8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was AWESOME!! I steamed the squash in the microwave for 10 minutes while the cranberries cooked. Mine thickened without using any corn starch. For a little extra flair I drizzled a little dab of honey over the top just before serving. Sooo very, very good! Served with roasted split chicken breasts. Supper on the table in under an hour!! PERFECT week night fare and fancy enough for company! Thanks for posting!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CindiJ November 15, 2012

This was absolutely FANTASTIC! My first time trying Acorn Squash. My hubby and myself LOVED..LOVED..LOVED it! We had leftovers the next day and it was even better after all the flavors mingled.. OMGsh! I can't say enough about this dish! The only changes I made was to use splenda instead of the sugar, pecans for the walnuts and then at the end baking step, a sprinkle of Splenda Brown Sugar Blend over the top.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rush_0 December 05, 2011

For some reason I can't post stars, but I give this 5!! It is a delicious dish with sooo much flavor~~yum! Made mine on the stove/oven and it turned out great. My hubby is not a big squash fan, but he likes it this way! Thanks so much for sharing! :O)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SPrins November 15, 2011

Outstanding! I love that its a super flavorful low-fat filling for squash - I halved the recipe and used one buttercup squash. The cloves and nutmeg give the filling just the right amount of spice and the cornstarch thickens it just a little bit. I made mine in a 1200 watt microwave and cooked for 10 minutes, then added the filling (which I did on the stove, while the squash was baking) and heated for one more minute - perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI October 28, 2008

Outstanding!! I used half sugar and half splenda and left out the nuts since my daughter doesn't like them. The family has never finished off squash like they did with this recipe - usually they just take a taste and I'm the only one really enjoying it! Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elisa72 October 16, 2007

Loved the cranberry mixture with the squash. Better then all the butter and br. sugar that I use to put on it. That is why I stopped eating the squash. I also found that you either need to cut the mixture by half or use 2 squash. I think I'd like to try the Splenda that PaulaG used next time I make this. Made for 1-2-3 Hit Wonders game 2007

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J April 01, 2007

Excellent recipe. My squash were, apparently, even smaller than Paula's because I made a third of the stuffing and it was great. I too used splenda, and I subbed fresh squeezed orange juice for the apple. I used the microwave method and found it fast, easy, and oh so tasty. I thought I had walnuts or at least pecans. But, upon further inspection, found only pine nuts and sliced almonds. I went with the almonds. As I figure the nuts are mostly there to give it a little crunch, it worked fine. I also liked the sprinkling of white on top of the red and yellow. Great recipe. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladypit January 26, 2007

I measured out the cranberries called for, looked at my squash and made the decision to reduce the cranberry mixture by half. That was perfect for the size of squash I had. I used Splenda for the sugar and pecans instead of walnuts. This dish would be excellent served at Thanksgiving.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG January 16, 2007
Cranberry Stuffed Acorn Squash