Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    How-To: Tackle Turkey Intimidation
    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    Apple, Pumpkin & Pecan Pie: Oh My!
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cranberry Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cranberry Sauce

    Average Rating:

    155 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 155

    Sort by:

    • on November 29, 2009

      This was my first time making homemade cranberry sauce and let me tell after tasting this I felt like a ROCK STAR!!! This stuff is AWESOME!!! I added a generous dash of both cinnamon and ground ginger to it. My Dad who has in the past refused to eat whole berry sauce tasted this and said....WOW! High praise from him!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2009

      Delicious! I used Splenda. I will never buy cranberry sauce again, we really loved the tartness!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2009

      Fast and easy! I used water and frozen cranberries. It made a nice topping for turkey burgers. Thanks Karen, for posting. Roxygirl

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2008

      o.k. this is #83 but it needs to be said again. I made as written witten with a few add ins. i dbled and used 1 c oj & 1 c water. sprinkled in some cinnimon and squirted in some honey and added a splash of vinalla. i should note that we all shy away from "the canned stuff" but love the cran whatever juice. this was great. i am taking to dinner tom (thanksgiving) so i will update my review then.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2008

      This is the best cranberry sauce I've ever made.I used Splenda to make it but followed your recipe. It will be my new cranberry sauce.I is so good I will make it to serve as a dessert. It is Thanksgiving in Canada this weekend and I'm getting ready.Thanks so much for posting this one. rita

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2008

      Guests, took one look and said "This is the real deal huh" after tasting it, "Yup, real deal. This is great!" Was very quick and easy to make. Actually made a couple day ahead to let flavors merge. Might add some chopped walnuts next time. Updated: Added the walnuts this last time, my goodness was it good! Made it even better and will add them from now on.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2007

      Made this recipe for our Christmas Dinner - and my in-laws said that it is a keeper, no more stuff out of a can for the Holiday Dinner. I did add another 1/3 cup of sugar, to counter the orange juice a little (it was a little tart), and I did cook it for about another 15 minutes after all the berries popped - and that reduced the liquid a bit so it was not running all over the place and gave it more of a jelly like consistency . I loved it, and will be making it again next holiday. Thanks Karen for sharing this wonderful recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2007

      For our Thanksgiving dinners, someone would always bring the can of cranberry sauce. So when I made this for dinner, my mother in law said "why make it when you can pay 99 cents a can for it". Well I'll tell you why, this was fabulous. Everyone tried it and everyone loved it. Even my mother in law had to admit it was better than canned. And oh so easy to make. I plan on having this every year. Thanks Karen!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2007

      yum yum yum. Made this for Thanksgiving and it was so good! I used the suggestion of some other reviewers and used 1/2 cup water, 1/2 cup orange juice. It was deliciously sweet with a little extra tang. It was great on the turkey... and then the turkey sandwiches we had for leftovers the next few days. So much better than store bought!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2007

      I have been making this for the past 2 yrs now. This yr i made a bunch of it cause i got the bags for 99cents. I put it in jelly jars and put them in the freezer. This way i will have it for months to come. I will never buy the cans anymore. What i do is put it threw my food mill to get all the pulp out of it. It`s just like making jelly and boy is it ever good on biscuits.........Yummmmmmmm

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2006

      We did a variety of cranberry sauce recipes in preparation for Thanksgiving and this was one of our selections. It was super easy to make, almost easier than prying the jellied kind out of the can, lol. It was very tart, though, even using half OJ and half water as many previous reviewers suggested. I made a second batch and decreased the OJ even more and added extra sugar, then combined the two batches to even it all out. This is a great basis for an easy cranberry sauce - thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2006

      So good...I made this last Christmas and followed the recipe exactly. I have tried many others, but this one is a keeper.Up until now I was the only one in our house to eat cranberry sauce. Not anymore. Next time I will try 1/2 orange juice and 1/2 water as others suggested. Try this in a turkey sandwich with stuffing. Yum.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2006

      This is an excellent recipe. The only thing I did differently is to mash up the cranberries a little more (my preference). Also I just used a high quality orange juice from the grocery store. This is way easier than I thought it would be. You have to try this recipe for your next holiday. It is good enough to eat by itself!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2005

      This was wonderful. I had no idea it could be so easy to make my own cranberry sauce instead of eating the canned stuff. Everyone enjoyed it, and I followed the recipe exactly as stated. I used 1/2 water and 1/2 oj after reading the other reviews, and it came out perfectly. Also, it really would be better to make it a day ahead of time, so it can sit and the flavors can absorb into each other. Thanks for posting, it made a great addition to our thanksgiving dinner!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2002

      Excellent...this is my recipe as well(a little less sugar for me)Couldn't be easier and beats the canned stuff any day!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2014

      When cranberries were sold in 1 lb. bags, the instructions on the bag said to use a cup of water and a cup of sugar. Now the berries come in a 12 oz. bag (3/4 of a lb.) but they still say to use a cup of water and a cup of sugar. This produces a runnier sauce. The sauce will gel better if you use 3/4 C water instead of a cup, and cook it a little longer. I also use less sugar (about 3/4 cup) for a slightly tart sauce.<br/>For a special taste treat, add a bag of dried pitted cherries! Oh yum! I buy extra cranberries when they are in season and freeze them so I can enjoy this on my peanut butter sandwiches in the summer! <br/>No need to cook the berries before freezing- just toss the unopened bag into the freezer. When ready to use, pick over them and toss out any that look shriveled or bruised.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2014

      Forget the water; use 1 cup fresh-squeezed OJ, some zest, sub brown sugar for white, and toss in a bit of Grand Marnier or other orange liqueur for a truly special sauce! Basic recipe is really good, but tweakin' never hurt a thing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2014

      I made this for my mom for Christmas since she loves cranberry sauce. I used 1/2 cup orange juice and 1/2 cup water and she thpught it was great. It set up perfectly and was very easy to make. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2013

      Better than any store-bought cranberry sauce, and just about as easy! Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2013

      Good simple cranberry sauce. The orange juice adds a lot of flavor and shouldn't be skipped. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cranberry Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (138 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 265.5
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    47%
    Total Fat 0.2 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 3.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 68.1 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 4.5 g
    18%
    Sugars 58.9 g
    235%
    Protein 0.8 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites