Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cream Biscuits Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cream Biscuits

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on October 02, 2009

      Wonderful! I made one change and one unintentional (insignificant) change. To "soften" the biscuit, I used 1-1/4 cups cake flour and 3/4 cup all-purpose flour in place of 2 cups all-purpose flour. I accidentally used heavy cream versus whipping cream, but really there's not much difference. I loved them! They didn't rise terribly high but that could be my fault as I placed them touching as that's how I usually make biscuits. *definitely* on the re-make list!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2009

      Great biscuits. It was so nice to not have to cut in butter and shortening and a good way to use farm cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2007

      I made these Sunday. They were very easy to make. But I thought they were a little hard. I will probably make them again because they were easy, very easy, but I wanted a softer biscuit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2006

      I made a dozen squuare biscuits. Very easy and so tasty. These little jewels are wonderful, they are creamy, tender and delicate, with a nice crunchy crust. I will definitely make these yummy biscuits again and again. Thanks for sharing Susan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2005

      I have to admit that I was shocked when this recipe turned out so great. I was lured by it's simplicty, but after mixing up a batch it seemed tough (and that was after adding even more cream) and thought for sure I was making little bricks... NOPE! They turned out quite nicely. I don't think these will replace my favorite buttermilk biscuits for flavor, but when it comes to time and ingredients (which being a caterer it often does) these can't be beat. Served with sausage gravey (Peppered Sausage Gravy and Biscuits). Went over well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2005

      Nice plain biscuits with something subtle that makes them different and very good. Great with a little butter spread on them. I used 4 teaspoons of sugar instead of the 2 that the recipe calls for, and I got 13 medium-sized biscuits from the dough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2004

      Yummmmmm... these turned out great. I actually used these to be the biscuit part of vegetarian biscuits and gravy that I made with crumbled Vegan Seasoned faux "Sausage" Patties (#33763) and sort-of followed Sawmill Gravy (#56251). I made a half recipe and needed the full amount of cream. I used whole wheat pastry flour and substituted a small bit of the flour for cornstarch, which made for wonderfully tender biscuits. Rose well- I made mine a bit too thin. Wonderful flavor, wonderful texture, wonderfully easy! A real winner... thanks Susan!! A keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2003

      I was going to put my favorite biscuit recipe in but-here it is! I got it from a cookbook 12 years ago. The author said it was James Beard's recipe published in "Beard on Bread". He got it from his family's Chinese cook. Who knew? You're right, they never disappoint.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cream Biscuits

    Serving Size: 1 (453 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 130.4
     
    Calories from Fat 51
    39%
    Total Fat 5.7 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 20.3 mg
    6%
    Sodium 193.7 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.2 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.7 g
    3%
    Protein 2.4 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes