Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crazy Easy Apple Dumplings Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crazy Easy Apple Dumplings

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on September 26, 2009

      These are wonderful. And evil. I have made them twice so far. What I learned after the first time was that it really helps to bake them for a full 30 minutes COVERED, and then 15 minutes uncovered. It helps cook the dough more. Also, it really is important to seal the apple wedge within the dough... the first time I made these I left the apple hanging out because it seemed impossible to cover it completely. But the apple was much more tender when I wrapped it completely the second time around. Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2013

      Crazy good! Very quick, these could be made in quantity and served for a holiday brunch. Will definitely make again, and will follow Chef Itchy Monkey's suggestion to bake covered for 30 minutes, then remove the foil and bake for 15 so the dough will cook through. Made for Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup tag game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2009

      Sooooooo good and dangerous (I'm in danger of eating them all right now!) I used a Jonagold apple and dark brown sugar. I agree with other reviews that the dough was a little, well, "doughy" on the bottom and there also seemed to be a lot of sauce (delicious though it is). Next time (and there WILL be a next time!) I will try with half the amount of sauce. Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2014

      I made this for church and everyone loved it! I did too! I used the suggestions by baking for 30 minutes and cutting the apples wedges in half. I also made only 1 batch of the sauce because I forgot to double the recipe for it...however it turned out amazing! I would have liked a little more of the sauce...it was so good. I only put half in and it burned off in the oven, but the rest I had on the stove which I poured over the top after it was cooked was wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2012

      Perfect deliciousness! This turned out beautifully. I made two changes based on personal tastes. First I used apple pie spice instead of cinnamon because it just seemed to fit the flavor profile of the recipe. Second, I used Diet Mountain Dew because it's what I had on hand, plus I figured more sugar wasn't necessary. I also followed a previous reviewers suggestion on cooking times. I cooked them covered for 30 minutes, took off the cover and turned each dumpling, then cooked then uncovered for an additional 15 minutes. I used 2 dumplings for each serving, topped with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. Just perfect! I'm going to try it again and add pecans to the recipe. Definitely a keeper. Made for PAC Spring 2012.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      How Neat! My daughter loved this! She had fun making and eating them. I was a little skeptical... I've never made anything quite like this before but we thought it was great. We made them exactly as written for a fun afternoon snack/activity and they were perfect. Thanks for posting! Made for Pick a Chef Spring 2009

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2008

      i love desserts and this is a great one.you have a winner here

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2008

      AMAZING! So easy and SO good! My mom and I enjoyed these as a special treat last night - we've been craving an apple dumpling from Cracker Barrel, but hadn't had a chance to make it there yet. These dumplings were just as good!!! I made a few minor changes to the recipe ... I cut the apples into smaller pieces and mixed in some chopped walnuts and wrapped all of it up in the crescent roll. Thanks, for the good advice, blancpage and craftylady13! I only used half the sauce with the dumplings and simmered the rest - turned out fabulous! I served the dumplings with icecream and drizzled the extra sauce over the whole dish. Thank you so much! This recipe is a definite keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2008

      I've seen so many of these apple dumpling recipes, but I finally chose this one because it was showcased in one of the RZ games I'm in. I used 1 Granny Smith, dark brown sugar, regular Mountain Dew, and Smart Balance with Flaxseed Oil. I appreciated Crafty Lady 13's review, and followed her example/suggestion about the sauce. Since it was just 2 of us, I halved the sauce (but made 8 dumplings) so that if I needed to save leftovers, they wouldn't get all soggy. I poured half the sauce around instead of on the dumplings, and simmered the rest. When the dumplings were finished baking, they were browned and flaky most of the way around each. I poured extra sauce that was on the stove on a plate and then placed the dumplings on top of sauce. Very nice flavor, loved the syrupy sauce! This was very easy, too. Thanks so much for sharing Gabe6309!! :) The Mountain Dew added a zingy flavor to the caramel sauce; a nice touch. Forgot to add, I also sprayed the pan with non-stick spray.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2008

      The name says it all. I never knew making apple dumplings could be so easy. I also used Diet Mountain Dew in the sauce and I used dark brown sugar. I loved the sauce, but I think the next time I make it I am only going to pour half of the sauce over the dumplings before putting them in the oven. The dumplings were very good, but they were just a little on the mushy side. I think it is because they are almost entirely covered in the sauce. I will simmer the remaining sauce in the saucepan to give it a chance to thicken and will pour some of the sauce over the dumplings before serving them. These would be great with some vanilla ice cream. This is a keeper in my book. Made for PAC Spring, 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2008

      This recipe was so easy and my family loved it. I used Splenda Brown Sugar and Diet Mt. Dew and topped it with Sugar Free Cool Whip. Thanks for this great dessert!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crazy Easy Apple Dumplings

    Serving Size: 1 (109 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 289.6
     
    Calories from Fat 120
    41%
    Total Fat 13.3 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 7.7 g
    38%
    Cholesterol 44.8 mg
    14%
    Sodium 241.0 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.8 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 25.9 g
    103%
    Protein 2.9 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites