Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    Fabulously Easy Feast Starters
    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    The Kids' Table = The Place To Be
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cranberry Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cranberry Sauce

    Average Rating:

    157 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 157

    Sort by:

    • on December 27, 2002

      I made this for Xmas (doubled it) and it was almost perfect! For some reason it did not "jell" up as much as I had hoped and it was a little too tart, maybe from the OJ. I did buy very good OJ for it. I will never buy canned sauce ever again. This was simple, fun to make and could be made well in advance. My kids really liked watching the berries pop. I'll make this any time I need cranberry sauce, but I'll do the 1/2 water 1/2 OJ and add maybe a tablespoon more of sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2011

      This was the best tasting cranberry sauce I have ever tasted, a perfect blending of flavors and it tastes even better the next day. The recipe makes approximately 2 and 1/4 cups of sauce. I used 1/2 cup 100% purely squeezed orange juice from concentrate (Minute Maid brand) and 1/2 cup water. If flavor is important to you, use a high quality brand of orange juice. After the Christmas holiday, I bought extra bags of cranberries (at a reduced price) to freeze so my family could have repeats of this fabulous sauce during the winter months. (To Freeze: Just wrap the bag of cranberries in heavy-duty aluminum foil; place foil packet in a large plastic freezer bag and put in freezer. DO NOT WASH berries before freezing. When ready to use, rinse with cold water and drain. DO NOT THAW. Cranberries may be frozen for up to 1 year. Thanks for sharing the recipe, Karen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2002

      Thanks Karen, Our daughter made this dish for Thanksgiving dinner and it was a real hit. The contrast between the tangy and sweet taste was perfect. This recipe is one that becomes better after a couple of days and for that reason it could be prepared ahead of time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2002

      Really tasty. We ended up using a lower quality orange juice which left a slightly tangy taste to it. I will try again with either fresh juice or better quality. We also didn't chill quite long enough I think but the overall taste was pretty good. Thanks Karen for another wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2011

      I made this for Thanksgiving this year. I have made homemade cranberry sauce before, but never with the orange juice. It added a very nice hint of orange, but it wasn't overpowering. I will never buy canned cranberry sauce again! Making it on your stove is simple. Make this, and your guests will all think you are a really awesome cook--they don't need to know how easy it was! :o) Update: I made this again this year and instead of just the orange juice, I added the zest of one medium orange, the juice from two oranges water to make 1 cup. I also love to add chopped walnuts. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      Great recipe! I added a little bit of brown sugar, orange zest, and a cinnamon stick (per Tyler Florence's recipe). Everyone loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2010

      This is a awesome and super easy recipe that i did use the half OJ and half water and also used some of the zest from the orange and best if made a day or so before! Look forward to making it again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2010

      Delicious. I made this to top Cranberry Cream Cheese Spread and it was fantastic! I made with all OJ and will make it that way for Thanksgiving and Christmas as well. Thanks for a wonderful and easy substitute for canned cranberry sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      Have done this recipe for years with just water. Tried with just oj this time. Think 1/2 oj and 1/2 water might be just perfect. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      I usually don't care for Cranberry sauce but this recipe has changes my mind! This is REALLY good! The OJ adds a great flavor to it. I usually buy Cranberry's in the can but after seeing how easy and delicious this is, I will make this for now on!! I made this a few days before Christmas and as someone else said it actually gets better in the fridge! After being refrigerated a few days it is like Jelly (which is what we prefer), will be great with Christmas dinner Tonight! Thanks SO Much! :) I used Simply Orange Pulp Free Orange Juice and a bit more Sugar as suggested by one of the reviewers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      Hey Karen, these cranberries were very good, and looked so pretty (compared to those whole cranberries you get in a can). I did start out with 2-(12 oz.) bags of the berries, but after picked through them, and discarded the over-riped berries, etc... I ended up with exactly 1-(12 oz.) bag, plus (8-ounces) of the berries. I did however add more sugar and orange juice (exactly 1-1/2 cups of sugar and the OJ). And the brand of orange juice I used was... Simply Orange (Not from concentrate) and with high pulp. When cooking the cranberries, I brought them to a boil (in an uncovered 3-quart saucepan) over high heat; stirring the cranberries constantly. When the berries came to a boil, I covered the pan, lowered the heat to a simmer, and cooked the cranberries for 25 minutes; stirring the berries frequently. I then uncovered the pan, and continued to cook and stir the cranberries for 5 minutes more. The berries did thicken up nicely, and even tasted good served warm, and were just as good when served cold. The only thing I will do differently next time I make these delicious cranberries, is to just add a tad bit more of sugar. Other than that, these cranberries were perfect, and oh so good!! Thanx for the recipe Karen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2011

      I was a cranberry sauce hater until I tried this. Amazing!! I make it throughout the year whenever I get the craving. It's super for Thanksgiving, but my favorite is a grilled turkey, cheese (gouda, brie, whatever), and cranberry sauce sandwich.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2010

      only made 1/4 of the recipe because I didn't want a lot of leftovers. Used 1/2 water and 1/2 orange juice. Just what I needed. Perfect.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2010

      Next time try adding some frozen raspberries. This recipes is to die for I also do not use any orange juice and instead use the orange rind diced up.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2010

      I once tasted canned cranberry sauce and I swore I would never eat it again, it was not very good. But now that I am married I find myself making things my husband loves and I hate! This Thanksgiving he said he would only smoke a turkey if I made him cranberry sauce, so we shook on it. I just made it about an hour ago and I already cannot wait to pour it all over my plate at tomorrow's feast! This recipe is perfect! The orange and cranberry are made for each other in this cranberry sauce. I used 1 cup of OJ, 1/2 cup of water and I added 1/2 cup more of sugar since we have big sweet tooths! Its absolutely delicious! Thanks so much for sharing and changing my mind on cranberry sause, this will forever be a must in our Thanksgiving dinner for years to come! Happy Thanksgiving!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2010

      The best sauce! Can't wait to have it again tomorrow!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2010

      I will never go back to canned! I made this using half orange juice and half water as other reviewers suggested and it was delicious! Also, I took half of the finished product and poured it through a sieve (and pushing it through with the back of a spoon) to make jellied sauce, and left the other half as whole cranberry sauce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2010

      I've made this several times and my family loves it. The first time I made it we were all out of OJ but we had the Dole Orange/Strawberry/Banana juice. I used 1 cup of that juice, 1 cup sugar. It was amazing! I have made it with that juice ever since. It makes it a little different and cuts back on the tartness of the cranberries quite a bit.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2010

      I made this for christmas. It was a huge hit and super easy. I still have some in my freezer. I will pull it out for Easter dinner. Thanks for a super easy super yummy recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      Forgot how easy making your own Cranberry Sauce can be. Super good. DD loved it at dinner and then when she was eating chocolate orange, she used it as a dipping sauce and couldn't get enough of it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cranberry Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (138 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 265.5
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    47%
    Total Fat 0.2 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 3.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 68.1 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 4.5 g
    18%
    Sugars 58.9 g
    235%
    Protein 0.8 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes