64 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My family LOVES this recipe. I found it a couple of years ago and now we refuse to use anything else. We use sugar and everything else stays the same. Here is a tip for anyone who has not figured it out (this may be in other reviews, I didn't check): if you let it boil for close to 30 minutes or so instead of the 10, as it cools it will gel up like the canned kind. Thats how we prefer ours so that it doesn't run everywhere. Thanks Joanne! Happy eating!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cilusmc November 18, 2011

This is great! Definitely a step above. I used the ground ginger but only used half of what was called for so that the ginger would add to the flavor without really noticing it. My only complaint is that it tasted more like jelly/jam (like what you would eat with peanut butter)- it was so darn sweet! Like the sugar totally killed the slight tartness which I like. Next time, I'll make with 1/2 or 1/4 less of the sugar. I think the sugar and spices overpowered the cranberries, so if you like the tartness, just cut the spices down, but don't eliminate them. The flavor- excellent!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
discriminating tastes... November 26, 2009

This is a fantastic recipe. As a couple of reviewers mentioned, it is a bit on the sweet side. Next time I make it I will cut back a touch on the sugar. Otherwise, Excellent! Thank you.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PACE November 24, 2010

Awesome kick! The only thing I'd do differently is put a little less sugar and cinnamon. Thanks for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
strawberry November 19, 2010

This is "over-the-top" SCRUMPTIOUS!!! My family had this at my friend Mary's house 2 years ago and I was blown away. She added the pulp of 1 orange which gave it an additional texture and citrus burst. I love spicy foods: the more flavor the better. The fresh ginger, clove and orange juice make this cranberry sauce a whole new experience! After reading all the reviews and variations, I'll be trying it with a little Southern Comfort, trying it on a turkey sandwich, on a wheel of brie or even used as a chutney on top of cheese spread...and it's good just by itself in a bowl with a spoon! YUM! Thanks for sharing! ;)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SouthernBeau November 14, 2012

This is probably the best cranberry sauce I have ever tasted. I reduced the sugar to 1 1/2 cups and used frozen cranberries because fresh weren't available. The bag I used had approx 5 cups rather than 4. I didn't thaw them, just used them frozen, brought them to a boil, then simmered for 20 minutes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
4sweeper April 07, 2012

Wonderful recipe! I reduced the sugar and ginger slightly per my preference and added a Tbsp of port. I also let the sauce simmer on low heat for about half an hour to achieve a thicker jam/jelly like consistency. Tones of tart, sweet and fragrant spices - very yummy indeed. Thank you for a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shazzie December 23, 2014

I've been making this for about 3 years now, and it is a specifically requested Thanksgiving/Christmas requirement now!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
slkientzler November 26, 2014

I made this much easier than the recipe sounds. I combined everything, including ground ginger which I substituted for the slices. I cooked it closer to 20-30 min, using a Pampered Chef potato masher to squash the cranberries once they'd opened. I stirred often. Took it off the heat, let it cool for about 15 min, then popped it into a bowl, covered it, and into the fridge it went. I really just wanted to grab a spoon and eat it for a late night snack.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chemonurse93 November 26, 2014

Oh, so delicious! I threw it a couple of tablespoons of orange liqueur, but otherwise, didn't change a thing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
La Dilettante October 26, 2014
Cranberry Sauce