Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    How-To: Tackle Turkey Intimidation
    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    Apple, Pumpkin & Pecan Pie: Oh My!
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on March 18, 2008

      This is a wonderful stuffing full of flavors we love - I halved the recipe and left out the sausage only because I forgot to add it to my shopping list - and if it doesn't get put on my list you can bet I'll forget it! I have made similar stuffing before with the sausage and know it would have only made it better! I served it with Cranberry Barbecue Chicken - Crock Pot and haven't cooked for a week, so this home-cooked meal was definitely welcomed and enjoyed by my hungry bunch! Made and reviewed for Bev. Tag - March 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2013

      This is probably the best stuffing I have ever made. I have made similar stuffing recipes, but never with the sage sausage and eggs. I was a little leery, about adding sausage,and the 2 eggs, but it really made the recipe!<br/>There are a couple of tweaks, would make: <br/>I would cook it at 400, not 425, it was a little overdone on the bottom corners,edges.<br/>Also, my Mrs. Cubbison's box of stuffing, was only 10 oz., and the recipe calls for 16 oz stuffing mix, so I added a 6 oz box of stove top stuffing mix,(my husband and I actually love stove top stuffing, so we got the best of both worlds with this substitution), and the flavors in this stuffing were the bomb!!!!<br/>I ate more stuffing this Thanksgiving than I have probably eaten in my whole life!!! I HATED stuffing as a kid. If my mom and grandma had made it like this recipe, I would have LOVED stuffing as a kid!!!<br/>Just give me a bowl with this stuffing, and cranberry sauce on the side, and I am a HAPPY HAPPY girl!!!!<br/>BTW, my husband, who didn't think he would like it because of the sausage...LOVED IT too!!!<br/><br/>Thank you for this great recipe SweetsLady! This will be our Holiday stuffing recipe forever!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2013

      Being from Texas, we like cornbread dressing, so I substituted the leftover cornbread that I had saved for half of the seasoned stuffing mix + 1 Tbsp. poultry seasoning. Had to add more broth to help moisten the cornbread, but other than that I followed the recipe exactly. This is my new favorite dressing recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2012

      Jimmy Dean sells sage sausgage in a lot super markets. I hope this helps for looking for a sage sausage.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2010

      Terrific. I have to admit that I tweaked it a lot, but I think the essential stuffing was there. (Normally I don't rate things if I've tweaked it a lot, because I'm not using your recipe -- but this was so good I wanted to give you credit for it.) I had a 12-oz. box of Trader Joe's cornbread stuffing; I used Trader Joe's stuffing starter (a 24-oz tub of pre-diced and herbed onions and celery). I used only 1 apple, 2 links hot Italian sausage, and 4 oz. of dried cranberries; for broth I used Penzey's turkey broth starter. I added a tablespoon of Penzey's sage to make sure the sage flavoring came through. See? Not exactly your recipe -- but it's the best I could do with what I had on hand ... next time I'll make yours exactly as written. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      This was a huge hit for our Thanksgiving dinner. The apples came through wonderfully. I didn't find any sage sausage so just used an italian mild sausage. And my stuffing mix was only 12oz but it did the job. Very flavorful and satisfying!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2009

      Great recipe. I only had half the called for "stuffing mix," so I used some large whole wheat breadcrumbs and added seasonings to make my own. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      Such a great recipe, although I'll admit I took liberties with it! I used Syd's Very Own Raisin Dressing for the stuffing, substituting dried cranberries for the raisins in that recipe! I used 3 apples instead of the 4, & for meat I used a combo of mild & sweet Italian sausage! I stirred in the eggs & baked the dish as per SweetsLady, & had a GREAT meal of it all! Thanks for posting this recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed for Cupid's Choice Beverage Tag]

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2007

      Delicious! DH said it was 5 stars for sure. Since my oven was out I had a few difficulties completing the tag. I ended up leaving out the eggs since I wasn't certain they'd get fully cooked doing it on the grill (and I did have to microwave the center to finish cooking the cranberries), and I cooked link sausages on top instead of mixing in bulk sausage to better meet the needs of my diabetic DH's carb restrictions. Adding the eggs could only make it richer and more delicious. Another time I'll try this in stuffed pork chops. I think it would be just the thing for making meats that are inclined to be dry, like boneless pork loin and turkey breasts, stay juicy and delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      This stuffing was good but not fabulous. Mine turned out quite flavorless and I was disappointed. I've made similar stuffings in the past and they were wonderful so I'm not really sure what went wrong with this one. I'm willing to bet it had something to do with my ingredients rather than the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2008

      I made this for my nephew and I for lunch today and we really enjoyed it. We did not have sage sausage, so I added sage seasoning to the dish. Thanks for a great recipe. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      This turned out so good I made it with Cajun Turkey for Thanksgiving. I also omitted the salt an replaced with chicken broth! My family loved it this is an outstanding recipe.I will definatley make it again. I used Jimmy Deans breakfast sausage and added a little sage.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2007

      This was very good! Made it for brunch and the cranberries, apple and sausage combination were just perfect. I omitted the salt and replaced 1/3 of the broth with cream. Thanks SweetsLady!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

    Serving Size: 1 (186 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 251.8
     
    Calories from Fat 74
    29%
    Total Fat 8.3 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 4.3 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 46.6 mg
    15%
    Sodium 860.7 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.6 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 8.7 g
    35%
    Protein 6.8 g
    13%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sage sausage

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes