9 Reviews

I've eaten some superb versions of etouffee over the years but, until now, never imagined that I could replicate that true N'awlins taste at home. Not only was this dish restaurant-quality, it was downright simple to make!! A little time-consuming (especially since I did go all-out and do the shrimp stock), but virtually foolproof as long as you stir that roux religiously. A couple of family members aren't wild about crayfish, so I omitted that and doubled up on the shrimp. The only other changes I made were to cut the cayenne from 1 tsp. to 1/2 tsp. and use 2 T. of Creole seasoning instead of 3. We seriously love spicy foods, so I was just being a little cautious, fully expecting I'd need to go back later and add the rest. Well, NOT! The lesser amounts took it to the outer limits of my 'comfort zone' when it comes to heat, and I'm definitely not a wimp! We love Tony Cachere's but find it way too salty when used in large amounts, so I mixed up Kittencal's cajun seasoning (The Best Creole/Cajun Seasoning Mix). Maybe Kitten's homemade version -- which was delicious, btw! -- packs a much bigger wallop than the commercial brands. At any rate, I just wanted to warn you to add the seasonings gradually instead of all at once. This stuff is too fabulous to risk messing up by getting heavy- handed with the 'heat'. Kudos, chia. Humongous kudos!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
highcotton March 20, 2007

Excellent, I did make the stock and the flavor was well worth that extra effort. I did find the recipe difficult to follow, I mean the ingredients for the stock and the rest of the recipe. Thanks Chia for another good recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pets'R'us August 02, 2003

This recipe was not worth the time spent to prepare it. I found it to be very bland to be called etouffee, and that disappointed me.I felt confident that it would be a good dish after reading the reviews, but it wasn't.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just Brown Sugar May 12, 2008

I would have given it 5 stars, if the amount of cayenne pepper wasn't so much. It was my own inexperience with the stuff that had me trusting the amounts, which was far to much for myself (and my poor kids). My husband, the hot sauce junkie loved it, but didn't need to add any hot sauce, it was definately hot enough on it's own. I'm not a lightweight myself and usually order Thai food a 5 out of 5 on the spice scale. All of that aside, it really was delicious, just too much cayenne. I'd cut it down to 1/8 - 1/4 tsp next time and let everyone adjust their own with hot sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Indigosmom April 23, 2008

Good stuff! We enjoyed it very much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
uniquemo March 02, 2007

We love this. Wonderful on a cold winter day. I did use shrimp stock that I had in the freezer.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Dragon Mom January 16, 2007

Beautiful! This was just beautiful! I made this along with the shrimp stock from the French Forum's wonderful tutorial. The stock was lovely, so aromatic and flavorful! The roux was so incredibly rich and dark. The etouffee was fabulous...simply divine....as good as the ones I had in NOLA. I was thrilled! Thanks for a wonderful recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NcMysteryShopper January 23, 2006

I followed along with the excellent tutorial in the French Cooking Forum. I love the classes... I always learn something. I appreciate you & Chef Kate taking the time to do these. Your photos & Kate's instructions resulted in the darkest roux I have ever made and a wonderful shrimp stock. :) The etouffee itself was terrific, very full bodied and full flavored. I used both shrimp & crawfish tails and served over rice. Thank you for another great meal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie D January 23, 2006

Chia, darlin'--what can I say--first, the stock: ten stars--great stock. Second, the etouffee: absolutely terrific! Granted, it is necessary to exercise some restraint as to the seasoning--but maybe that's just me. This isa wonderful, totally authentic version of etouffee. Ten more stars!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kate January 22, 2006
Crawfish /Shrimp Etouffee