63 Reviews

We loved this. I added a touch of cinnamon to the cake batter. I think that the cake batter would make a great special occasion cake. Very excited to try it different ways in the future. Thank you so much for sharing this delicious recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Feej May 31, 2009

Super great!!!! so easy and so soft!!!! Will try to make again today but use some fresh fruits.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mosum February 25, 2009

Rich and moist and decadent! Made it once already using dried cherries. Will be making it again today using some rum soaked raisins I have to use up. I'll also have to use chopped almonds instead of sliced, but I don't think there will be any complaints! Was puzzled by the instructions in step 4 though. What does mix inches mean?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Park Avenue February 07, 2009

Great cake, I baked mine for 33 minutes in a 13 x 9 - perfect. I also plumped my dried cherries ahead of time (put them in 1 1/2 c of water and cooked them for 2 minutes on high in the microwave). Loved the texture and taste with our morning coffee!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef LauraMD December 07, 2008

I thought I would treat my husband to a Sunday morning treat and this was just exactly what I was looking for. The texture of this cake is incredible. I have never had anything so moist, light and fluffy. I made using dried apricots and was extremely pleased with the outcome (that was the only substitution I made). I will be sharing this recipe with others and will make this again, and again! Thanks for adopting such a wonderful recipe! My cake baked for 30 minutes and was perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CindiJ October 05, 2008

My husband was requesting coffee cake, and I came across this recipe. I'm so glad I did! Like the others have all ready said, very dense, rich, moist - very tasty! I used the 1/3 less fat cream cheese, and added some freshly grated nutmeg to the batter. This is going in my permanent file!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beth A. September 23, 2008

Oh shuddup.. this is an AMAZING recipe! Holy Cow!! I served this at an AM Fantasy Football draft thinking it would be the 'chic food', but the guys were eating it all! Amazing. I used what I had in the pantry which was slivered almonds, but they worked equally as well. I also doubled the topping because I had a feeling it would be the best part... and it totally was. I'd do it again. Thanks for the best coffee cake recipe I've tried yet. PS- the leftovers are equally amazing 1 and 2 days after being made as well. Wow!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AKillian24 August 26, 2008

Very good cake. Light and fluffy and very moist and rich. I used a mix of dried cherries, cranberries and apple. Delicious. My only complaint is that it was just a little too sweet for me. Didn't bother anyone else, but I'd cut it back to just 1 cup of white sugar next time. This will be a great make ahead for overnight guests. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littleturtle August 25, 2008

I made absolutely no changes, and the cake was moist and delicious. The lack of a noted cooking time is tricky, but I would say it took about 35 minutes to bake. I have made this twice already, so you know it's a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JackieOhNo! May 07, 2008
Cream Cheese Almond Coffee Cake