Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crazy Spumoni Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crazy Spumoni

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on June 30, 2008

      This was definitely crazy . . . Crazy Good! I had to make a few changes: I used raspberry jam instead of apricot, gluten free chocolate chip cookies instead of almond biscotti, and Kahlua instead of amaretto. I had excellent results. I couldn't decide which layer was my favorite. With each bite I kept changing my mind. "No, this one is the best. No, that one is the best!" Thank you for posting. You've got a winner here. Reviewed for ZWT4.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2008

      What a fantastic combination of ingredients. I followed the recipe to a T and wouldn't change a thing. Rich, creamy, and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2008

      I loved having the apricots, chocolate, liqueur and almonds all right next to each other. I modified it so I could use up the gelatto experiments I had for when I helped my ZWT4 team (Tastebud Tickling Travellers) work on our recipe. For the apricot layer I used peach gelatto and Filipino sugar cookies (polvoron) and dried apricots and dried peaches, for the second layer I used dulce de leche ice cream (which is sweet with caramel) cocoa powder instead of syrup (which balanced the extra sweetness, and Frangelico instead of amaretto. I used too much Frangelico because I had trouble getting it to set, but it was sooooo tasty I didn't care. For the third layer I used a lightly flavored strawberry gelatto I made and omitted the almond extract since I didn't have any. All in all the main differences I think were just the peach and strawberry in the two layers, but it all still went together really well and was super tasty. It made my simple gelattos that I was getting tired of something special.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2008

      Great job, Cooks Must Be Crazy!!! Your team created a very yummy spumoni!! This was SO EASY to put together and LOOKS IMPRESSIVE when you serve it!! I don't enjoy apricots much, so I subbed some organic flash-frozen cherries and red raspberry jam. I kept everything else the same, though, but allowed it to freeze overnight since we weren't going to be ready to eat it until the next day. It came out beautifully! Made for the CAFE ZMAAK Gypsies for ZWT4!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2008

      A tasty creation your team came up with for the ZWT 4 Italian Frozen Dessert Challenge. I could not find dried apricots so I used dried cherries with the apricot jam and enjoyed the sweet and tart flavors. For the second layer I used a bar of Hersheys dark chocolate and almond extract. The third layer I added more dried cherries, omitted the almonds and placed in the freezer for 3 hours. When I turned the ice cream out on a platter it wasnt completely set. The middle was still mushy but the top had started to harden. I think if I doubled the freezing time it would have been better. A nice bite of treats in every spoonful and great way to jazz up ordinary vanilla ice cream. Made and reviewed for ZWT 4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2008

      Great job, Allison!! The flavors in this complemented each other so well, and I really liked having all the different "bits" in the ice cream. I used Special Dark Hershey's syrup in the middle. I also found some wonderful toffee almond flavored biscotti that I just couldn't pass up (the bottoms were dipped in chocolate!), so I used one in the apricot layer and another in the almond layer (I used a bit less of the almonds, though, since I like nuts in ice cream only sparingly). I used a light ice cream (Edy's Slow Churned French vanilla), so it got pretty melty as I was trying to work with it, but I alleviated that a bit by putting each ice cream bowl in larger ice-filled bowl as I was working with them. I'll have to try the suggested cherry version of this some time, too. Go Crazies!! Made for ZWT4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2008

      This went together quite easily. I liked the combination of flavors. I did half the recipe and did have thinner layers, making it a little less appealing visually and I do think it does need several hours to harden, ours was a little mushy. But a fun receipe. Made for ZWT4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      I really enjoyed the ease of your recipe creation. Using ice cream on hand & jazzing it up was a good idea. The only thing I did differently was to add the amaretto to the third layer. I know I will be using this recipe all summer for ice cream mix ins. Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      I really enjoyed this frozen dessert, but admit I did make a substitution for the first layer. I used fresh strawberries and strawberry jam in place of the apricots and used a chocolate almond discotti. I also decreased this to a serving for two. This is full of flavor and I really loved the toasted almonds with all the other flavors. Thanks Cook must be crazy!!! Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2008

      We really loved this, and it was so easy. It is indeed adaptable - I don't really like apricots, so I used a layer with dried cherries and cherry jam, kept the other layers as written. Delicious! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2008

      The beauty of this recipe is that it is SO adaptable to using other flavours along with the apricot. Since there were three 5 star reviews already, I decided to switch it up a bit to our taste preferences. Used chocolate biscotti instead of almond. Mexican vanilla instead of almond extract. And Starbucks coffee liquor instead of amaretto. It was wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      I very much enjoyed this variation of Spumoni, most especially the apricot layer. The flavors blended well and made it a very satisfying treat. Thank you Slatts and all the members of The Cooks Must Be Crazy for this memorable part of Zaar World Tour 4 from the Chic Chefs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2008

      What an unusual treat, but in a good way - you never know what will be in the next bite! My almond essence wasn't very nice & I was quite disappointed, but we knew it wasn't the fault of the recipe. I didn't have Amaretto, so used Kahlua instead. Thanks to the Cooks Must Be Crazy for this yummy & unique dessert. Made by a Fancy Feinschmecker for ZWT4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2008

      *Reviewed during ZWT4* Delicious! Hello Team "The Cooks Must be Crazy". Your Crazy Spumoni is fantastic. Great Italian flavour combination. I wouldn't change a thing. Thanks for such a rich treat. This "Gastronomic Gaucho" thanks you. Photo also to be posted

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crazy Spumoni

    Serving Size: 1 (131 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 335.3
     
    Calories from Fat 165
    49%
    Total Fat 18.3 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 9.9 g
    49%
    Cholesterol 47.6 mg
    15%
    Sodium 122.7 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.7 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    12%
    Sugars 32.2 g
    129%
    Protein 6.2 g
    12%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    biscotti

    amaretto liqueur

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites