13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

What a GREAT recipe. Perfect accompaniment to a wintry meal; earthy, nutty, spicy with a hint of sweetness from the fruit. Made it for a dinner party last night and my guests fought for the leftovers. Prepared it a little in advance so I wouldn't be stressed once guests arrived and blended the two rices with the pine nuts at the last minute. Actually tasted better after the flavors had a chance to incorporate a little.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pedro Porro January 13, 2003

A good recipe even though it was a little too sweet for me. I, too, made only half a recipe and had lots of leftovers I used less water as suggested by a reviewer and was glad I did. I think next time I would omit the raisins to cut the sweetness and use lemon zest instead of orange. I substituted pumpkin seeds for the pine nuts and think I might add some other nuts as well another time. Thanks for the recipe, Sue Lau.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Omm December 29, 2010

Good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FriskyKitty May 02, 2009

Wonderful Sue! I am a real sucker for wild rice and this did not disappoint! I made HALF the amount listed, and we ate this with grilled salmon. We all loved the addition of the pine nuts - it added to the added texture. Photos to follow - made for ZWT4 - thanks! FT:-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
French Tart July 01, 2008

This was delicious and had it with 2 chicken dishes. I didn't have just pine nuts so instead of picking them one by one from the mixed grain snack I had, I just added them all. It's composed of pine nuts, sunflower seeds. sesame, squash, peas,corn,barley,oat and some that I could hardly identify. Boy, they sure made this tastier! Made this for WZT4. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pneuma June 30, 2008

Loved it - anyone who enjoys wild rice would love this one. Scaled this down and know come holiday time this will be on the menu. Wish I had made more!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gerry June 27, 2008

This was a heavenly mixture of flavors. We loved the orange zest tones, and always love wild rice. So many flavors and textures! Wonderful! ZWT4. We'll make this again! Thanks Sue

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef PotPie June 24, 2008

I thought this was a good combination of flavors, though it's really not the taste that I like. I used half of the allspice and I thought it was too sweet along with the zest. I didn't have cardamon. The pine nuts tasted good and so did the craisins/raisins. I took the advice of Pattikay in regard to the amount of liquid. I can't imagine that the 9 cups plus the water would be the right amount. All in all, it was a unique way to make a wild rice pilaf. Just not my taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KadesMom December 28, 2007

I didn't have any wild rice so I used all long grain rice instead. I read the recipe many times but I couldn't figure out the liquid measurements so I cooked the rice as normal. Then in a separate pan, I stir-fried the onions with the rest of the seasonings. After the rice was done, I then add the seasonings to the rice then tossed them together. The flavor is great and was delicious with my baked chicken. Thank you for your recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YungB May 02, 2007

This was pretty and very popular at Thanksgiving - the hostess wanted the recipe. I used black raisins instead of golden just because I like them better. Like another reviewer, I was confused as to the amount of liquid called for to cook the wild rice - I made the full recipe, but used 2 cups of broth and 2 cups of water for the wild rice and then for the white rice and other stuff, I used 2 cups of broth and about 1 1/2 cups water (but I also only used one large onion). It turned out great. This also worked well after Thanksgiving with some chopped up leftover turkey and a bit of cornstarch-thickened stock added. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pattikay in L.A. November 27, 2006
Cranberry Wild Rice Pilaf