Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cranberry Orange Scones Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cranberry Orange Scones

    Average Rating:

    52 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 52

    Sort by:

    • on November 12, 2010

      Okay, these were so good! My daughter made these for our family and they were so good. Next time I think we will try the Blueberry with Lemon zest, that sounds real good too. Thanks for posting, we will be making these again soon.
      Rachel Castle

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2014

      These had great flavor and texture. Made one change and used 14 tsp baking soda and 2 34 tsp baking powder. Froze them before baking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2011

    • on February 27, 2011

    • on February 22, 2011

      The flavor of these was excellent. I prefer my scones a little more dense and less cakey than this but overall very good. These weren't dry at all and went together easily.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2011

      So easy and so good. Like another reviewer, I used sour cream instead of the buttermilk. It worked great! Most scones I have tried have been dry, but these are not. I plan to use this as the base recipe for all other scone variations.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2010

      Very good! So slightly cakey, but I did substitute in whipping cream as I dislike buttermilk. I added in some chopped fresh orange and a capful of orange blossom water. Very tasty- these lasted about half an hour in my house! Overall a good recipe, and one in which I think many flavors could be substituted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2010

      I made these for a breakfast tea I had for my friend and her assistant just returning from a trip. They were fabulous!! I tweaked the recipe a bit by adding an equal amount of sour cream instead of the buttermilk, as I was out of the buttermilk. They came out moist and delicious! Thanks Sue Lou for this great recipe...so easy and tasty! I give it five stars and will definitely make it again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2010

      These are simple and fabulous! Thank you!! I doubled the batch...next time I will triple it :) I used blood oranges....and the icing turned pink...next time I will use regular ones :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2010

      I literally just made a double batch of these...ok, so only 1 batch is left. They are so delicious. I doubled the recipe, only difference was I used half and half with 1 tbsp of lemon juice in place of the buttermilk. I did not double the glaze recipe, but there was more than enough for both batches. Next time I make them I will use dried blueberries in place of the cranberries and lemon zest in place of the orange...oh, the possibilities are endless!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2009

      Made these and really loved them. Thank you Sue! They were excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2009

    • on February 21, 2009

      Came out great! I did not have buttermilk so I used evaporated milk as one reviewer suggested. I also added a splash of vanilla! The batter was sticky but I was still able to flatten it into about an 8 inch round. Came out delicious and so easy to make! Thank you Sue!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      Wonderful scone flavor and not too dry! I used evaporated milk instead of buttermilk and took DaMama_rules advice and used 2 tsp. orange marmalade instead of zest... very yummy (I will use more next time). Orange flavor "Craisins" by Ocean Spray are terrific in this recipe, too. Scone baking molds would be great for this recipe, but they are too expensive for me. I used muffin tins generously greased with butter and baked them at 350 degrees for 14 minutes. Makes 11 little scones.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2008

    • on November 26, 2008

      Good flavor and got good response, however the dough was very moist for a scone. I couldn't cut the dough since it was too moist. Texture was a bit more cake-like instead of biscuit-like.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2008

      This was the first time I've ever made scones, they turned out great and were surprisingly easy to make. They are yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2008

      These scones are nice and light with a bright orange flavor and the nice chewy cranberries. In short: Perfection. The only changes I made were to avoid egg & dairy - so I used margarine for butter, soured soymilk with vinegar for the buttermilk, and used Ener-G Egg replacer for the egg. (I 2T. of fresh OJ instead of the water called when using Ener-G). They turned out beautifully with these substitutions. I used less than half the glaze on them, so will only make a little bit next time. And believe me, there will be many "next times!" :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2008

      Very tasty! I didn't have buttermilk, and didn't realize I needed it until I got to that step in the recipe *blush* so I used an equal amount of heavy whipping cream instead. It worked wonderfully. I was brain dead tonight for some reason and also read "3 TABLESPOONS" Baking Powder! After putting in 2 I thought "isn't this a bit much" and fished out as much as I could when I realized my mistake LOL I likely ended up with about 1 & 1/2 tablespoons of it but they came out just right. Tasty and not all dried out like so many scones I've had. Thank you!! I'll be making this again soon! *update* I noticed someone said in their review they couldn't knead or cut the dough. I put a little flour on my hands and just kneaded it in my hands no board the ball of dough is small enough. When I went to cut the dough I heavily floured the blade of a 9" chef's knife. I had to flour it after each cut but it worked beautifully. Oh, and I also used 3 kinds of flour, equal parts of bread flour, all purpose flour, and whole wheat flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2008

      Excellent scone recipe. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cranberry Orange Scones

    Serving Size: 1 (85 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 239.6
     
    Calories from Fat 60
    25%
    Total Fat 6.7 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 3.9 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 39.1 mg
    13%
    Sodium 285.4 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.5 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 22.3 g
    89%
    Protein 3.8 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes