105 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Absolutely amazing recipe. We ate part of one one day, and the next day it was still as fresh as the first. The other one I froze, and two weeks later....you'd have thought I'd just made it. By far the best scone recipe I've ever had. Hmmmm, I have some blueberries in the freezer too!!! Thanks for a terrific recipe. *UPDATE:* Dec 4/08 - Because I love these scones so much, I decided to share it with some friends in the form of a gift jar. First I mixed the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and sugar together. Then in a separate bowl mixed *dried* cranberries and the orange zest. I put half the fruit into the bottom of a 3 cup capacity glass preserving jar. Then added the dry mix. You will need to add this in batches, tapping down with the bottom of a glass to pack it tight. Then add the remaining dried cranberries and zest. Seal the jar and decorate. Don't forget to write the instructions out to attach to the jar.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana #2 December 04, 2008

This is a wonderful recipe. The scones turn out so light and moist. I can see how it would be perfect for Christmas morning. I made them this morning for breakfast and the smell of the orange and cranberry made me think of Christmas.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelli Millard October 27, 2002

I love this recipe. I had dried cherries on hand so I eliminated the orange rind and used the cherries. It was great. You could probably use any kind of dried fruit to change the pace of this classic.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen February 20, 2002

i made this for christmas eve dinner. people seemed to like them. no leftovers.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Milla December 31, 2001

Delicious! I made these for work party and people liked them. Very moist. Does that make that not scone-like? If so, it's good. I used dried cranberries because that's what I had on hand. Probably would have been better with fresh, but still good. Had with lemon curd and clotted cream (or rather, what tried really hard to be clotted cream).

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cleoppa August 03, 2010

Recently, I had the pleasure of meeting Diana #2 and her DH. Diana served coffee and your delicious scones!! Needless to say, between four of us, we managed to eat the eight wedges!!! A great tasting scone, love the orange flavour with the dried cranberries!! A perfect scone!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elly in Canada May 28, 2010

These scones are amazing. I've used the recipie as a base to experiment and so far my family favorites are blueberries with lemon zest, and dried cherries with chocolate chips. Any time my family has a brunch or goes camping these are requested by everyone!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarabbismama September 04, 2008

I did use the buttermilk when making these scones, as well as the zest from a large navel orange! Also used some of the frozen cranberries that I have from last winter! All for a very nice tasting scone treat! Absolutely love the combo of orange & cranberry! Many thanks for sharing this great recipe! [Made & reviewed in I Recommend recipe tag]

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike August 24, 2011

You have to make these! If you are thinking of making these just go do it - you won't be disappointed! I love cranberries so I doubled the cranberries and didn't chop them. After I brushed them with butter I topped them with regular sugar and it gave them a nice crunch. They were so amazing that we couldn't stop eating them.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
partysweets May 11, 2013
Cranberry Scones