59 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I first discovered this recipe when my family gave me a Southern Living cookbook for Christmas. This is, bar none, the BEST recipe for Banana Nut bread found anywhere.

I've never understood, however, why it is people will come onto these sites, rave about the recipe, and then say, "But I changed it a bit and did..." If you have to change the recipe, you obviously didn't love it, you just want people to give you validation yours is better.

My strong, STRONG suggestion is to not listen to the people who want you to do things their way (read: control freaks) and follow this tried-and-true recipe. It's the best one you'll find anywhere. Oh, and the first three ingredients make a darn good frosting if you use powdered instead of granular sugar.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NancyLou9 July 09, 2011

I didn't have time to make topping, but the banana bread is delicious without any. This recipe halves easily and makes a nice light loaf. Next time I will try it with a topping. Thanks Miss Annie--I read your bio and just ordered a copy of "Texas Home Cooking." It sounds like an interesting cookbook and worth a try!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyfingers November 09, 2010

Excellent bread, next time I will use 1/2 cup more banana, and less brown sugar for the cinnamon topping... but anyway this is an amazing bread, THANK YOU!!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zoila Borges January 06, 2010

This is my favorite recipe. I use the orange pecan topping. It is very delish! I do not roast the pecans though. They still come out perfect. I do sub the nuts for walnut and/or almond.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
julzs71 March 27, 2009

I made this for a bunch of fishermen and women at fish camp up here in Alaska and they have requested it two more times in a week. The only change I made was adding a rounded tsp. of cinnamon and also cut back on the sugar. I didn't add any toppings yet but will try it on the next loaf.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Old School Chef July 27, 2010

Best banana bread I have ever made!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ebudd July 23, 2010

Usually, we bake our banana breads using another recipe from this site as it is a very good one. Today, I decided to try this one out, just for comparison. Decreased the sugar to 1 1/2 cup as per other reviewers' suggestion, and found the sweetness to be enough. My daughter really loves this one, so now we have two recipes that we love. Thank you for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ilovemy4kids May 25, 2010

I first tried this recipe years ago after seeing it in on of my Sourthern Living cookbooks. It's simply awesome & the best banana-nut bread I've ever eaten. I never make thetoppings because the bread is exquisite with them. Unbeatable. I've used the low-fat cream cheese & decreased the sugar to 1.5 cups w/ no problems at all. Wonderful!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mwcmax99 May 24, 2010

One word: AWESOME. These were unbelievably moist. I left out the toppings and cut down the sugar to about 1.5 cups and they turned out excellent!! The best banana nut bread recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BlueGrapes May 23, 2010

I have 2 little girls who love little things, so I decided to make muffins instead of loaves. These were delicious, everybody loved them! They are soooo moist! I didn't add any nuts because nobody likes them. I used the cinnamon topping, but I did have to double it for the muffins. I ended up with 30-35, don't know exactly cause I turned around and they were already being eaten! Next day I walk in the kitchen to see my 15 month old trying to scale the counter to get one! Thank you for a delicious recipe and I can guarantee this will be the only banana bread I make!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Megan and Jeremy May 15, 2010
Cream Cheese-Banana-Nut Bread