Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cranberry Orange Quick Bread (Five Roses Flour - 1967) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cranberry Orange Quick Bread (Five Roses Flour - 1967)

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on December 10, 2005

      Excellent Recipe! So rich and delicious! I was so anxious to make this because it looked so yummy that I skipped over reading reviews! I originally took out dried cranberries, then by looking at pic#1 posted by Derf I saw they used fresh cranberries~ so glad I had them hanging in freezer! I placed in a loaf pan and baked 10 minutes less because I didn't think the batter was enough for my bundt pan. Other poster recommended doubling batch and then baking in a bundt pan~ I should of read this first. Also, since this is a KEEPER---I will add about 1/2 cup more cranberries as well as add chopped walnuts in the future~~just personal preference. THANKS for posting DERF!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2009

      Excellent recipe. Tried many others in the past few years but always come back to this one. Don't even chop the cranberries because we like them whole. I always use butter, but am sure that shortening works fine. Just like the taste and keeping qualities. This bread is almost failproof.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2008

      Excellent! Easy to put together. I used a mix of sugar plus Splenda. The OJ and cherries sweeten nicely. It's a nice moist "cakey" bread you could add almonds to,or use as a holiday gift loaf, or make for buffets, bazaars, etc. A very useful recipe with lots of room for personal additions. Thank you Derf, this makes holiday baking easier.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2008

      We didn't have orange juice so I added mashed up mandarin oranges and orange oil to give it the proper flavor. Bread rose well and tasted great. Thanks Derf!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2014

      Love this! Made it "again" last week! I actually use 2 full cups of frozen cranberries!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2013

      Ssooo good, moist and delicious, I did make a couple changes,<br/>I live in a high altitude so I decreased th baking powder to 1 tsp and instead of cherries I added raisins, worked great, I'll be making this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2012

      Great recipe! I made muffins with it. It makes 12 muffins (one pan) I kept the same oven temperature, and the bake time for perfect muffins was exactly 20 minutes. In one batch I forgot the butter and they still tasted great! My room mates couldn't guess what ingredient was missing. (One guessed vanilla. And she's a cook. They really had no idea.)

      PS Yes, definitely use fresh cranberries, not dried. Think of blueberry muffins, it will turn out like that. The tart berries go very well with the sweet orange bread!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

      I really liked this recipe. I have not made cranberry bread before. I followed the exact instructions using butter. Very moist and delish! I made it in four small loaf pans to give as gifts. Just the right amount of batter for the pan size. Yum! Thanks for sharing! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2009

      This is a great recipe. I am just confused about the (butter) shortening part, because the same amount of butter does not = the same amount of shortening. 1/4 cup of butter = 1/4 cup of shortening + 2 teapoons of water. I would put that in the recipe for people who would like to make this with shortening instead of butter, otherwise they might end up with a dryer result. To add my result, I baked the recipe with shortening and no added water, the result was very dry. I think this is a great recipe if you use butter but the author should be more specific.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2009

      This was so easy to put together, and very good to eat :) My daughter and I made mini loaves from the batter, and cut the cooking time to about 25 minutes. Thanks! We'll be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2008

      Great recipe! Thank you. I had frozen cranberries I needed to use up so I doubled the recipe and made it in a fancy one layer cake pan. I used only 3 eggs and not quite a 1/2 c. of butter. I added 1/2 c. flax meal and some applesauce instead and it still turned out great. I didn't add cherries. The kids loved it too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2007

      Wow. What a great bread. I made it without the glace green cherries and it was still fantastic. This is a pretty healthy bread as well. You won't go wrong with this recipe. Thanks for posting Derf!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2007

      This will make Christmas gifts this year. Wonderful, had fun doing it, and it turned out exactly how it was presented. Doing this one again...perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2006

      I doubled this recipe also and baked it in a sculptured bundt pan. It is beautiful. I glazed it with a warm orange glaze and got great responses from everyone. I have a coffee shop and plan on using this recipe. Great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2005

      Oh...my...gosh! This was the most fantastic recipe for a coffee cake/quick bread. I was happy to see not-so-much butter and sugar in it. So many quick bread recipes come out like a dessert...too rich and sweet. This was just perfect, not too sweet, a little tart with the cranberries and not too rich. I doubled the recipe for my 10" bundt pan...I like it when they rise to the top rim. I also drizzled a little glaze on mine. No wonder this recipe has been around so long. A great tradition for sure! Pam

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2005

      I have had this recipe in My Cookbook for ages, and this past xmas I finally tried it (baked it in a bundt pan). I sure wish I'd tried it earlier; it's absolutely delicious! I plan to make this very often. Moist, tasty, pretty too. Thanks for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2005

      Enjoyed this very much, love the tartness of the berries when you bite into it. Baked in an 8"X8" pyrex dish.I used 1 1/2 cups semi-frozen cranberries and no cherries. Thanks for posting a very tasty cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cranberry Orange Quick Bread (Five Roses Flour - 1967)

    Serving Size: 1 (866 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 109.1
     
    Calories from Fat 26
    24%
    Total Fat 2.9 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 27.2 mg
    9%
    Sodium 207.8 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.8 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 8.5 g
    34%
    Protein 2.0 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites