Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crash Hot Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crash Hot Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on February 17, 2011

      These are very good potatoes, and easy to make. After boiling, I tossed them in a bowl with the olive oil and the seasonings. Then I put them on the cookie sheet and smashed them with a glass. I drizzled the potatoes with any remaining oil and seasonings from the bowl. Very tasty! I look forward to making these again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2011

      Really, really good. I boiled my baby reds in chicken stock, saving the stock for part 3. Part 2 I used a glass to mash, brushed with olive oil & sprinkled on sea salt, pepper and smoked paprika. I finished them off in a hot cast iron skillet with olive oil and a pat of butter. I removed the crispy potatoes, added some of the leftover stock and reduced a bit-that I drizzled over the potatoes.
      I won't worry about working this into my dinner rotation as my DH is doing that for me-LOL! Thanks for posting! Di ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2010

      What a gem of a recipe!!! WOW! I used the baby reds and appreciated the hint from Chicagoland Chef to boil them ahead of time. I forgot to brush the olive oil on them BEFORE I smashed them -- a step I will definitely do next time. I found the smooth bottom of a glass worked much better than the potato masher. I lined my pan with the non-stick foil, brushed with the olive oil, sprinkled with the sea salt and pepper -- and some fresh thyme. I used 440 as my oven temp, placed the baking sheet on the highest rack in the oven and baked for 25-30 minutes. They were heaven! We did 16 potatoes and between the two of us ate 12 of them (I could finished them off in a heartbeat -- but decided to save them for MY breakfast this morning! This is a blue ribbon recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2011

      How could I have forgotten to rate this?! The potatoes were a crowd favorite for our New Year's Eve lunch with the in laws. See menu here: Menu #43490 I used medium/uniform sized red, Yukon and blue potatoes and fresh rosemary from the garden. Love this recipe! Added to my Best of 2011 list! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2014

      I made these for the second time yesterday and they were very good both times. I used a glass to smash them, added the olive oil and seasoning, and then used parchment paper. They were nice and crispy. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2011

      Great flavor--sort of a cross between roasted and mashed potatoes. These are nice with a little stew spooned over them. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2011

      I make potaoes like this fairly often & they are SOOOOOOOOOOO good!!!!! i use olive oil on the ones for my wife & butter on mine!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2011

      These were fabulous! I used the little white new potatoes and they were creamy and sweet and ohhh sooo good. After washing them I patted them dry and then tossed them with some olive oil, pepper, sea salt, onion powder, and garlic powder and baked them at 400 on a stone baking sheet for about 45 minutes. When I took them out I rolled them over and then squashed them and brushed on some more olive oil mixed with about 1 T of melted butter and sprinkled them with a touch of the seasonings then baked them for about another 20 minutes. I am already trying to figure out where I can squeeze them into this week's menu. (23)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2011

      I found a one lb. bag of what were called "Teeny Tiny Potatoes" at Trader Joe's and I wanted to do something cool with them. I found this recipe by looking at recipes containing the ingredient "Baby potatoes". I loved the easy prep of this recipe and they turned out delicious, but a little dry. I think my potatoes may have been a little too tiny for this, but I will make this again with real baby or new potatoes. (I used a McCormick Italian seasoning grinder for the herbs.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2010

      What's not to like, quick and easy to prepare and great taste. I think next time I'd like to use red potatoes but the white is what I had on hand. I used both the thyme and rosemary (forgot to crush the rosemary) and it was great. Used the microwave and it was fine.
      Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2010

      This is a simple yet delicious way to cook potatoes. The whole family enjoyed them. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2010

      Yum! Try these with Cavenders' Greek Seasoning- awesome! I baked mine on parchment paper, which helps them crisp-up really well. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

      I've been making these since September since another reviewer posted them in the 'What's for Dinner thread'. I apologise in the delay in reviewing them. I thought I had. Opps. Excellent, easy and versatile. What more could you ask for? I generally use mini Yukon Golds but they are great with Red potatoes too. Thanks so much for sharing this gem.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2010

      ***** Hope I'm not using up too much of Zaar's star supply. Made for Alphabet Soup Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2009

      I made these with yukon gold potatoes, the creamy texture pairs nicely with the crunchy oven baked skin...yum..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2009

      This reminds me of the Portuguese Smashed Potatoes that my sister-in-law served us on our last trip to Portugal. My husband loves potatoes so I am always looking for good recipes for him. Thank You!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2009

      These potatoes were a real hit. Everyone loved them. I had the oven at 400F and watched them closely for fear of burning but there was no problem. Great recipe. Thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      We thought these were fabulous and will make them often. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2009

      It was easier to smash these babies than I thought it would be (used the bottom of a can). Easy to make, but mine never really crisped up and I gave them the whole allotted time....nevertheless, red potatoes are so tasty anyways that a little oil and sea salt makes them fantastic either way. We all agreed it would be neat to play with the spices depending on what you're serving them with too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2009

      These are great,Ninna! I made them last night to go with a marinated strip steak- DH said I could make these "any time", the ultimate compliment from him! I rubbed the olive oil over the whole potato ( after boiling and cooling), smashed them and seasoned with only kosher salt and freshly ground pepper and baked for 20-25 minutes at 400* F. The next time I'll experiment with some herbs. Thanks for posting this- it's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crash Hot Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (685 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 499.3
     
    Calories from Fat 36
    31%
    Total Fat 4.0 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 690.2 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 106.9 g
    35%
    Dietary Fiber 16.3 g
    65%
    Sugars 7.8 g
    31%
    Protein 11.4 g
    22%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites