159 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We did a variety of cranberry sauce recipes in preparation for Thanksgiving and this was one of our selections. It was super easy to make, almost easier than prying the jellied kind out of the can, lol. It was very tart, though, even using half OJ and half water as many previous reviewers suggested. I made a second batch and decreased the OJ even more and added extra sugar, then combined the two batches to even it all out. This is a great basis for an easy cranberry sauce - thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
winkki November 22, 2006

So good...I made this last Christmas and followed the recipe exactly. I have tried many others, but this one is a keeper.Up until now I was the only one in our house to eat cranberry sauce. Not anymore. Next time I will try 1/2 orange juice and 1/2 water as others suggested. Try this in a turkey sandwich with stuffing. Yum.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim~In~Canada November 16, 2006

This is an excellent recipe. The only thing I did differently is to mash up the cranberries a little more (my preference). Also I just used a high quality orange juice from the grocery store. This is way easier than I thought it would be. You have to try this recipe for your next holiday. It is good enough to eat by itself!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carah'sMama September 16, 2006

This was wonderful. I had no idea it could be so easy to make my own cranberry sauce instead of eating the canned stuff. Everyone enjoyed it, and I followed the recipe exactly as stated. I used 1/2 water and 1/2 oj after reading the other reviews, and it came out perfectly. Also, it really would be better to make it a day ahead of time, so it can sit and the flavors can absorb into each other. Thanks for posting, it made a great addition to our thanksgiving dinner!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TexasKelly November 28, 2005

Excellent...this is my recipe as well(a little less sugar for me)Couldn't be easier and beats the canned stuff any day!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nomy Jackson November 26, 2002

This was my first time making cranberry sauce and it turned out wonderful. I just used the orange juice and loved the flavor!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
orangetoamber January 02, 2015

I have made it with 1/2 OJ and 1/2 water, 1/2 cup sugar and 1/2 cup stevia (to lower the calories a little bit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hgrubaugh_12700154 December 31, 2014

simple classic, with fresh squeezed OJ

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
metaluxltd December 16, 2014

This couldn't be more simple or delicious! Yum. At first when all the berries popped, it was still a bit runny for my liking... I simply boiled until it reached the jelly-like thickness that I prefer... There will never be canned cranberry sauce in this home again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
975468 November 26, 2014

When cranberries were sold in 1 lb. bags, the instructions on the bag said to use a cup of water and a cup of sugar. Now the berries come in a 12 oz. bag (3/4 of a lb.) but they still say to use a cup of water and a cup of sugar. This produces a runnier sauce. The sauce will gel better if you use 3/4 C water instead of a cup, and cook it a little longer. I also use less sugar (about 3/4 cup) for a slightly tart sauce.<br/>For a special taste treat, add a bag of dried pitted cherries! Oh yum! I buy extra cranberries when they are in season and freeze them so I can enjoy this on my peanut butter sandwiches in the summer! <br/>No need to cook the berries before freezing- just toss the unopened bag into the freezer. When ready to use, pick over them and toss out any that look shriveled or bruised.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fritofan W. November 14, 2014
Cranberry Sauce