99 Reviews

I made this recipe just last weekend, and I have to say it was great! I have been looking for a muffin recipe that had soooo much orange flavor but had the tartness of the cranberries. Very nice balance as well as moist! I test lots of recipe's and this is a keeper. I have made this once more and have made a couple of modifications. ( I always first try it original) Added more Baking powder since normal ratio's are 1 tsp per cup of flour. I also switched the oil to unsalted butter. I also used dried cranberries that had been re-hydrated by 1/2 cup of water and 2 tbs of sugar. These turned out to be excellent as well! However, the recipe is excellent as is.

14 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Wahoo September 08, 2006

These were great! I did increase the BP to two teaspoons like other reviewers. I also used the zest of one whole orange. Based on the reviews of being tart I chopped the cranberries coarsely and stirred them into the sugar and let them sit for a couple of minutes before adding the rest of the dry ingredients. This worked well, they were sweet and tart but not too tart! Will be making these again in the future.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mother-made January 01, 2012

Based on some of the previous comments stating that the muffins were dry and tart, I decided to replace the cup of cranberries with a cup of canned whole cranberry sauce, and the muffins turned out fantastic! They were not at all dry, nor were they tart. They were moist, sweet, but not overly so, and had a wonderful balance between orange and cranberry, both flavours came through perfect.

I would definitely make these muffins again, they were delicious!!! A very nice treat.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ckpolite March 22, 2011

I made these several times then tried a variation. I substituted clean lemon fruit (no sements pith or peel) for the cranberries and topped them with grand marnier and honey. They were pretty much the best muffins I have ever had and they look so beautiful. They were also good with lime and lemon fruit. Enjoy!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet Kenny kw January 07, 2012

This recipe is very similar to one I found a few years ago on about.com low fat cooking; the ingredients were almost identical, but for some reason these turned out a bit dry and weren't quite as flavorful as I'd hoped. My husband said the texture was more like corn bread, not quite what you want to hear about your muffins! I most likely overmixed them, but based on the other recipe I would make the following changes: increase the sugar to 1 cup, increase the orange zest to 2 t, increase the cranberries to 2 cups ( and chop them a bit) and add your wet ingredients to your dry by making a well in the middle of your flour mixture.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chefsalad December 29, 2010

This muffins were very good, but if you are looking for sweet these would not be what you are looking for. I used fresh cranberries which caused the muffins to be tart. I think next time I will try craisens instead. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chefto3 March 17, 2010

I made these this morning for breakfast and they turned out pretty good. I used orange flavored crasins rehydrated in orange juice (warmed on the stove) and made "mini" muffins. UPDATE 12/13/09: I'm also increasing the stars from 4 to 5. Just like another reviewer stated, these get better over time. I kept mine in a ziplock bag and took them for breakfast at work. They moistened each day... now I have to make another batch!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ARathkamp December 13, 2009

I made this recipe as written. The muffins were dry and not very sweet. I will try again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carla23075 January 15, 2013

I never ever write reviews but I felt compelled to this time. I am terrible at baking, my muffins and cookies and breads always come out dry or too underdone and with very little flavor. This recipe was super simple to follow and the results were delicious! I followed the advice of other reviewers by increasing the baking powder from 1 tsp to 2, and as I did not have cranberries, I reconstituted 3/4 cup of craisins in 1 cup of orange juice, then used 3/4 cup of that OJ as called for in the recipe. It definitely helps to drain the plumped up craisins and add them to the dry ingredients before adding the wet ingredients - the flour coating prevents them from all falling to the bottom of the muffins. I sprinkled brown sugar on the tops before baking, but I think the molasses made them a bit too crispy, so I'll stick with white sugar next time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ellby January 15, 2013

I just made this recipe last night. I really needed to go grocery shopping so I made a couple mods to make use of what I had avaliable in the pantry. I used 1C dried "Craisins" and cooked them in orange juice over Med heat for about 5 minutes to plump them and then drained them. I did not have the orange zest available, so I ommited that ingredient. Also, I was out of eggs and had a huge bag of ground flaxseed, so I ommited the eggs and substituted 1 Tbl of ground flax seed and 3 Tbl. of water for the one egg. These muffins turned out EXCELLENT! I find that the Craisins plumped in OJ really gave it what it needed without the orange zest available. I am very happy to have found this recipe and they turned out just great! This is going to be a keeper for sure! Thanks for the recipe! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jujueyeballs December 19, 2012
Cranberry Orange Muffins