/2 cup as per other reviewers' suggestion, and found the sweetness to be enough. My daughter really loves this one, so now we have two recipes that we love. Thank you for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      I first tried this recipe years ago after seeing it in on of my Sourthern Living cookbooks. It's simply awesome & the best banana-nut bread I've ever eaten. I never make thetoppings because the bread is exquisite with them. Unbeatable. I've used the low-fat cream cheese & decreased the sugar to 1.5 cups w/ no problems at all. Wonderful!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      One word: AWESOME. These were unbelievably moist. I left out the toppings and cut down the sugar to about 1.5 cups and they turned out excellent!! The best banana nut bread recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2010

      I have 2 little girls who love little things, so I decided to make muffins instead of loaves. These were delicious, everybody loved them! They are soooo moist! I didn't add any nuts because nobody likes them. I used the cinnamon topping, but I did have to double it for the muffins. I ended up with 30-35, don't know exactly cause I turned around and they were already being eaten! Next day I walk in the kitchen to see my 15 month old trying to scale the counter to get one! Thank you for a delicious recipe and I can guarantee this will be the only banana bread I make!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2010

      This turned out great. The changes I made is I used 2 glass 9x5x2 inch pans. Pre heated the oven 325 degrees and baked for 60 minutes. Instead of nuts I used 1/4 cup of miniature chocolate chips. Then I sprinkled sugar in the raw on top before putting in the oven.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      Excellent bread, next time I will use 1/2 cup more banana, and less brown sugar for the cinnamon topping... but anyway this is an amazing bread, THANK YOU!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2009

      OMG... These are Celestial just like other reviewers said, I made minor tweaks to this recipe just because I love crumb topping so I doubled it plus I put in twice the cinnamon. My Son says this gets more than just 5 stars it is a constellation all by its self. Oh and we used Walnuts because that is what I had on hand. Because I have no bread pans (had the glass ones they broke) I made muffins, 36 of them with a good Tablespoon each of crumb topping…………….oh Yum Thank You Miss Annie

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2009

      ABSOLUTELY DIVINE!!!! I used a stoneware bread pan and a muffin tin together in my convection oven. The muffins were a little over done (should have read the other reviews a litle closer), but the bread pan took about another 20 minutes. Next time, I'll just use two bread pans. I just used the cinnamon topping. YUMMY!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      This was the "most best-est" banana bread ever! I used to only use the one from the old, old red and white BC cookbook, but am now a changed chef!... made it in an angel food cake pan, lined with parchment, (added 15 minutes to the time as it was still very runny inside when doing the toothpick test), added the cinnamon topping, and used 3 frozen bananas + 1/2 of a ripe one, plus walnuts and it was perfect! I got 20 ample slices from the bread... Do not look any further... this is excellent!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2009

      I am resubmitting my review as I forgot to add the stars. This is one of those recipes I make all the time so I knew I owed a review. This is fabulous and a big hit with friends and family. I usually make this into muffins as it makes it easier to share! I always top with the cinnamon crisp topping which I push into the batter or else when the muffins rise, a lot of topping will fall off. 20 to 25 minutes if you make muffins. This is a great recipe. Thanks!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2009

      Awesome - even without the nuts! Made one loaf and used the rest of the batter for muffins. Kids loved both.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2009

      absolutely delish used walnuts all I had on hand for now will make with pecans next time used the brown sugar/ cinn. topping the whole was great ,thank you miss annie

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      This is the BEST banana nut bread I've ever eaten! I used the cinnamon crisp topping but without the extra pecans. I'm gonna have to buy more bananas now! -)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2008

      I have baked a banana nut bread using cream cheese before. This is by far the best banana nut bread with cream cheese that I r have ever eaten. The only problem I have is that it crumbles when slicing. Yes I did let it cool before slicing. Other than that I am quite happy with it. Nice change from the traditional banana nut bread which I love.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2008

      Only banana bread I make! My family calls it "The Bread."

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cream Cheese-Banana-Nut Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (207 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1022.7
     
    Calories from Fat 492
    48%
    Total Fat 54.7 g
    84%
    Saturated Fat 19.9 g
    99%
    Cholesterol 127.3 mg
    42%
    Sodium 526.2 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 128.1 g
    42%
    Dietary Fiber 5.3 g
    21%
    Sugars 84.3 g
    337%
    Protein 11.8 g
    23%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites