Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cranberry Orange Scones (Barefoot Contessa) Ina Garten Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cranberry Orange Scones (Barefoot Contessa) Ina Garten

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on March 20, 2010

      Great recipe--moist scones, easy to make and tasted great. We enjoyed them very much. IMO the glaze is a very important component for the best flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2010

      This is now the only scone recipe I use! After trying many others (I love scones!), this seems to be the best consistency, taste, etc. and you can easily change the flavor to suit your mood--one of my favorites is substituting lemon zest and dried blueberries. I often do not use the glaze and serve with lemon or orange curd--Yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2013

      I decided to give these scones a try, even though I already have a good recipe. I find so many of Ina Garten's recipes easy to follow and reliable. I now have another good recipe for scones. I didn't have 1/2 and 1/2 so I used whole milk. I doubled plus a little the zest in the batter. The batter in the mixer is a little loose but after the addition of generous bench flour while kneading it was fine. I took the finished batter, divided in half and rolled out two 3/4 inch thick disks. I put them on the parchment paper whole as they were easier to move, then cut them into eight equal triangles and left them in there disc shape to bake ( how I was originally taught to make scones and easier). We couldn't quit eating them even before I glazed them. A great, easy, moist, flavorful scone recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      This was my first attempt at making scones, they were so GOOD!!! These turned out better than any scones I had ever had before.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2009

      Excellent scones! We enjoyed these for breakfast on Thanksgiving morning. I did not use the egg wash. The orange glaze is delicious. We will be making these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2009

      I followed the recipe exactly and these turned out perfectly! I skipped the glaze--I didn't think they needed it. Delightful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2009

      Wonderful! Instead of Cranberry/Orange, I used Blueberry/Lemon and they turned out great! Also, I didn't have any heavy cream, so I used FF Half/Half. I did make the glaze and loved that it just added a bit of sweetness since the scones are not overly sweet. I am anxious to make the cranberry/orange combination next time. Thanks for submitting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      Made theses this morning--what flavor!! Very easy to put together, roll out and cut. I cut baking time down by 5 minutes because I use a convection oven. The orange frosting--what a bonus!! Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2008

      These turned out fantastic! I didn't have any cream, so I just used 2% and they turned out lovely. They're so moist, which was good when they were fresh, but they didn't really keep all that well. I'm not sure why! Anyway! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2008

      These are to die for. I love the combination of cranberry and orange and the topping is like icing on the cake. Have made these a couple of times and got great reviews.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2008

      For the cranberry lover.... these are really terrific ! I was lucky to find orange flavored cranberries which put these over the top! Ive made this one several times and my family goes nuts for them. Thank you !!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2007

      These were light and flaky. I liked the orange flavor so I at least doubled the glaze. I might use more cranberries next time. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2007

      This was my first time making scones and they turned out great! Very easy to make and they have a beautiful presentation. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2007

      Great scones!!! Well received by my colleagues at work.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2007

      I love these scones and make them all the time! Very easy and very tasty. I usually omit the glaze and just sprinkle coarse sugar on top of the egg wash. I've also frozen unbaked scones and baked at a later date which works wonderfully as well. Another fabulous recipe from the Barefoot!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2007

      It is snowing here today and Church has been canceled due to the snow. So I'm baking. These scones were very easy to make. In step two, after I put the first 6 ingredients in the mixer, I placed a tea towel over the mixer. This helped stop the flour from flying all over the counter top. I still had some spillage but at least it was contained to the mixer stand. The next thing I did a little different was in step 3. After kneading the dough I divided it in half, rolled each half into a 3/4 inch thick circle. Cut each circle into 8 wedges. Then placed them on the parchment paper. After brushing them with the egg wash I sprinkled Turbinado Sugar on top of them and then baked for 20 minutes. They came out nicely browned, very tender yet with a little crunch to them. As Baby Kato said, "with a subtle orange flavour and wonderful tart cranberries"Â? taste to them. The glaze mixture was just the right amount of liquid to form a nice ribbon of glaze over them. The Turbinado Sugar gave the scones a crunch when I took a bite. I also used some Somerdales' Double Devon Cream on the scone, this cream is from England. I think that is all I have to say about these great scones. Expect that I finally got them made for 1-2-3 Hits Wonders 2006 after procrastinating since Nov 17, 2006. Thanks for sharing your recipe with us. Now to try to get a good photo of them before they are gone. My family are circling like vultures . LOL

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2006

      These have a fabulous and wonderful flavor!! I cut the recipe in half...next time I won't!! Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2006

      Fabulous!!! Makes a lot - some to take, some to freeze.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2006

      I loved these tasty scones. They were crisp yet tender, with a subtle orange flavour & wonderful tart cranberries. I ommitted the icing, these were great without.(personel preference) Quick and very easy to make. This morning, I toasted them. Wow! I will be making these again. Thanks so much for sharing cookiedog.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2006

      Excellent scone - tender crumb. Used up a little packet of dried cranberries that had been sent me. Next time, (due to unavailability of dried cranberries here), I will chop up some dried apricots to achieve a similar sweet/sour fruit effect. Very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cranberry Orange Scones (Barefoot Contessa) Ina Garten

    Serving Size: 1 (106 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 14

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 440.8
     
    Calories from Fat 255
    57%
    Total Fat 28.4 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 17.0 g
    85%
    Cholesterol 160.7 mg
    53%
    Sodium 443.1 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.1 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 9.5 g
    38%
    Protein 7.0 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites