Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cranberry Wild Rice Pilaf Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cranberry Wild Rice Pilaf

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on January 13, 2003

      What a GREAT recipe. Perfect accompaniment to a wintry meal; earthy, nutty, spicy with a hint of sweetness from the fruit. Made it for a dinner party last night and my guests fought for the leftovers. Prepared it a little in advance so I wouldn't be stressed once guests arrived and blended the two rices with the pine nuts at the last minute. Actually tasted better after the flavors had a chance to incorporate a little.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2010

      A good recipe even though it was a little too sweet for me. I, too, made only half a recipe and had lots of leftovers I used less water as suggested by a reviewer and was glad I did. I think next time I would omit the raisins to cut the sweetness and use lemon zest instead of orange. I substituted pumpkin seeds for the pine nuts and think I might add some other nuts as well another time. Thanks for the recipe, Sue Lau.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2009

      Good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2008

      Wonderful Sue! I am a real sucker for wild rice and this did not disappoint! I made HALF the amount listed, and we ate this with grilled salmon. We all loved the addition of the pine nuts - it added to the added texture. Photos to follow - made for ZWT4 - thanks! FT:-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2008

      This was delicious and had it with 2 chicken dishes. I didn't have just pine nuts so instead of picking them one by one from the mixed grain snack I had, I just added them all. It's composed of pine nuts, sunflower seeds. sesame, squash, peas,corn,barley,oat and some that I could hardly identify. Boy, they sure made this tastier! Made this for WZT4. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2008

      Loved it - anyone who enjoys wild rice would love this one. Scaled this down and know come holiday time this will be on the menu. Wish I had made more!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2008

      This was a heavenly mixture of flavors. We loved the orange zest tones, and always love wild rice. So many flavors and textures! Wonderful! ZWT4. We'll make this again! Thanks Sue

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2007

      I thought this was a good combination of flavors, though it's really not the taste that I like. I used half of the allspice and I thought it was too sweet along with the zest. I didn't have cardamon. The pine nuts tasted good and so did the craisins/raisins. I took the advice of Pattikay in regard to the amount of liquid. I can't imagine that the 9 cups plus the water would be the right amount. All in all, it was a unique way to make a wild rice pilaf. Just not my taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2007

      I didn't have any wild rice so I used all long grain rice instead. I read the recipe many times but I couldn't figure out the liquid measurements so I cooked the rice as normal. Then in a separate pan, I stir-fried the onions with the rest of the seasonings. After the rice was done, I then add the seasonings to the rice then tossed them together. The flavor is great and was delicious with my baked chicken. Thank you for your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2006

      This was pretty and very popular at Thanksgiving - the hostess wanted the recipe. I used black raisins instead of golden just because I like them better. Like another reviewer, I was confused as to the amount of liquid called for to cook the wild rice - I made the full recipe, but used 2 cups of broth and 2 cups of water for the wild rice and then for the white rice and other stuff, I used 2 cups of broth and about 1 1/2 cups water (but I also only used one large onion). It turned out great. This also worked well after Thanksgiving with some chopped up leftover turkey and a bit of cornstarch-thickened stock added. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2006

      I was surprised how good this dish is. I did change somethings, but I think if you followed the recipe to the letter, it would still be awsome. My Changes: Chicken broth, instead of vegtable. 1/2 the recipe (It makes allot) Supper market didn't have wild rice, so I used a mix of long grain & wild rice. Didn't take as long to cook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2006

      My grocery was out of wild rice when I shopped for ingredients for this dish. I substituted a wild and long grain mix for rices, ditched the seasoning mix that came in the box and used the vegetable broth in amount called for on the rice box. Rave reviews from family! Yes, it made a lot, but I had no problem moving the leftovers. We had it as a side with a pork roast and leftover as part of a meatless meal. I'm making it straight from the recipe for a potluck tomorrow. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2005

      We loved the mildly aromatic and subtle sweet and sour flavors of the rice. I was confused about the breakdown in use of liquid, so I only used three cups of broth for the wild rice and had to simmer it for 50 minutes and cooked the basmati (white) rice and other stuff in 1-3/4 cups and it turned out perfect. I also decided to cut the recipe in half, and it stillmade more than enough for 6 people!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cranberry Wild Rice Pilaf

    Serving Size: 1 (134 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 455.5
     
    Calories from Fat 111
    24%
    Total Fat 12.4 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 4.2 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 15.2 mg
    5%
    Sodium 49.1 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 81.6 g
    27%
    Dietary Fiber 4.9 g
    19%
    Sugars 23.9 g
    95%
    Protein 8.7 g
    17%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable broth

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites