10 Reviews

What can I say...oranges and cranberries are like peanut butter and jelly they are just meant to go together! I made this smoothie for dinner tonight. The only problem I ran into was no ice. I thought about going out and gathering some icy snow however... I will definitely make this again however; I think I will cut the honey back by half as I really love the twang of a good cranberry. Thanks for posting Syd. Made and reviewed for the 36th AUS/NZ Recipe Swap.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Buggsy Mate January 07, 2010

LoVED, LOveD, LOOOved it...I liked this as written, also with a nanna added and then also have been using it (in place of soy or nut milk) in my green drinks which makes them X-TRA, extra special ...(I use about 1 cup to about 6 cups of spinach or kale ...something like that)...L-O-V-E I-T-thanks Sydney Mike...TOP TO MY FAVS. LIST !!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
free-free February 07, 2009

Neither the flavor of oranges nor the cranberries were jumping out at me, so I added a banana and it was DELISH! I love the walnuts!!!! I used agave instead of honey. Nice drink! Made for VEG*N SWAP.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride January 06, 2009

A very nice smoothie with a nice twist on flavors. I first made it with the walnuts but did not really care for that so then I made it again without the walnuts and loved every drop and so did DH who is not a huge cranberry fan (can you believe it? LOL). It was a nice treat for Christmas morning! Thanks for sharing the recipe! Made for 123 Hit Wonders

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HokiesMom December 26, 2008

This is a wonderful smoothie. I liked the cranberry flavored, had some fresh cranberries left from Thanksgiving and they worked nicely. It reminded me of summer, despite the single digit temps outside. It was also nice to have a smoothie without something besides strawberries, which some of us are allergic to.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
morgainegeiser December 11, 2008

I really enjoyed this thick, nutritious smoothie! I used 3 ice cubes. Thanks for a yummy treat!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 December 06, 2008

I didn't really like this, but I really wanted to. I made it exactly as written, using frozen cranberries. I thought it turned out watery, and a little bland. I ended up adding twice as many cranberries and a cup of pineapple, which helped. I think if you decreased the water, and possibly used almond milk, yogurt, etc instead of water, then this would be better. A banana would be great, too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EmJoMay April 14, 2012

This is my absolute favorite smoothie during Autumn and Winter time! (When I can easily obtain fresh cranberries) I do change proportions and do not use ice. Mine doesn't go completely smooth, which may be due to my blender, but I like to bite this drink. I love the walnuts, fresh cranberries, and raw honey used in this. I cut my oranges so there is no pith and squeeze the skins to get ever last bit of fresh juice. I use a halal vanilla paste in a lesser amount. I have tried with added banana as other reviewers but I prefer it without. I make this as often as I can, which would be everyday if I have the ingredients!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat January 11, 2011

I confess to having modified this slightly. First, I never add iceblocks because I always make my smoothies the night before for on-the-run (namely in the car on the way to work) breakfasts and secondly I have difficulty viewing water as a real ingredient. If I see water in a soup or other savoury recipe, I immediately see the opportunity to add some wine. Hardly appropriate here! So I added some low-fat vanilla yoghurt - which I only use in smoothies. The blend of the rest of the flavours: just wonderful. Love citrus flavours, loved the cranberries with the oranges, love vanilla, and the honey and walnuts were all wonderful. The yoghurt for water substitution just made my smoothie that little bit creamier. Thanks for sharing this recipe. Made for Gimme 5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder February 08, 2009

This is good as written, but I added a banana to thicken it up a little and also to mellow out the vanilla a little. I suppose more ice could have done that too. Tastes good! Reviewed for the January Veg*n Swap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mliss29 February 03, 2009
Cranberry Orange Smoothie (Raw Food)