Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / cream cheese and chive bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    cream cheese and chive bread

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on February 19, 2003

      chia.....5PLUS stars to this recipe. Literally threw it all in the machine and started it. We were cutting into it before I had it completely outta the pan!! Immediately made another loaf for the morning. It is great toasted with mayo and lettuce and roast beef. This is wonderful...TY

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2003

      This is the type of bread best eaten hot. I used fresh chives but could't really taste them and the recipe, as is, is definitely a sweet bread due to the sugar with a little bit of a kick coming from the cream cheese but not sweet enough to come into the cake category. It has a very nice texture and cuts well. Easy to make too. As far as its bread qualities go I can't fault it. If I make it again however I would use more herbs to suit my own tastebuds. So its a great bread but I personally like Chia's other bread recipes better. This is the recipe I would like to give 4 1/2 stars. However it is getting 5 stars because other household members really like it and are asking for more and the bread is disappearing within 30 minutes of coming out of the breadmaker.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2009

      We loved this bread! I did increase the chives to 2 1/2 Tablespoons and reduced the sugar to 3/4 a tablespoon but otherwise changed no other ingredients. I made it on the dough cycle in my bread machine and then took it out and made into a french bread roll, placed in a warm spot for an hour and then baked at 325 degrees for 24 minutes. Great bread!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      I really enjoyed this bread, very easy to make and came out beautifully. I used chive and onion cream cheese instead of cream cheese and chives and it worked beautifully. I made paninis with this bread for dinner. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2008

      This was a pretty tasty bread. In the future I will increase the amount of chives as they really didn't have much of a presence. I also had to add almost 1/2 cup extra water as it was much too dry. With those modications I will definitely make this again. It had the best crust I have had out of a bread machine to date. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2007

      WOW i really enjoyed this bread i did have to use green onions in it because it was what i had on hand but the texture light and fluffy and the tast is just sspot on i do think next time imay adda bit more onion if i am looking for the onion to stand on it is but as a good fall back anytime bread it is perfect as is thank so much this is the first bread i have really enjoyed in my abm i now have a list of how to eat it going in myhead toast brutter bread sammies yummy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2006

      Originally followed the recipe to the letter with the chives but did not find the chives provided much taste. I have since used the basic dough recipe (without the chives) to make pancetta/cracked black pepper bread-simply add 3 oz chopped pancetta & 1/2 tsp cracked (not ground) black pepper the last two minutes of mixing with my KitchenAid mixer. Have also experimented with different cheeses & the results were great. The texture of the bread is superb with the addition of the cream cheese. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2006

      I used cream cheese with chives and added 2 teaspoons of rosemary. Bread turned out fantastic. Very soft, tasty and smelled heavenly. The only problem was the bread was so soft that I had difficulty cutting it and so good that I finished half a loaf in one sitting. I freezed the remaining half. The next day, I toasted some slices and found them still very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2006

      Good texture and taste. I substituted 1/3 of the sugar for splenda and 1/3 of the bread flour for wheat flour for health reasons (and still came out very light and soft) and used herb cream cheese from my local bagel shop instead of cream cheese plus fresh chives just because it's what I had on hand. I really like this idea. I also have some honey walnut cream cheese and some spinach artichoke cream cheese in the fridge and one of them may be finding their way into the next loaf when this loaf is gone. Added 4/6/06: Just tried this with a Garlic & Herb cream cheese spread made by Kraft. It worked very nicely, same texture and similar taste to last time, but with a hint of garlic. So far we've eaten half the loaf just hot with butter, but I think it will make great sandwiches as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2005

      This is a lovely bread! I did add a tad bit more water cause I was scared after reading the other reviews. I let my bread machine do all the work and it did a fine job, but next time (and there will be a next time) I will try it in the oven. Thank you for this recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2005

      I made this last night and while it was very good hot, I enjoyed it more today toasted for a sandwich. Lovely flavor. I did have to add a bit more water. Thanks chia for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2005

      delicious bread!!! I didn't have chives, so I subbed in green onions...still wonderful!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2005

      There's something about a loaf of bread fresh from the oven and this one is special! KC Cooker's photo's caught my eye or I may have missed this one. Have to go with the rest of your reviewers, wow - awesome - great! Love the texture and taste. I was generous with the chives and like Usako Yamakawa added 1/4 cup of water.(due I am sure to the flour) This bread is a delight to make and serve. Thank you Chia for this great tasting bread recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2005

      oh my gosh!! This bread was so easy and sooo delicious. I made the dough in the bread machine, then placed it in a loaf pan, let rise again, and then baked in the oven. We had it with dinner, and i just finished the last piece for breakfast. I am thinking of other things to add in place of the chives for variety. I think this is my new bread recipe. Thanks so much, Chia, this is great!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2005

      This bread is SOOO good I almost wish I hadn't found the recipe! I made as directed except using freeze dried chives for fresh and lowfat cream cheese. Wonderful texture and flavor, this would be a good choice for any meal or sandwiches. Is amazing just with butter. Thanks, chia, I'll make this (too) often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2005

      Oh my gosh! This bread is to die for! WOW!!! I let the bread machine do all of the work throughout the dough cycle. I then removed the dough and placed it in a sprayed loaf pan. I punched it down and let it rise again for 20 minutes. I then baked it in a 350 degree oven for approx 25-30 minutes. When I took it out of the pan, I thought for sure I hadn't let it bake long enough because it felt so soft. I was thrilled to find out when I cut into this beautiful loaf of bread that the texture of it is very soft and fluffy! Delicious flavor and an extremely easy recipe! I imagine this will be gone before the afternoon is through. Thanks Chia! This is a keeper :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2004

      This bread was AWESOME! I had to adjust it a little bit, because it was too dry by 1/4 cup of water, but the end result was awesome! I was a bit shocked when I started slicing the bread since the crust seems flakey, and I love that! The inner texture of the bread is just amazing! I will most definately be making this again. I can't wait until my husband comes home to try out this bread! I'm sure he'll love it too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for cream cheese and chive bread

    Serving Size: 1 (708 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1245.2
     
    Calories from Fat 267
    21%
    Total Fat 29.6 g
    45%
    Saturated Fat 17.4 g
    87%
    Cholesterol 85.0 mg
    28%
    Sodium 2176.9 mg
    90%
    Total Carbohydrate 207.6 g
    69%
    Dietary Fiber 7.9 g
    31%
    Sugars 13.4 g
    53%
    Protein 33.8 g
    67%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes