Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cranberry Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cranberry Sauce

    Average Rating:

    61 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 61

    Sort by:

    • on November 18, 2011

      My family LOVES this recipe. I found it a couple of years ago and now we refuse to use anything else. We use sugar and everything else stays the same. Here is a tip for anyone who has not figured it out (this may be in other reviews, I didn't check): if you let it boil for close to 30 minutes or so instead of the 10, as it cools it will gel up like the canned kind. Thats how we prefer ours so that it doesn't run everywhere. Thanks Joanne! Happy eating!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2009

      This is great! Definitely a step above. I used the ground ginger but only used half of what was called for so that the ginger would add to the flavor without really noticing it. My only complaint is that it tasted more like jelly/jam (like what you would eat with peanut butter)- it was so darn sweet! Like the sugar totally killed the slight tartness which I like. Next time, I'll make with 1/2 or 1/4 less of the sugar. I think the sugar and spices overpowered the cranberries, so if you like the tartness, just cut the spices down, but don't eliminate them. The flavor- excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2010

      This is a fantastic recipe. As a couple of reviewers mentioned, it is a bit on the sweet side. Next time I make it I will cut back a touch on the sugar. Otherwise, Excellent! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2010

      Awesome kick! The only thing I'd do differently is put a little less sugar and cinnamon. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2012

      This is "over-the-top" SCRUMPTIOUS!!! My family had this at my friend Mary's house 2 years ago and I was blown away. She added the pulp of 1 orange which gave it an additional texture and citrus burst. I love spicy foods: the more flavor the better. The fresh ginger, clove and orange juice make this cranberry sauce a whole new experience! After reading all the reviews and variations, I'll be trying it with a little Southern Comfort, trying it on a turkey sandwich, on a wheel of brie or even used as a chutney on top of cheese spread...and it's good just by itself in a bowl with a spoon! YUM! Thanks for sharing! ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2012

      This is probably the best cranberry sauce I have ever tasted. I reduced the sugar to 1 1/2 cups and used frozen cranberries because fresh weren't available. The bag I used had approx 5 cups rather than 4. I didn't thaw them, just used them frozen, brought them to a boil, then simmered for 20 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2011

      I've been making this for about 3 years now, and it is a specifically requested Thanksgiving/Christmas requirement now!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2011

      This was def a hit. I stick pretty much to the recipe except I added 8 tbsp of OJ and 4 tbsp of water. Def will make this for thanksgiving again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2011

      Just made this for dinner tomorrow night. A nice change as the spices add oomph to what would otherwise be just an ordinary cranberry sauce. It sure tastes great now, I can only imagine that it will be even better for tomorrows Thanksgiving dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2011

      Oh yum! This is wonderful! I made this two days before Thanksgiving to give it time for the flavors to meld, as other reviews suggested. If this gets any better, I just may not share! Thank you Joanne Bryant!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2011

      This is an amazing recipe... I have made it a number of times already and I play around with the ingredients... Sometimes I add a little lime zest to it if I am gonna serve it with pork..... I wish I could get cranberries year rounds so I could make it more often.... It is FANTASTIC !!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2011

      This is delicious! I used a bit more ginger than the recipe suggested (added an extra inch, since I didn't have anything else to do with it).

      I would also cut the sugar down somewhat - it is delicious as a snack, but a bit too sweet for a cranberry sauce. Will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2010

      5 Stars! The previous 50 reviews said it all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2010

      Cutting back on the Splenda was good advice, but this is still very sweet. It comes across almost dessert-like. My bag of cranberries yielded only 3 cups, so I cut the Splenda to 1 cup and fluids in half hoping I'd end up with a thick enough finished product. I also cut the spices to less than half because it just seemed too apple pie-like, and added a few cranks of freshly ground black pepper. Overall, this is a definite improvement over the plain water & sugar method and a real treat for the diabetic cranberry lover in the family. We'll make this again and just keep the sweet additives to a minimum, maybe adding a bit more ginger for kick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2010

      Delicious!!!!! We all loved this wonderful change to our normal plain cranberry sauce. Will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2010

      Wonderful! I even misread the direx and added the spices too soon, and it still turned out great. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2009

      I have never tried freshly made cranberries. I am one of those ppl that always bought it in the can. I was having DH's family for Christmas and I wanted to try this but didn't know how well recieved it would be so I made one batch of this and bought two cans. Well, I should have tripled this recipe as now I am stuck with two cans of cranberries that I no longer want....lol. We all loved the cranberries so much my SIL was practicaly licking the bowl clean....lol. Thank you so much for sharing this with me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2009

      What can I say - agree with all the other reviews - I am not a big fan traditionally of cranberry sauce, but this was wonderful!!! It smelled as good as it tasted, and our whole family loved it. Thank you so much for sharing - this will become a new traditional favorite...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2009

      What an excellent recipe. Had used the plain ole' water and sugar variety before, but this was outta this world! Its fun to zest the orange because the aroma really fills the kitchen! This put me in the holiday spirit. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2009

      Wow, this is a fantastic cranberry sauce! I made a double batch and canned it so that I could have some for Thanksgiving and some to send out for holiday gifts. :) I used Xylitol, another artificial sweetener.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cranberry Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (697 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 207.0
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    26%
    Total Fat 0.2 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 198.1 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 55.3 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 6.7 g
    27%
    Sugars 38.7 g
    155%
    Protein 0.7 g
    1%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh ginger

    oranges, zest of

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites