63 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very moist and wonderful. My DF could not stop raving about how good it was and my DSD who never eats ate it and took some home. I did not use any dried fruit because it just did not sound appealing but will be using real fruit in the the future. Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
secretcook October 05, 2011

Awesomly AWESOME! I did what others did as well and doubled the topping and cooked it for 35 mins. It was just awesome!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
D. Burger July 04, 2011

I made this for my daughter and her friends and they loved it! The almond flavor is delicious. I left out the dried fruit. I will definately be making this again! Thanks so much for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mksommer96 June 20, 2011

Our coffee guests devoured this! I used pecans instead of almonds, and dried cranberries instead of cherries. I also ended up subbing the milk for water because I didn't realize we were out until it was too late! Oops! Turned out great anyway!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Leesha February 17, 2010

Wow. This is excellent. I used 1 T of vanilla extract and no almond extract (didn't have any). Omitted the dried cherries and almonds. Delicious Sunday brunch! Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather U. January 10, 2010

Fantastical! Quick and easy to make. I didn't add any of the dried fruit (both because I lacked them, and the prospect of something chewy wasn't too appealing at the moment.) I lacked almond extract, so I added an extra 1/4 t of vanilla extract. Like some of the others, I doubled the topping recipe (using margarine instead of butter) and mixed in a little into the batter. It was moist, fluffy, and delicious. Best coffee cake I've had in a long time. Will definitely make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Searid November 28, 2009

This coffee cake is AMAZING. It's so moist, and it has great flavor. I made the following changes: I used low fat cream cheese, I left out the almond extract, and I didn't use the dried fruit. I left out the fruit because it seemed like other reviewers didn't use it, but I'll probably add it next time to if the coffee cake is even better that way (if that's possible). My new favorite...thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunt Cookie November 15, 2009

Excellent coffee cake! I am usually not a huge fan of coffee cake, but this was wonderful. I didn't have almond extract, and so omitted it, as well as dried fruit; and I also used salted butter, but it turned out wonderful. I also took the advice of others and doubled the topping. So moist and fluffy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Mellie~ October 21, 2009

VEry good, did not use any dried fruit. and used slicvered almonds (that is all they had at the store) made for retirement breakfast at work and almost all of it was gone by the end of the day. this is now in the tried and true cookbook for my personal use! thanks for turning me on to this. I can't believe how light and fluggy it was. moist and not overpowering at all! FABULOUS!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shawn C October 02, 2009

WICKED GOOD! thank you so much! i baked these into muffins and gave some on a platter with other items to the local homeless shelter! we loved them and im sure everyone else will too! i did not add cherries, i added currants

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Earl&Chai July 25, 2009
Cream Cheese Almond Coffee Cake