13 Reviews

This is a wonderful stuffing full of flavors we love - I halved the recipe and left out the sausage only because I forgot to add it to my shopping list - and if it doesn't get put on my list you can bet I'll forget it! I have made similar stuffing before with the sausage and know it would have only made it better! I served it with Cranberry Barbecue Chicken - Crock Pot and haven't cooked for a week, so this home-cooked meal was definitely welcomed and enjoyed by my hungry bunch! Made and reviewed for Bev. Tag - March 2008.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet Diva March 18, 2008

This is probably the best stuffing I have ever made. I have made similar stuffing recipes, but never with the sage sausage and eggs. I was a little leery, about adding sausage,and the 2 eggs, but it really made the recipe!<br/>There are a couple of tweaks, would make: <br/>I would cook it at 400, not 425, it was a little overdone on the bottom corners,edges.<br/>Also, my Mrs. Cubbison's box of stuffing, was only 10 oz., and the recipe calls for 16 oz stuffing mix, so I added a 6 oz box of stove top stuffing mix,(my husband and I actually love stove top stuffing, so we got the best of both worlds with this substitution), and the flavors in this stuffing were the bomb!!!!<br/>I ate more stuffing this Thanksgiving than I have probably eaten in my whole life!!! I HATED stuffing as a kid. If my mom and grandma had made it like this recipe, I would have LOVED stuffing as a kid!!!<br/>Just give me a bowl with this stuffing, and cranberry sauce on the side, and I am a HAPPY HAPPY girl!!!!<br/>BTW, my husband, who didn't think he would like it because of the sausage...LOVED IT too!!!<br/><br/>Thank you for this great recipe SweetsLady! This will be our Holiday stuffing recipe forever!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lindaroseoriginals December 03, 2013

Being from Texas, we like cornbread dressing, so I substituted the leftover cornbread that I had saved for half of the seasoned stuffing mix + 1 Tbsp. poultry seasoning. Had to add more broth to help moisten the cornbread, but other than that I followed the recipe exactly. This is my new favorite dressing recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TexasGal #2 December 02, 2013

Jimmy Dean sells sage sausgage in a lot super markets. I hope this helps for looking for a sage sausage.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
c190122 November 08, 2012

Terrific. I have to admit that I tweaked it a lot, but I think the essential stuffing was there. (Normally I don't rate things if I've tweaked it a lot, because I'm not using your recipe -- but this was so good I wanted to give you credit for it.) I had a 12-oz. box of Trader Joe's cornbread stuffing; I used Trader Joe's stuffing starter (a 24-oz tub of pre-diced and herbed onions and celery). I used only 1 apple, 2 links hot Italian sausage, and 4 oz. of dried cranberries; for broth I used Penzey's turkey broth starter. I added a tablespoon of Penzey's sage to make sure the sage flavoring came through. See? Not exactly your recipe -- but it's the best I could do with what I had on hand ... next time I'll make yours exactly as written. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KLHquilts November 25, 2010

This was a huge hit for our Thanksgiving dinner. The apples came through wonderfully. I didn't find any sage sausage so just used an italian mild sausage. And my stuffing mix was only 12oz but it did the job. Very flavorful and satisfying!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OCMom1 November 27, 2009

Great recipe. I only had half the called for "stuffing mix," so I used some large whole wheat breadcrumbs and added seasonings to make my own. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogiclarebear October 17, 2009

Such a great recipe, although I'll admit I took liberties with it! I used Syd's Very Own Raisin Dressing for the stuffing, substituting dried cranberries for the raisins in that recipe! I used 3 apples instead of the 4, & for meat I used a combo of mild & sweet Italian sausage! I stirred in the eggs & baked the dish as per SweetsLady, & had a GREAT meal of it all! Thanks for posting this recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed for Cupid's Choice Beverage Tag]

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike February 12, 2008

Delicious! DH said it was 5 stars for sure. Since my oven was out I had a few difficulties completing the tag. I ended up leaving out the eggs since I wasn't certain they'd get fully cooked doing it on the grill (and I did have to microwave the center to finish cooking the cranberries), and I cooked link sausages on top instead of mixing in bulk sausage to better meet the needs of my diabetic DH's carb restrictions. Adding the eggs could only make it richer and more delicious. Another time I'll try this in stuffed pork chops. I think it would be just the thing for making meats that are inclined to be dry, like boneless pork loin and turkey breasts, stay juicy and delicious.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
3KillerBs December 06, 2007

This stuffing was good but not fabulous. Mine turned out quite flavorless and I was disappointed. I've made similar stuffings in the past and they were wonderful so I'm not really sure what went wrong with this one. I'm willing to bet it had something to do with my ingredients rather than the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Krista Smith November 27, 2009
Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing