17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent Recipe! So rich and delicious! I was so anxious to make this because it looked so yummy that I skipped over reading reviews! I originally took out dried cranberries, then by looking at pic#1 posted by Derf I saw they used fresh cranberries~ so glad I had them hanging in freezer! I placed in a loaf pan and baked 10 minutes less because I didn't think the batter was enough for my bundt pan. Other poster recommended doubling batch and then baking in a bundt pan~ I should of read this first. Also, since this is a KEEPER---I will add about 1/2 cup more cranberries as well as add chopped walnuts in the future~~just personal preference. THANKS for posting DERF!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iLuv2cook 2 December 10, 2005

Excellent recipe. Tried many others in the past few years but always come back to this one. Don't even chop the cranberries because we like them whole. I always use butter, but am sure that shortening works fine. Just like the taste and keeping qualities. This bread is almost failproof.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
waynejohn1234 July 22, 2009

Excellent! Easy to put together. I used a mix of sugar plus Splenda. The OJ and cherries sweeten nicely. It's a nice moist "cakey" bread you could add almonds to,or use as a holiday gift loaf, or make for buffets, bazaars, etc. A very useful recipe with lots of room for personal additions. Thank you Derf, this makes holiday baking easier.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maple November 17, 2008

We didn't have orange juice so I added mashed up mandarin oranges and orange oil to give it the proper flavor. Bread rose well and tasted great. Thanks Derf!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LaurietheLibrarian October 19, 2008

Love this! Made it "again" last week! I actually use 2 full cups of frozen cranberries!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grammiepnut_8993267 February 19, 2014

Ssooo good, moist and delicious, I did make a couple changes,<br/>I live in a high altitude so I decreased th baking powder to 1 tsp and instead of cherries I added raisins, worked great, I'll be making this again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sperrenoud54 September 11, 2013

Great recipe! I made muffins with it. It makes 12 muffins (one pan) I kept the same oven temperature, and the bake time for perfect muffins was exactly 20 minutes. In one batch I forgot the butter and they still tasted great! My room mates couldn't guess what ingredient was missing. (One guessed vanilla. And she's a cook. They really had no idea.)

PS Yes, definitely use fresh cranberries, not dried. Think of blueberry muffins, it will turn out like that. The tart berries go very well with the sweet orange bread!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
guacamoleo December 22, 2012

I really liked this recipe. I have not made cranberry bread before. I followed the exact instructions using butter. Very moist and delish! I made it in four small loaf pans to give as gifts. Just the right amount of batter for the pan size. Yum! Thanks for sharing! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shadylady123 December 24, 2009

This is a great recipe. I am just confused about the (butter) shortening part, because the same amount of butter does not = the same amount of shortening. 1/4 cup of butter = 1/4 cup of shortening + 2 teapoons of water. I would put that in the recipe for people who would like to make this with shortening instead of butter, otherwise they might end up with a dryer result. To add my result, I baked the recipe with shortening and no added water, the result was very dry. I think this is a great recipe if you use butter but the author should be more specific.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TaterBug! :) December 11, 2009

This was so easy to put together, and very good to eat :) My daughter and I made mini loaves from the batter, and cut the cooking time to about 25 minutes. Thanks! We'll be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
woesbaby December 03, 2009
Cranberry Orange Quick Bread (Five Roses Flour - 1967)