Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cranberry Orange Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cranberry Orange Muffins

    Average Rating:

    92 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 92

    Sort by:

    • on September 08, 2006

      I made this recipe just last weekend, and I have to say it was great! I have been looking for a muffin recipe that had soooo much orange flavor but had the tartness of the cranberries. Very nice balance as well as moist! I test lots of recipe's and this is a keeper. I have made this once more and have made a couple of modifications. ( I always first try it original) Added more Baking powder since normal ratio's are 1 tsp per cup of flour. I also switched the oil to unsalted butter. I also used dried cranberries that had been re-hydrated by 1/2 cup of water and 2 tbs of sugar. These turned out to be excellent as well! However, the recipe is excellent as is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2012

      These were great! I did increase the BP to two teaspoons like other reviewers. I also used the zest of one whole orange. Based on the reviews of being tart I chopped the cranberries coarsely and stirred them into the sugar and let them sit for a couple of minutes before adding the rest of the dry ingredients. This worked well, they were sweet and tart but not too tart! Will be making these again in the future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2011

      Based on some of the previous comments stating that the muffins were dry and tart, I decided to replace the cup of cranberries with a cup of canned whole cranberry sauce, and the muffins turned out fantastic! They were not at all dry, nor were they tart. They were moist, sweet, but not overly so, and had a wonderful balance between orange and cranberry, both flavours came through perfect.

      I would definitely make these muffins again, they were delicious!!! A very nice treat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2012

      I made these several times then tried a variation. I substituted clean lemon fruit (no sements pith or peel) for the cranberries and topped them with grand marnier and honey. They were pretty much the best muffins I have ever had and they look so beautiful. They were also good with lime and lemon fruit. Enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2010

      This recipe is very similar to one I found a few years ago on about.com low fat cooking; the ingredients were almost identical, but for some reason these turned out a bit dry and weren't quite as flavorful as I'd hoped. My husband said the texture was more like corn bread, not quite what you want to hear about your muffins! I most likely overmixed them, but based on the other recipe I would make the following changes: increase the sugar to 1 cup, increase the orange zest to 2 t, increase the cranberries to 2 cups ( and chop them a bit) and add your wet ingredients to your dry by making a well in the middle of your flour mixture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2010

      This muffins were very good, but if you are looking for sweet these would not be what you are looking for. I used fresh cranberries which caused the muffins to be tart. I think next time I will try craisens instead. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2009

      I made these this morning for breakfast and they turned out pretty good. I used orange flavored crasins rehydrated in orange juice (warmed on the stove) and made "mini" muffins. UPDATE 12/13/09: I'm also increasing the stars from 4 to 5. Just like another reviewer stated, these get better over time. I kept mine in a ziplock bag and took them for breakfast at work. They moistened each day... now I have to make another batch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2013

      I made this recipe as written. The muffins were dry and not very sweet. I will try again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2013

      I never ever write reviews but I felt compelled to this time. I am terrible at baking, my muffins and cookies and breads always come out dry or too underdone and with very little flavor. This recipe was super simple to follow and the results were delicious! I followed the advice of other reviewers by increasing the baking powder from 1 tsp to 2, and as I did not have cranberries, I reconstituted 3/4 cup of craisins in 1 cup of orange juice, then used 3/4 cup of that OJ as called for in the recipe. It definitely helps to drain the plumped up craisins and add them to the dry ingredients before adding the wet ingredients - the flour coating prevents them from all falling to the bottom of the muffins. I sprinkled brown sugar on the tops before baking, but I think the molasses made them a bit too crispy, so I'll stick with white sugar next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2012

      I just made this recipe last night. I really needed to go grocery shopping so I made a couple mods to make use of what I had avaliable in the pantry. I used 1C dried "Craisins" and cooked them in orange juice over Med heat for about 5 minutes to plump them and then drained them. I did not have the orange zest available, so I ommited that ingredient. Also, I was out of eggs and had a huge bag of ground flaxseed, so I ommited the eggs and substituted 1 Tbl of ground flax seed and 3 Tbl. of water for the one egg. These muffins turned out EXCELLENT! I find that the Craisins plumped in OJ really gave it what it needed without the orange zest available. I am very happy to have found this recipe and they turned out just great! This is going to be a keeper for sure! Thanks for the recipe! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2010

      I betting you intended fresh cranberries but I used craisins - awesome!!! Thank you for a quick lower in fat muffin we love!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2014

      I checked the written recipe again just now because something has to be wrong. I read reviews of recipes. I'm an experienced cook (and baker) and after a lot of prep (chopping cranberries, zesting and juicing oranges) these taste horrible! I cannot taste any orange at all and the cranberries are as bitter as if I ate them plain. I'm more than disappointed since this flavor combination is my child's favorite and these were going to be breakfast. I have dogs who love my baking but the bitterness overrules, these are going in the trash.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2014

    • on November 26, 2014

      I must add a 5 star review to all the other 5 star reviews that this recipe has received. I made loaves instead of muffins but it did not change the deliciousness nor texture. Great balance of flavors, not difficult to make at all. Thanks for posting, I will use this recipe again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2014

      I used flax in place of egg and added a little soy milk, and did some in mini-loaves. M said they were among the top 5 yummiest muffins he's had. I chopped the cranberries and mixed them with sugar first. I put in just over 1 1/4 c. sugar when doubling the recipe, plus topping

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2014

    • on April 09, 2014

      I made this with those little "Cuties" mandarin oranges that were about to turn, and rehydrated craisins. I had 3/4 c orange juice, and 1/4 c heavy cream to bind everything together then placed in a bundt pan. Yummmmmmy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2014

      Loved these! I used 2 cups cranberries chopped in half and 'marinated' them in 1/4 cup of the OJ with an added 1/4 of sugar (so total sugar upped to 1 cup). I didn't have fresh orange peel, just dried - I uses 2 tsp of that. Also I used unsalted butter instead of oil. Great result and even better the next day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2013

      This is an excellent recipe. Not only do they taste delicious, are moist and fluffy, but they are as pretty as the picture shows!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2013

      Great recipe! I made a few changes: I placed the cranberries in a cup and added orange juice until the berries were completely covered. I added: Agave sugar (1/4 tsp) & orange extract (1/4 tsp) to the berries & orange juice. I left the mixture in the refrigerator overnight. I didn't use the orange juice used to soak the cranberries, but I will the next time I make these muffins. I used 1/4 cup brown sugar & 1/4 cup of cane sugar. I substituted 1/4 cup sour cream instead of vegetable oil. **I used 2 tsp of baking powder as recommended by the previous reviews**.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cranberry Orange Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (66 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 181.4
     
    Calories from Fat 46
    25%
    Total Fat 5.1 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 15.5 mg
    5%
    Sodium 186.3 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.1 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 14.1 g
    56%
    Protein 2.8 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes