53 Reviews

The flavor of these was excellent. I prefer my scones a little more dense and less cakey than this but overall very good. These weren't dry at all and went together easily.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amanda_c February 22, 2011

So easy and so good. Like another reviewer, I used sour cream instead of the buttermilk. It worked great! Most scones I have tried have been dry, but these are not. I plan to use this as the base recipe for all other scone variations.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crunchy Numbers January 29, 2011

Okay, these were so good! My daughter made these for our family and they were so good. Next time I think we will try the Blueberry with Lemon zest, that sounds real good too. Thanks for posting, we will be making these again soon.
Rachel Castle

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rachel Castle November 12, 2010

I made these for a breakfast tea I had for my friend and her assistant just returning from a trip. They were fabulous!! I tweaked the recipe a bit by adding an equal amount of sour cream instead of the buttermilk, as I was out of the buttermilk. They came out moist and delicious! Thanks Sue Lou for this great recipe...so easy and tasty! I give it five stars and will definitely make it again!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KCDEE April 18, 2010

These are simple and fabulous! Thank you!! I doubled the batch...next time I will triple it :) I used blood oranges....and the icing turned pink...next time I will use regular ones :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katie in the UP March 13, 2010

I literally just made a double batch of these...ok, so only 1 batch is left. They are so delicious. I doubled the recipe, only difference was I used half and half with 1 tbsp of lemon juice in place of the buttermilk. I did not double the glaze recipe, but there was more than enough for both batches. Next time I make them I will use dried blueberries in place of the cranberries and lemon zest in place of the orange...oh, the possibilities are endless!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauriesusanbelle February 24, 2010

Wonderful scone flavor and not too dry! I used evaporated milk instead of buttermilk and took DaMama_rules advice and used 2 tsp. orange marmalade instead of zest... very yummy (I will use more next time). Orange flavor "Craisins" by Ocean Spray are terrific in this recipe, too. Scone baking molds would be great for this recipe, but they are too expensive for me. I used muffin tins generously greased with butter and baked them at 350 degrees for 14 minutes. Makes 11 little scones.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sheri Lou January 11, 2009

I love scones! And these are fantastic. I made them for a Sunday brunch party and they were a huge hit! I did not make any substitutions, there is no need to! I loved the cranberry and orange flavors together. Thanks for posting Sue!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie421511 February 28, 2008

This is great recipe and I'll definitely make it again though, the first time I made it, I found that I had to add a little extra flour. With only a cup and a half of flour, the mix wound up to be more of a batter which was impossible to knead of course...LOL! Great recipe though!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tea Faerie December 23, 2007

This was my first time making scones and I was very pleased with the result. Fairly easy to make and very tasty and light. Not heavy or overly sweet at all like the cafe/store bought ones. I didn't have buttermilk so I used the recommended substitution and I used a tad bit more orange zest because I wanted a more pronounced flavor. Like a lot of others, my dough was extremely sticky. However after generously flouring my hands and the board, it turned out just fine. This one is definitely a keeper. Thanks for a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ProfRN221 November 24, 2007
Cranberry Orange Scones